We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Mission Lighthouse Park
Save
Review Highlights
Very pretty!

Wonderful views, even in the winter! Restrooms available and some handicap accessible areas. The... read more

Reviewed December 30, 2018
shellpred500
via mobile
Relaxing Park

Old Mission Lighthouse Park is a good and easy escape from Traverse City. The park offers some... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2018
J222_psu
,
Chicago, Illinois
via mobile
Read all 118 reviews
  
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
48
57
11
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
57
11
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews log cabin light house beautiful drive north pole light tower pit toilets walking trails lovely beach traverse city lake michigan gift shop worth the trip quiet area piece of history interesting history beautiful wineries beautiful view
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 118 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful drive on a day that wasn’t great for beaching. Would be gorgeous in the fall. A bit underwhelmed by the lighthouse itself—very low and small. $4 to go up, kind of on the honor system. Spent about 40 minutes there. Could bring beach gear and stay longer, but the beach was narrow and you’d have a constant flow of people passing through.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Vacationer917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

We made the drive up the Peninsula to Old Mission Lighthouse Park. We thoroughly enjoyed the scenery as we passed cherry grove after winery after more of the same looking out over the lake. There is an old log cabin on the property, you can walk down to the beach and take a tour of the lighthouse for $4. The drive alone was worth the trip.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank lorid897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

I took my wife and son here, and honestly didn't expect to spend very much time, but we ended up taking the whole morning. The lighthouse itself is quite small, but worth checking out. It's interesting to see the history of it and check out the view. The beach below was very nice, and we spent quite a bit of time just wandering. A word of warning, the only facilities are pit toilets, but that shouldn't discourage anyone from visiting. The scenery is gorgeous and it was a great way to finish our trip.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

The beautiful ride on Mission Peninsula culminates at the Lighthouse. Can’t get much prettier than the view of Lake Michigan and the beach is clean and inviting. Large parking lot, swimming allowed, and a lovely beach. Great for kids to have fun!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank DebAW16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Definitely a must do when in Traverse City; Michigan. Such awesome views of Lake Michigan and diverse agriculture on the drive up and total relaxation and awesome views when you get there. Bring a cooler with cold drink, a swim suit, sun screen, and your favorite shades. Then just take it all in and relax!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank 171keithe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews