We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good each time”
Review of Backyard Bar Bq

Backyard Bar Bq
Ranked #35 of 127 Restaurants in Okemos
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 21, 2017

My adult daughters favorite place when she live nearby. I have not sampled much beyond the pulled pork, but been there with others who have tried various menu items and they have been pleased. Very small place, probably seats 25 or so. They have very short hours, close at 7pm weekdays, 3pm on Saturday, and closed on Sunday. I have sat with family on the chairs outside of the place after they close and there is always people trying to get in.

Not cheap, but not terribly expensive either. I have been there 7-8 times and have always enjoyed the food.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank winger999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 16 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2017 via mobile

This is one of my go to lunch places in Okemos, and I almost always get the Baja Salad. It's basically a garden salad with BBQ chicken on top. The greens and veggies were great this time, but the chicken was really dry. I'll give it another try next time I am in town.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank DMan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

Stopped for lunch: BBQ chicken sandwich, chips and a drink $7.
Chunks of chicken and cheese in a bun slathered with sauce; stale chips. Even though it wasn't what I was hoping for it was still better than drive through down the street.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Angelica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

Damn good food for the price, try eating micky D's or burger King, would eat here 10 time before a burger joint. Great atmosphere, fast service, clean and pleasant dining. 5 stars

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank daen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2015 via mobile

The pulled pork was mushy and heavy with a bland sauce, like they heated it up from a frozen package. The "warm baked beans" reminded me of Campbell's or Van Camp's. The best feature of the sandwich was that it was on pita with a nice Cole slaw. It's OK at best.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Clarkston_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backyard Bar Bq also viewed

Okemos, Ingham County
Okemos, Ingham County
 
Okemos, Ingham County
Okemos, Ingham County
 
Okemos, Ingham County
Okemos, Ingham County
 

Been to Backyard Bar Bq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing