We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A magic castle”
Welcome to the Castle, Bienvenue au Château
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the Castle, Bienvenue au Château
The upper terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Welcome to the Castle, Bienvenue au Château
The upper terrace
View from the pool of the 17th century façade
Up from the Tower
The 17th Century Staircase
14th century Salle des Gardes
The Cave or Glacière
Salon with its original provencal stucs
Salon Chimney
The main dining room
The Kitchen adjoining the dining room
View of the kitchen from the dining room
The kitchen
Large meeting room/study
The Potern bedroom
View from Potern Bedroom
The Master bedroom
The Master bathroom
The XIIth century Donjon Bedroom
The entrance to the Donjon's bathroom
The XXIst century Donjon bathroom
Leone de Sade bedroom
The Agnolo bedroom
The Leone & Agnolo bathroom
The Doni Suite
The Doni bathroom
The Agoult Suite
The Agoult bathroom
View of the Tower's Loft, adjoining the Château
The Tower's Loft
The Tower's Loft
Pool table in theTower's Loft
The Tower's Loft bedroom
The Tower's Loft bathroom
12th century Tour de l'Horloge
View of the main terrace from the tower
Upper Terrace
Agoult Suite Terrace
The heated pool with counter-current stream
Madame Maurel's Epicerie where you can find your culinary & household necessities
View of the interior garden and the large outdoor dining table
The French billiards table in the 'Grand Bureau'
View from the main terrace at dawn
The Village clock at dawn
The large dining table in the 14th Century Guards Room
The 14th Century Guards Room
The 14th Century Guards Room, a great place to meet, chat & have a relaxing aperitif.
The glass roof in the Guards Room above the dining table
Morning view from the Suite de Doni
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Goult, Gordes, Luberon, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ann O
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A magic castle”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I am in two minds whether I want to review the Chateau as I don't want it to be fully booked when I want to go back! I think it is only fair on Joel the smiling on site caretaker and. Malo the relaxed owner to share what a great experience we had. It was a real privilege to stay in such an historic building. The chateau has been beautifully restored and has been furnished in a stylish eclectic mix of old and new. The feel is much more like a family home than a rental property with pieces of art, a massive library of books and a collection of hats for general use. The bathrooms are all modern and the kitchen is well equipped.
We ate a candlelit dinner in the guard's room prepared by a local chef, a truly memorable night. There are numerous different spaces outside for eating drinking and sunbathing. The gardens are pretty the views are stunning and you even have a tower to climb to enjoy the Luberon from on high.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Climbing from the garden to my room on the top floor- the place is vast
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole place is so grand, yet comfortable.
Liked least: The wifi really only works in a few rooms of the house.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FLORIDA
Reviewed January 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oakville, Canada
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The château itself. Beathtaking, beautiful, historical, comfortable and unique.
Liked least: I cannot think of anything that did not exceed expectations.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fran P
Port Macquarie AUSTRALIA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect choice for a perfect celebration”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Let me start by saying that no words or photos can convey how spectacular Chateau de Goult is and how wonderful the hosts are. But I will try….
The celebration for my 50th birthday took 2 years to plan. I wanted something special and memorable. After months of research I found Chateau de Goult. I could not have chosen a more perfect and idyllic venue.
We had a large group of 20 Australians and 6 Europeans. The Chateau was magnificent. Enough room for everyone to have privacy when needed but wonderful gathering places for small and large groups throughout the property.
Both the location and the Chateau were spectacular. The small village of Goult was picturesque and perfect to wander around to purchase our early morning croissants and wine and cheese for the evenings. We loved the feel of the village as it is not as “touristy” as some of the other Luberon villages yet provided restaurants, shopping and history to enjoy. The area provided enough diversity to meet the needs of our varied group, from beautiful small villages, markets, vineyards, larger historic cities and scenic mountain drives all within an hour’s radius. Of course you could just stay at the Chateau the full week! Our groups ages ranged from 15 to 70ish and we all found the Chateau itself fascinating and the experience of a lifetime. Even our French friends were impressed! Photos do not do it justice. Every room is impressive, filled with history and beauty yet very comfortable to relax in.
Malo was helpful and informative throughout the planning process. Malo organised a local cook for our first night and linked us into the fabulous Chef Ronald for the birthday celebrations. Malo was also wonderful in assisting organise the bedding arrangements for our large and diverse group. I incessantly emailed Malo during the last few months with queries from our group and nothing was too much trouble, even when I was having nightmares of turning up at the Chateau and it being an internet scam, Malo patiently provided me with information about her family and local town so I could be assured that Malo and the booking were authentic. Thankyou Malo.
Caretaker Joel was helpful but never intrusive. Be prepared , Joel’s English is little better than my French, but we had no problems communicating throughout our week long stay. For the birthday dinner Joel filled the Salles Des Gardes with candles - it was breathtaking. Joel really adds to the character and feeling of warmth at the Chateau.
We all hope to revisit the Chateau again and would highly recommend it , particularly for a large group of family or friends. If you want somewhere to have the celebration of a lifetime, Chateau de Goult is it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - it was spectacular
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The authenticity of the castle, with modern amenities
Liked least: Steps can be a little bit challenging for some unfit elders and/or people with disabilities. However there is a guest house, a mere 4 steps up, which can accommodate 2-4 people.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
barnairel...
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 star experience in a picture perfect location”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for luxury in a beautiful setting then Chateau de Goult is for you. A 17th Century Castle with 21st Century touches, nestled in the picture perfect little village of Goult. It has been lovingly restored by its owner and updated to include many beautiful en suite bathrooms. With several terraces outside you can lounge around by the pool or sit up on one of the higher terraces with a glass of wine. If you are looking for peace and tranquility in a magical setting then this is for you. We also had a local chef (organised by owner) to come on 2 evenings to cook for us. Beautiful provencal food. The village of Goult also has some of the best restaurants around within a short stroll from the Chateau - so no driving required. Goult is also the perfect location to visit many interesting places around - Avignon, Gordes, Lacoste, Rousillion, Isles Sur La Sorge - all under an hours drive. There is a very helpful caretaker who lives on the grounds. This is the perfect location for extended family/friends gathering and a special treat for all ages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How unique the property was and the sheer luxury!
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing