We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Lake Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 New Buffalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This is a very good inn. Nice and clean, very quiet. I stayed in th orange room which had a great private porch. My only complaint was that the bed was terribly uncomfortable. It had an old mattress which felt like sleeping in a ditch. Would love to stay here again when visiting, hopefully the mattresses get an update.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thanks so much for staying with us and for your review.

Actually, the mattress in the Orange room is a fairly expensive, gel-memory foam type that is only a few years old. This type of mattress has a very soft edge and overall feels much different than the standard spring type of hotel mattress. In our reviews, most of our guests really like our mattresses. But like pillows, a mattress firmness is a personal preference. Really sorry that you did not get a better rest on the gel-memory foam.

Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

This was the first time my husband and I stayed in a B & B-- and we would go back in a heartbeat! The location was right downtown within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and the beach. The facility is adults only, so it was relaxing and quiet. The staff was very nice and helpful. Our room was very soothing (we had the aqua room) and the bed and bath linens were luxurious. A continental breakfast was included and we ate our breakfast on the porch along with other guests. In the backyard there was a small building -- almost like a sunroom -- where you could also eat breakfast, or talk late at night without disturbing others, or play games ( we played Scrabble one night). This is a great little gem!

Room Tip: Each room is a different color. Some rooms have balconies. Check out their website for more details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beachbuckeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you so very much for your review and for staying with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to describe our property so future possible guests will know what to expect.
Our property is a small one, so it never really seems that busy and is typically very quiet. The sunroom that you described is great for small groups also.

Really hope to see you back. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here just one night but found the Inn to be very quiet and relaxing. Right in the middle of town, it is within walking distance of everything downtown.
Room was spacious and very quiet and clean. Ate breakfast available in the morning out in the covered back porch while we watched the morning rain.
Will definitely stay there our next trip to New Buffalo. Suggest getting some beer from Beer Church and just spend the evening on the back porch and relaxing.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Donaldo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

We are very happy you enjoyed your visit with us, and thank you so much for the review.
Our property has a great back porch that is very popular in the summer. Our courtyard at the back of the property also has patio area with chairs and a large table. The four rooms at the front of the building all have a private balcony/porches. So we are are all about have great spots to relax and refresh.

Thanks again-- hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

This was the first time my wife and I had stayed at a "Bed & Breakfast." We usually steered clear because we really didn't know what to expect but the Lake Country Inn delivered a fantastic experience for us! We had the "Blue" room on the second floor and it was a great room with its own balcony overlooking the beautiful tree-lined street. The hotel is located one block off the main downtown street where the shops and restaurants are located and is within easy walking distance to the New Buffalo Beach. The owners of Lake Country Inn have thought of everything to make your experience with them the best it can be. The mattress on the bed was the best I have ever slept on and the sheets and towels were all Ralph Lauren and the most comfortable I had ever experienced. It was definitely a wonderful experience for the both of us and we plan to be back!

Room Tip: There are a total of nine rooms in a variety of colors to choose from. Each is unique with a firepla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

We are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you so much for your review.
Our goal is to help our guests relax in an environment that feels like they are staying at the home of someone who cares about them. So we really try to keep things very clean and comfortable. And we are also very lucky to have many great guests that further contribute to the calm and relaxing atmosphere at our little property.

Thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

My boyfriend and I wanted to explore a new town and chose new buffalo. We had never stayed at an inn before and we really thought it was exceptional. Overall it was quiet and comfortable. We stayed in the aqua room and it had a comfortable bed, was clean, large and had a large bathroom. We also were able to enjoy the outdoor community deck and game room both nights we stayed. Walking distance from everything, including the beach, made it super convenient. The only thing I would do different is to get a room with a private balcony for next time because it was so peaceful to sit outside.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kbhittner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

So happy you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for your review.
The four rooms at the front of the building all have private porches or balconies. The Saffron room and the Tower suite are on the second floor with great balconies. The Orange and Yellow rooms are on the first floor with great porches. The rest of the rooms share a large porch at the rear of the building that has ceiling fans and comfortable chairs. There is also a patio area at the back corner of the rear courtyard area.
We do have a great place to experience summertime peace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I Absolutely loved staying at the Lake Country Inn! Our room was the purple room upstairs and it was incredibly clean and had the softest most comfortable mattress!!
The inn is within a few quick blocks to many awesome restaurants, bars and the beach! We especially loved it too because it was an easy walk from the train station which we used to take Amtrak to and from Chicago.
We had a late Amtrak train and they allowed us to leave our bags in the lobby area and change in the bathroom which was very appreciated.
Breakfast was included and had a wonderful array of items - yogurt, bagels, juices, cereal and coffee.
We loved the town of new buffalo and had an amazing stay! Would definitely stay at the Lake Country Inn again!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thanks so much for your review and for staying with us.
I am really glad you mentioned the train. Many people don't realize that there is an Amtrak platform about two blocks from our property. Travel time from Union Station in downtown Chicago is about one hour. You don't need a car when you stay with us a you can walk to pretty much every thing you need. Uber is now also in the area and there are multiple tour services for the vineyards. Four Winds Casino has a frequent shuttle from New Buffalo also.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We stayed in the blue room which had an extra room with a couch with a twin sleeper. It was very clean and the staff is very friendly. We could walk to restaurants and the beach easily. The bed was comfortable. The continental breakfast was nice. They had English mufffins, yogurt, oatmeal, fruit, cereal, hot chocolate, juice, and coffee. The place looks very new and well kept. The whole place was extremely clean. This was our second visit, and we will return again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. Another angle on our breakfast is that you have several places to sit and enjoy it. The shared porch on the back of the property has some great ceiling fans and chairs. Then we have the community room with tables and air conditioning. Behind the community room is a patio area with shade and a large table. Finally, the rooms at the front of the property have private porches or balconies.

Thank you so very much for your review and for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
2.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 8 in New Buffalo
135 reviews
14.8 km away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
651 reviews
0.4 km away
New Buffalo Inn & Spa
New Buffalo Inn & Spa
#2 of 7 in New Buffalo
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Country Inn

Address: 18 W Merchant St, New Buffalo, MI 49117-1836
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in New Buffalo
Price Range: $169 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nine room, boutique Inn located in the center of New Buffalo, MI. Short walk to restaurants, shopping, bars, Amtrak, and one of the best beaches on Lake Michigan. Beautifully decorated rooms are quiet and private. Building was built new in 2005. Free Wi-Fi and continental breakfast. Internet TV with free Netflix and refrigerators in select rooms. Adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lake Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Country Hotel New Buffalo
Country Inn New Buffalo
New Buffalo Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing