We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for family lunch!”
Review of Freshwater Grill

Freshwater Grill
Ranked #3 of 111 Restaurants in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

Arrived on Saturday with two hungry kids (and a ravenous husband!) There was a short line but nothing horrible. Ordered the white fish and perch baskets as well as two kids meals. They were out of onion rings, nbd. Counter service was pleasant and quick. Price seemed fair.

Food took about 15 mins to get to table. Everything was piping hot and fresh. Kids refuse fish ended up eating a lot of the adult meals. Hush puppies were a big hit!

Will DEF be back next time we are in the area.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank katianna_lindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 138 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2018

Ordered on phone, and picked up. Wife got the Fish Taco Tues. I did the whitefish basket with a side of Perch and Daughter got the burger. Wife thought the fish taco was good. Daughter LOVED the burger. The whitefish was ok, but the perch was excellent. overall 3 thumbs up.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Davhamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2018 via mobile

We chose the freshwater grill because of the recommendations online! The pictures reminded us of an old favorite of ours in Mackinaw, Scalawags! I don’t know if they are connected in any way, but the decor is very similar and the food is just as delicious! We love the whitefish! We will be back the next time we are in the area!!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Kris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

We came to Michigan on a family vacation and have been disappointed by how rude and unfriendly a lot of employees are at some of the places we’ve chosen to spend our money.

Freshwater Grill was SO REFRESHING! We picked it based on Yelp reviews and it did not disappoint. The exterior is a bit nondescript since it’s in a strip mall but once you make it inside - it’s super cute.

Decorated with a marine theme and extraordinarily clean - it impressed us once we made it past the doors. The service staff was extremely friendly & personable. Never once while I was there did we see anyone not working. We came @ 2pm as they were coming off lunch time and everyone was making themselves busy cleaning & stocking.

The food was AMAZING. We had whitefish, cod & chicken strips. All of it was good and not over fried as some places tend to do. We absolutely loved our experience and were so glad to spend our money here where it seemed to be appreciated.

Make sure you visit this restaurant. You will be glad you did!

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2018

My son said this was his favorite place to eat in area because the white fish was outstanding. Worth substituting the onion rings for the fries and don't forget the tarter sauce!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freshwater Grill also viewed

Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
 

Been to Freshwater Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing