We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to visit”

Cave des Producteurs de Vouvray
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Vouvray
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed April 8, 2018

We really enjoyed our visit, firstly an informative and entertaining video describing the seasons in the local vineyards. Then a walk through the caves, very interesting and a bit eerie by ourselves. Back for the free tastings with very friendly and informative staff who were happy to take the time to chat about the wines and find it our preferences. We found two wines we loved and the prices were very good - much better that bottle shop wine prices!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Robynguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine making process"
in 5 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 4 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 13 reviews
"different wines"
in 4 reviews
"quick tour"
in 3 reviews
"information given"
in 2 reviews
"million bottles"
in 4 reviews
"euros per person"
in 2 reviews
"excellent wine"
in 2 reviews
"tasting room"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 2 reviews
"sparkling"
in 10 reviews
"video"
in 12 reviews
"cooperative"
in 4 reviews
"explanation"
in 6 reviews
"region"
in 7 reviews
"tours"
in 14 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 147 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2018

A great place to taste the sparkling and still Vouvray Wines of this region, with amazing, friendly staff! We visited the 38 Rue de la Vallee Coquette branch which is also where the wine cellar is located, and even though we had missed out on the guided English tour, one of the guides very kindly still took us into the Cellar for a quick tour which we really appreciated.

The tasting takes place in a large shop where you can also buy regional specialities, the wine produced by the local wine producers and other wine related products. We tried 3 different types of the sparkling Vouvray and a still wine made from 100% chenin blanc, as well as a wine which is from a special plot in Vouvray. The tastings are generous, and the information given on the wines very practical. Given that this Cave is close to Chateux de Chenonceau and very close to Amboise, it is a lovely place to try the wines of this region because they certainly are delicious, and this is worth the hour you will spend at the Cave, especially if you are a wine buff and enjoy this kind of informed tasting.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank HarpreetsWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VOUVRAY37, Responsable commercial at Cave des Producteurs de Vouvray, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2018

Thank you for your comments. Hope you enjoyed your stay in the loire valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2017

The Cave de Vouvray presents a very informative film about the local wine, which explains many things you may observe as you look at the vineyards. They also provide a generous tasting of local wines. As an aside, they sell great silicone wine corks for sparkling wine and wine stoppers that allow you to pump out the air from partially used wine bottles.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank bluhmhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VOUVRAY37, Responsable réception at Cave des Producteurs de Vouvray, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Many thanks for your comment !
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

We had a great visit here (an hour and a half!!), with an excellent film and a self guided tour through the Tuffa caves and then a private tasting with Valerie- she was extremely knowledgeable and helpful and gave us her full attention and time as we tasted through the sparkling wines which they are famous for as well as the still whites from dry to medium to sweet to desert (all Chenin Blancs), including some aged in barrels, some single parcel bio wines—. It was amazing to see how many different wines, textures, depths and complexities could be coaxed from the single variety of Chenin Blanc-
We have loved Vouvray wines for years but now we appreciate the variety and complexities even more- make sure to visit and make sure to ask for Valerie!!

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank ericsS1796LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VOUVRAY37, Responsable réception at Cave des Producteurs de Vouvray, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Valérie appreciate your comment and she's glad you enjoyed the tour and tasting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile

Inexpensive yet extremely interesting tour of wine cellars with explanation in English of wine making process. 2€70 euros per person for at least 30 min tour. Guide was fluent and very clear in her explanations.
Tour is followed by film and then tasting.
Excellent wine at reasonable prices.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VOUVRAY37, Responsable réception at Cave des Producteurs de Vouvray, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Many thanks for your comment.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cave des Producteurs de Vouvray also viewed

 
Vouvray, Indre-et-Loire
 

Been to Cave des Producteurs de Vouvray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing