We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bentwood Tavern

Bentwood Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Bentwood Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Berrien
Description: Chef Jenny Drilon's sophisticated spin on pub fare, responsibly sourced and beautifully prepared. A warm, friendly gathering place featuring eight Michigan craft beers on tap and a curated wine list. Waterfront dining with outdoor seating available whenever weather allows. Lunch and dinner daily, with brunch from 9am on weekends. Please be advised that the restaurant is operating on Eastern Standard Time.
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Loved the food (large portions) and decor. Waterfront view is always a plus!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank jenwitmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    130
    31
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food but only Fair Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

I went to Bentwood three times this year. The food is always excellent (pizza especially), good salads and Sunday Brunch. The the service has always been only fair. The view is amazing and is alwalys the draw for me. I would recommend for the food but don't expect to be treated suberbly by the wait staff.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
208 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Cute restaurant and great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We ate lunch here during their limited menu time due to the timing. The Onion Dip with Chips were to die for! And they had a great selection of beers to top it off. Great marina views.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank hms16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on the lakeshore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

I have just loved the Bentwood Tavern every time I've eaten there. Dinners are wonderful. We love the tuna & avocado tartar appetizer, and the Bankok Chicken is a signature dish for good reason. The wine list is also very well-curated with interesting selections.

We have also gone for one Saturday brunch, and the food was super tasty. Service wasn't as strong for brunch, but I think they may have been overwhelmed by a few large parties in for a wedding. The frittatas were great, though, and even my simple bagel with cream cheese was top quality.

Be prepared to pay Chicago-level prices, but the food quality is worth it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelsforchocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just another restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Nothing special about the Bentwood Tavern. The prices were just too high for the quality of food served here. The food was bland, for about $25 a plate, just not worth it!!! Ordered sea food trio and my spouce had Otto's Chicken.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bentwood Tavern also viewed

New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to Bentwood Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing