We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontiac
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We had a wonderful time staying at this hotel. Upon checking in, we were greeted by the receptionist Adam. The service provided by Adam was excellent. He went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and at ease. For example, he called a nearby restaurant to check whether it was opened (Thanksgiving) or not. He also drew us a map to a nearby restaurant. When we asked about nearby shopping malls, he also gave us a map of the Great Lakes Crossing. Just excellent service all around.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atran70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    34
    15
    13
    4
See reviews for
36
18
4
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Excellent! Excellent! There were 34 travellers in our soccer touring group, majoritry 15 and 16 year olds. The staff were outstanding, always there to help, nothing too hard. The rooms were clean and extremely comfortable and we felt safe at all times. Location was superb for the games we played, and the shopping in the area was excellent. Great laundry facilities for the team. Met really nice people from all over the world in the common area during breakfast. We can highly recommend this hotel. General Manager in particular was the nicest of ladies.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

the hotel is very confortable and offers all services needed to live like home. The management is very friendly and efficient and able to solve any kind of issues you could have. Room are big and well equipped. Swimming pool and gym are available at any time. Breakfast is good with aboundant choice.
Excellent also free happy hour program in the garden

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margo6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

I travel 100% for my company so I can speak from real experience of other Marriott Residence Inn East of the Mississipppi.
This one is by far well below any I have stayed at.
I requested a room with an oven up front and was given one with only a 2 burner cook top range. They moved me the next day - that was hassle one and if had been all, would have been easy for me to overlook. But other things became issues for me.
The staff did their best to complete the room equipment that I find is always at other locations (i.e. missing dishes - utencels - etc.) It took me 2-3 days to note all missing items so I could cook meals in my room as is intended when you stay at a residence inn style hotel.
ALso the TV is of 1990s style - curved glass CRT where other locations have LCD wide screen HD units. The microwave was so small I could not place my travel coffee cup inside. Through out the properity I noticed items in need of repair or upgrade.
To reach the swimming pool / work out room / breakfast areas it is necessary for you to go outside the building of the rooms and then enter the building housing these. In poor weather not a plus by far.
Now to point out this, my dissatisfaction was not so much of lesser conditons but rather the room rate was 1/3 higher than I have paid at other Marriott Residence Inns.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a normal Marriott Residence Inn - do not expect it here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsmitch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthews, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Several families stayed for a wedding and we had multiple problems. The most troublesome was the front desk refused to give out toilet paper.....having run out and did not know where to get it or was not allowed to call a manager after 10pm..unbleievable! After a thunderstorm the carpet was wet ( sloshed when you walked) and upon reporting it to the front desk there reponse was....so??????
Rooms were not cleaned every day . Only upon request.
Unpleasant stay for some of the families. On writing letters no one seemed overy concerned at any of these items. Definately would not return...or at lease with cleaning supplies and my own toilet paper!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 weeks while my son had 3 weeks intensive therapy. I can't praise the staff enough. Any issues we had they were on it right away. The breakfast is outstanding and the light supper is great too. We had a 2 bedroom suite with full kitchen which was roomy and clean. The wireless internet is a bonus too. Great positioning. 5 minute drive to the supermarket. Buger King, Zoup, Dairy Queen, Thai and more was a 5 minute walk. 15 minutes drive to a great outlet shopping mall called 'Great Lakes Crossing outlets' a must to visit. We'll stay here again for sure. A+

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

The buildings are not connected. If you want ice, sodas, snacks -- anything -- you need to go outside, which is not ideal in freezing weather. We are a family with 2 young children and using the pool was a nightmare. It was too much bother to get everyone up, dressed and outfitted with hats, gloves, etc. so we didn't even make breakfast. I'm surprised that this was not mentioned in any other reviews. I truly hate to give such a low rating because the staff was incredibly nice and helpful. The hotel was very nice, clean and conveniently located. I'm sure if you stayed here in warm weather (with no rain), the hotel would be much better.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetoTravel8675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontiac
0.1 km away
Auburn Hills Marriott Pontiac
0.1 km away
Courtyard Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills
6.2 km away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#1 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
5.8 km away
Courtyard Detroit Auburn Hills
Courtyard Detroit Auburn Hills
#12 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
6.6 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills

Property: Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills
Address: 3333 Centerpoint Pkwy., Pontiac, MI 48341
Region: United States > Michigan > Pontiac
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontiac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills is just off I-75, between Troy, Auburn Hills, Bloomfield Hills, and Pontiac, to offer a premier location among Auburn Hills hotels. Business travelers appreciate staying at this extended stay Auburn Hills hotel with close proximity to nearby offices including Chrysler Headquarters, GM Powertrain, Hewlett-Packard, Volkswagen, and Delphi. Guests traveling on leisure love the quick commute to the top Detroit-area sights including Comerica Park or Somerset Collection Mall. The pet-friendly Residence Inn Auburn Hills offers apartment-style suites that are 50% larger than standard hotels with convenient amenities including free WiFi, HD TVs, and fully-equipped kitchens with granite counter tops. Choose the Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills offers modern amenities and a great location to make it one of the top extended stay hotels in Auburn Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills Hotel Pontiac
Residence Inn Pontiac
Pontiac Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing