We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Cabins, Great View & Wonderful Hospitality”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paradise
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Freighters View on the Bay
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paradise
Reviewed 14 June 2017

We have stayed at Freighter View a few times now, and it has become one of our favorite spots! The cabins are cozy & clean, and the location/view cannot be beat! Even with all the wonderful sights to see in & around Paradise, MI we love the view and enjoy just sitting outside on the property and being by the water. That being said, it is in a great spot to see all the local attractions - Tahquamenon Falls, Lake Superior, Whitefish Point, etc. The town itself is nice too. Nikki & Duane are great hosts and the hospitality is some of the best. It is quickly becoming a regular vacation for us here. They are also wonderful with our dog and accommodating when we bring him. A couple of the cabins have kitchenettes to cook, and they do provide refrigerators, coffee makers & grills for all cabins. There is a microwave in the office (office is available to guests 24/7) if you want something quick. They also provide games & books if you would like, and lots of tourist information you've never been to the area.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view, they have 2 pet friendly cabins, 2 kitchenette cabins. Just ask for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jdano15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2016

We stayed here one night because of the mostly positive reviews on TripAdvisor. I was expecting much better based on those reviews. This is a very old rundown roadside motel out of the 1950's just yards off the highway. It is right on Lake Superior but with only a small window off to the side from which to view it while in the room. The beds were old and saggy and the bathroom was pretty primitive with thin walls so you could easily hear the people next door when they were in the bathroom. I would definitely NOT stay here again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

You would not believe how beautiful Lake Superior is! Being able to catch the sun coming up over this HUGE Lake was absolutely stunning. We were right there, cottage #3, on the lake, at Freighters View Motel/Cabins. Great little place to stay! I would recommend it!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank redbird1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

My wife and 3 kids and I stay in one of the cabins with a kitchenette. It was cramped but an awesome experience for us. The owners were exceptionally kind and accommodating. The cabin was very clean. The view from the deck is stunning as you look out over the bay and watch the freighters slowly pass by. This place certainly matches its name.
There is a covered carport right next to your cabin, a small kitchenette with coffee maker and a little fridge and camp stove. There is TV which we never even turned on. It's close to Whitefish point and to restaurants in Paradise. It's also close to the falls, about 20 minute drive. There may be bigger cabins to stay in, but this one was a great little spot to enjoy some time off the grid.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

This was a great place for our one night stay. (Wished we could've stayed longer!). It's close to town and close (10 miles?) to the Shipwreck Museum at Whitefish Point. Very well maintained and the waterfront view can't be beat! Covered parking for your vehicle!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 800lms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We stayed in cabin 3. It was very neat and clean. The basic cabin with two beds and a bathroom is all you need for the night. The beautiful area calls for you to spend the time exploring outside. I woke up early to see the sunrise, but the clouds got in the way. It was still a great morning listening to the waves and watching the sky grow brighter from behind the clouds. The owner was very nice and friendly when he greeted us. He was able to answer our questions about the area. I would stay again if I were back in the area!

Room Tip: All cabins are in a row and all have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank heatherg20152015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Great view of the lake with occasional ships. Beautiful sunrise. Very clean basic room with TV and bathroom. No air but that is to be expected in a northern Michigan cabin. Very polite owners. We would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Irvin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Freighters View on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freighters View on the Bay

Address: 10346 N Whitefish Point Rd, Open Year Round, Paradise, MI 49768-9602
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paradise
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful shores of Lake Superior's Whitefish Bay, Freighter's View offers you a unique opportunity to unwind, relax, and regenerate. We are a small motel with a cabin feel. Our decor is simple, comfortable, and clean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Freighters View On The Bay Paradise, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing