We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ontonagon
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
147 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very Helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were camping in the Porcupine Mountains just a few miles from the AmericInn when the rangers told us that very severe weather was heading our way. Not wanting to experience that in a tent we packed up and headed to the AmericInn. Just as we checked in, the storm hit big. All power went out before we even got to our rooms. The young woman working the front desk were incredible. She had emergency kits and was helpful in keeping us updated on the storm. The hotel got us breakfast the next morning even though power was out most of the night. Very impressive. The hotel itself is clean and enjoyable right on Lake Superior and right outside of the Porcupine Mountains park.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mageestillh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    139
    35
    11
    11
See reviews for
112
167
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel during a fall color tour of the U.P. in October. We enjoyed many features of this place -- it's location on the shore of Lake Superior, the on-site restaurant, the room amenities, friendliness of the staff, etc. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieMinneapolisMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed one night and found the hotel very comfortable. The location is love, by the lake. The weather was balmy even though it was October, and people just sat outside and watched the sunset, or did a little fishing. The room size was very generous - basically two rooms. Staff were friendly. Biggest problem for us was the restaurant. There's not much choice around without getting into your car and traveling, but the night we were there the restaurant was hugely understaffed and it took at hour to get our meal. There was no salad to speak of in the salad bar, and nothing to do but sit and wait. I had fish which was just OK, a bit overcooked and nothing great - but that may have been a result of their not being able to handle everyone in the dining room. Perhaps this was just an unusual event, but our dining experience was mostly memorable for the long, long wait! I have to give them a low mark on service because of the restaurant, but the hotel staff were just fine. If I found myself in the area again I'd give them another chance.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breadbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manawa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

This was our 2nd time staying at this hotel and we had a good experience both times. Every fall we come up to the Porcupine Mountains to go hiking. This year we backpacked for 4 days then stayed at the hotel one night before heading home. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive from the visitor center. The weather was cold and nasty but the hotel was cozy and comforting. The cookies and coffee in the lobby were a nice touch. I also used the computer to send out an email to our families that we made it out of the wilderness okay. (We couldn't get cellphone service in Silver City.)

Our room was very clean, quiet and did not have any funky smells. My only complaint about the room was that the bed wasn't very soft.

We dined in the restaurant for dinner. We just had mushroom swiss burgers and beer. The food was okay. Nothing spectacular. Would I eat there again? Yes.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Right on the lake, with benches by the beach to watch the sunset. We had lakeview rooms and I would highly recommend getting one on the 3rd floor. The windows actually open, a big plus in my view.

Staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. Food and service in the restaurant were good in the evening. A little less so in the morning for the free breakfast.

This was my first visit to an AmericInn--if they're all like this, I would say it's a good value.

Room Tip: Get a lakeview room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed there 2 nights while visiting the Porcupine Mountains. The hotel met all our needs. The free continental breakfast was sub-par compared to similar hotels, and dinner at the restaurant was just OK. The 2nd night we ate in town at Lynn's. As mentioned by others, this the closest "chain style" hotel to the Porkies, and is right on the Lake Superior beach.

Room Tip: On the 2nd floor we heard lots of plumbing noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ztaaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Suburbs, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

This was our first stay and we were pleasantly suprised. While showing a few signs of age, the hotel was in very good condition, clean, quiet, and the cost was reasonable. The location is perfect. The breakfast buffet was adequate, with plenty of seating that could extend into the restaurant if necessary. I only wish they would have alternated the meat choices instead of serving sausage every morning. The staff was exceptionally courteous and the restaurant served very good food for dinner. My only concern was the phone surcharge. I knew before I arrived that there was little or no cell phone reception in the area, but I was shocked to learn that the hotel charges a $25 per call "connect fee" for every calling card call a guest makes. I realize phone calls have always been a money-making method for hotels, and I haven't used a hotel phone in years, but $25 per call seems to be a very unfair gouge that takes advantage of travelers who must make calls during their stay and have no other choice unless they want to drive 5 miles down the road to get a cell phone signal. We got around this problem by installing Skype on our laptop.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnywillow, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Phil521

I want to apologize for the misunderstanding on the $25.00 phone surcharge. We actually do not charge you that amount for making a call, that amount is charged to you if you make a call using your credit card, then it is your credit card company that charges you. Our phone system does not actually have the capability to charge a call to any guest. We put that warning on the phone to actually discourage guests from making a credit card call vrs. a calling card call. We have calling cards for sale at the front desk just so our guests will not use their credit card.

So again I am very sorry for the misunderstanding.


Sincerely,

Julie C. Chascsa (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City
Address: 120 Lincoln Ave, Ontonagon, MI 49953-9681
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ontonagon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ontonagon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Silver City
Americinn Lodge & Suites Silver City Hotel Ontonagon
Americinn Hotel Ontonagon
Americinn Silver City Mi
Americinn Ontonagon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing