We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burger and excellent beer!”
Review of Petoskey Brewing

Petoskey Brewing
Ranked #6 of 111 Restaurants in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Description: Enjoy relaxed ambiance, fine craft beer and the best burgers in northern Michigan in one of the state's oldest brewery buildings. The Old Brewery crafted its first beer in 1898 and Petoskey Brewing carries on its legacy today brewing with pure artesian spring water.
Reviewed October 21, 2018

The burgers were outstanding, cooked perfectly and made from local beef! Love the beer selection and my wife LOVED the Chocolate Coconut Porter, she couldn't stop talking about it all weekend! WELL worth a trip if you are in the Petoskey area!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Trek787291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 456 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2018

Petoskey Brewing had us at the beginning: a historic building built to be a brewery and converted back into a brewery and restaurant by the current owners in 2012. An excellent pub meal and beer made the trip memorable.

We were quickly seated in one of the many alcoves in the ground floor of the massive five story brick building. The height was needed, we were told, because the original 1898 brewers used gravity to move the beer from grains to malt to hops to fermentation and packaging. We only saw the ground floor but were impressed by the restoration we could see in that space.

We ordered a couple of local brews (of course): Horny Monk and Tucker's and were pleased by the the distinctive craft taste of the brew. There is just no comparison between small batch beer and the large commercial lagers.

The burgers are advertised as 6-ounces of certified angus beef fresh-ground daily. The Signature Burger, ordered medium rare, was topped with bacon cheddar and a house-made ranch-style sauce. The Olive Burger, again prepped to order, included green olive mayo and swiss cheese topping. The onion rings that we chose as the side were plentiful and fried just right.

The service was efficient and friendly on a busy night and the price point more than fair. If we are passing this way again, we will be looking for the big blue Petoskey Brewing sign.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank douglasl739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2018

Great place to go for a relaxing, friendly environment for a beer and good burgers. We enjoyed trying the different beers, and left satisfied and with a 4 pack to take home to KY!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank randrews30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

This is the most unpredictable restaurant I've ever seen. Sometimes slow, sometimes cold always salty. Usually contested and uncomfortable. But there is 1 thing that you can count on... it's always really loud, screaming kids and all.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank d b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Food is easily the best of any of the dozens of breweries I've visited in Michigan. Fresh ingredients and great recipes.

Tried two beers and they both surprised me in quality and flavor. Clearly very well crafted.

Although I feared service may be slow when I walked into a "please seat yourself" sign, it was anything but. Service was extremely quick, both at our table and from the kitchen, and our server was very attentive. This was clearly the case for all of the tables in the restaurant, as well.

This is one of the easiest 5 stars I've posted to TripAdvisor.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petoskey Brewing also viewed

Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 

Been to Petoskey Brewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing