We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popped in for Vouvray”

Cave des Producteurs de Vouvray
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Vouvray
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

We popped in here to buy some wine for our holiday and beyond. They spécialisé in Vouvray and stock other wines if the region and beyond. The staff were busy- shows the popularity but incredibly helpful. The spoken English and knowledge of wine was fantastic. I learnt a lot and improved my French knowledge of wine and related vocabulary. We walked away with a few bottles to try and I wish I owned a bigger car. I recommend a visit. Great place to try a good range of wine and learn about the region. Thank you!!!!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank 1Nick_B36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine making process"
in 5 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 4 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 13 reviews
"different wines"
in 4 reviews
"quick tour"
in 3 reviews
"information given"
in 2 reviews
"million bottles"
in 4 reviews
"euros per person"
in 2 reviews
"excellent wine"
in 2 reviews
"tasting room"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 2 reviews
"sparkling"
in 10 reviews
"video"
in 12 reviews
"cooperative"
in 4 reviews
"explanation"
in 6 reviews
"region"
in 7 reviews
"tours"
in 14 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 147 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

A very friendly welcome. We went on a tour of the Cave which cost only €3 and lasted around half an hour. The English guided tour is at 11:30 daily. Our guide was amazing - she was very friendly, very informative and spoke perfect English.
After the tour we went into the shop, where we had a tasting of several wines, including bubbles! We did purchase some bottles, which were very reasonably priced.
There are many Caves to chose from in the Vouvray area, but I would highly recommend this one.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Libellule_Noire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

Representing 35 producers, this is a wonderful place to learn about this lovely white wine. The tasting in the modern tasting room is unhurried and informative, but be sure to take the underground cellar tour first (tours are given in English at designated times, so check before you go). Your guide explains how sparkling Vouvray is made and walks you through a section of the vast, and I mean vast, network of tunnels where the wine is stored at a perfectly cool temperature (we learned that the caves were actually carved out when the tuffeau stone was mined for construction). Awesome! The tour fee is nominal, the wines are very reasonably priced, and our knowledgeable guide made us feel like welcome guests. To get there, you'll drive through some narrow village streets, but there's plenty of parking once you reach the cave.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank christine1354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VOUVRAY37, Responsable commercial at Cave des Producteurs de Vouvray, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2018

Thank you for your comments.See you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2018

We took a tour and learned a lot about the wine-making process. Our guide spoke perfect English. We walked through a little bit of the caves where it is quite cool. The caves go on and on for many kilometers. These caves can store about 5 million bottles of wine. We watched a short movie about the process. Upstairs we had a wine tasting. They only produce white wine here. There is a store where you can buy the wine as well as other food products.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VOUVRAY37, Responsable relations clients at Cave des Producteurs de Vouvray, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2018

Dear Sharon,

Thank you for your kind message. We hope to welcome you very soon in our cellars.
Best regards
Cave de Vouvray Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2018

The Caves Des Producteurs is a co-operative just outside Vouvray. It's a good spot to taste and buy low to mid-price wine, and also has a decent selection of sparkling Vouvray. The staff are helpful, some speak English which is useful as my French wine vocabulary is limited to essential phrases like "another bottle of that one please". If you're planning to return you can sign up for a loyalty program to collect points to redeem for yet more wine. There are cellar tours to see their 6 million bottles of Vouvray slowly maturing underground; but I haven't (yet) been on one.

The wine is competitively priced, but that's not something you can say for some of the local products they sell such as pates, which seem expensive. There's good parking right across the road which is important because you'll need a car to carry all the wine you'll buy.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank nick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VOUVRAY37, Responsable commercial at Cave des Producteurs de Vouvray, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2018

Thank you for your comments Nick, "another bottle of that one please" is a sentence we should learn to say in many languages. Very important. Thank you, and we hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cave des Producteurs de Vouvray also viewed

 
Vouvray, Indre-et-Loire
 

Been to Cave des Producteurs de Vouvray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing