We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
249
28
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
28
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful room friendly team perfect place to watch nice bar place to stay heated pool lovely hotel great location canal flora hammam port boats individual quayside suite castle
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 284 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2018

Slap bang in the middle of town but quiet, delightfully renovated, tremendous staff, great pool, nice bar, individual and well-appointed rooms, great breakfasts, er, pretty damn good basically. No restaurant but no big deal as the best restos on the island are probably no more the 5 minutes walk. If you rent a bike (good idea) there is even a private velo room. Bit pricey compared to some others but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Pool facers are favourites but the top floor has more privacy.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stiffado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie F, Responsable réception at Le General d'Elbee - Hotel & Spa NUXE, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Dear Stiffado,

Thank you very much for choosing le Général d'Elbée for your stay in Noirmoutier and for this enthusiastic review. We are very happy you enjoyed every bit of your time here and hope we will have the pleasure to have you as our guests again very soon. L'Ile aux Mimosas definetly have other secrets to share with you.

Have a lovely day and see you later in Noirmoutier!


Flora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

A 100% ‘sans faute’. Great location, beautiful room (we had the general’s suite), amazing breakfast, lovely pool, top service, cozy spa, quiet. Close to city centre, nice cafes and restaurant and walking/biking distance from the island’s best beaches. Loved it and will definitely be back!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Dartzeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie F, Responsable réception at Le General d'Elbee - Hotel & Spa NUXE, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thank you Dartzeel for taking the time to leave such a positive review. A 'sans faute' is definetly something we aim for and it's always nice to hear we succeeded! We hope your first stay with us in beautiful Noirmoutier won't be the last.

Have a lovely day and see you soon Chez le Général!

Flora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2018

A truly chic boutique hotel on the quayside in this busy little town. An oasis of calm with a wonderful heated pool in the walled garden with bedrooms and french windows out on to the immaculate lawn. Under the shadows of the old castle and overlooking the yachts in the creek, this is a great base from which to explore Isle de Noirmoutier whether by bike or car. Free car parking next to the hotel.No restaurant but lots of great choice within walking distance. Magnificent gourmet breakfast in the conservatory overlooking the pool.
A great find.

Room Tip: ground floor with french windows out to the pool and garden
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetFarmerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie F, Responsable réception at Le General d'Elbee - Hotel & Spa NUXE, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2018

Thank you very much 'Somerset' for your review and for choosing le Général d'Elbée for your stay in Noirmoutier. Summer on the island has been wonderful so far with a perfect weather to enjoy the garden and its pool, and leisurely bike rides. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return very soon to your new holiday home!

Have a lovely day.

Flora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

I had my 55 persons wedding at Le General d’Elbee and thanks to Vincent and Flora it was absolutely the best choice ever. I brought 22 of my family members from
abroad and booked all the rooms for the weekend. We went with the caterer and florist suggested by the hotel which were both excellent and easy to work with and had many options for various budgets.

The Elbee suite was gorgeous as was each room and each common areas. We had lovely breakfasts (BIO juices/milk croissant, brioche, smoked salmon, sausage) each morning by the canal or near the temperature controlled salt water swimming pool.

I was married at the Eglise Saint Philbert which was a comfortable 1 min walk. We also booked the Noirmout’Train for everyone after the ceremony which was also gave a quaint tour of the island. All in all ...absolutely 10 stars if I could give that many. Everyone had wonderful memories that will last for a life time. Service from all staff from cleaning and spa service to front desk was impeccable. Everyone was nice, smiling, efficient and willing to help.

Only thing is I wish we bought citronella candles because there were so many mosquitoes especially at night. Bites galore.

The location of the hotel is ideal such that it was a comfortable walk to the city center with a plethora of shops, restaurants and scenic sites. The seafood there is amazing and fresh.

The WiFi is superfast and better than hotels in Paris. The AC was cool except in a 3 rooms (which was later adjusted). The spa had an extraordinary sensory shower that mimicked Niagara Falls or the Jungle lights/sound/water. There was also steam room or hammam. Outside the spa were complimentary bottles of water and tisane.

The hotel is rightfully Michelin starred and was a great experience!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank D4110GBelainew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie F, Responsable réception at Le General d'Elbee - Hotel & Spa NUXE, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2018

Dear Elaine,

Thank you so much for the review and for these lovely compliments! I have to say it has been a great pleasure to organise your wedding here, "chez le Général", and to share this special moment with you and Pierre. The hotel does offer a very intimate setting that is perfect for a small wedding and we hoped to give everyone a sense of home away from home. We are thrilled to hear that it is mission accomplished!

On top of that, you were blessed with a lovely weather and we are also very happy everyone enjoyed their time in Noirmoutier... even though mosquitoes definetly took part in the celebrations. (We did stock up on citronella since!)

Our congratulations and very best wishes again from the whole team! It has been a beautiful and moving wedding and we sure hope to have you with us next year to celebrate your first anniversary!

Have a lovely day and see you soon!

Flora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

We had a luxury room with a balcony overlooking the pool. The hotel has been nicely decorated, the room are very comfortable and the pool is well organised. When the hotel is clearly a 4 stars, the service is made by a very young team which look like school friends. When they are trying to do their best we had no idea on who was managing this boutique hotel which would have been appreciated. Unfortunately the bar was occupied for a business meeting almost all day so we could not benefit from all hotel benefits, this is not acceptable. Nice place I would recommend but needs improvement on the management side.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie F, Directeur général at Le General d'Elbee - Hotel & Spa NUXE, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

Hello Mr David B.,

First of all, we thank you for your review and for the positive aspects you mention. We understand however your disappointment ​regarding the exceptional closure of our bar due to a business meeting during the day.
In order to avoid this issue, we are currently renovating an apartment into a dedicated meeting room, fully equipped and with an independant access to ensure tranquility for our guests.

Thank you aswell for the compliment : it is very pleasant to read that we still look very young! It is precisely the "young" couple at the reception that manages the hotel and its staff. Not going for the traditional (and somewhat military) style of hospitality management does not prevent from having a professional approach and, as you point out, everyone is doing his best for the well-being of our customers. The good mood of our team is usually very appreciated by our guests. A young team often comes hand in hand with a refreshing energy, a drive and dedication that are rare qualities nowadays. It is indeed a management decision.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay at Le Général d'Elbée and will be happy to have you with us again.

Have a very nice day,

​Emilie & Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews