We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rated #1 for a reason, great for hockey teams”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Rated #1 for a reason, great for hockey teams”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed here for the weekend with our hockey team, in town for a tournament. Our stay was fantastic, we received amazing service from Bridget and everyone was impressed. The rooms are HUGE, pay a little bit extra and get the queen suite if you have kids, you will really enjoy the extra space. We had food brought in and enjoyed it in their meeting space. The kids loved the pool and breakfast was included in the price which is always nice. The breakfast selection wasn't out of this world, but when it's free, why complain. Great location, many restaurants close by and all the good shops within 15min drive that us Canadians love to visit. We'll be back!!! (one thing, I know some people complain about the planes flying overhead, this really wasn't a bother to us, just put your fan on in your room, and most noises get drowned out)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    193
    32
    12
    3
See reviews for
249
162
59
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed here the night before air travel and the night of our return. We had two adjoining rooms on the sixth floor. I have no complaints of this hotel, other than the fact that the two computers in the business center were so slow that I was unable to check our flight status or to print boarding passes as I had wanted to. The rooms were huge and clean with all amenities necessary. The beds were comfortable as well. We could hear planes taking off and landing early in the morning, but I would imagine that is typical of all the airport hotels. Bring earplugs if this is a problem for you.
We booked a room with 7 days parking and the lot is a convenient location right behind the hotel. On our second night stay, we were able to stay for the complementary breakfast, which was the typical good selection that Hampton Inns are famous for. On our departure day, we were able to take the "breakfast to go" bags and eat breakfast on the shuttle trip to the airport.
I would definitely stay here again since the room rate with parking is much less than that of the Westin where we normally have stayed.

Room Tip: Rooms 616 and 618 were good adjoining rooms close to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0m23b0ys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wingham, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Clean, bright room, would be happy to have this room anywhere. Free breakfast the next morning, food was not great, but for the price just fine. parking included at a nearby park and fly lot, and free shuttle to the airport, only 5 min away. The only thing negative to say was that it was quite noisy until the planes quit flying as much around 11-1130 pm, but thats to be expected so close to the airport. Service was friendly. The price was great- $89 plus taxes for the night, which included shuttles, parking for the week, and breakfast, parking alone would have cost us almost as much. This will get a return visit for sure, as it is so convenient when flying out of Detroit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This was a very nice, newer hotel near the airport. It had all of the standard Hampton Inn features plus a microwave and fridge in my room, at least. Very clean and comfortable with friendly staff. At first arrival, I feared that there would be a lot of noise because the flight line for one of DTW's runways is directly above the hotel. Fear not, the hotel was suprisingly quiet.

This hotel certainly should be near the top of the rankings, but I am suprised that it is currently ranked #1 in Romulus.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjd181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Fantastic hotel. Large clean room with comfortable King bed. Only complaint... Slamming doors you can hear from the hallway. I'll bring earplugs next time and I will stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Clean, comfortable and updated rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Close to airport with prompt shuttle service. Restaurant at Hilton Garden Inn or Big Boy are both decent and within walking distance. Definitely one of the better Hampton Inns I've stayed at. Go ahead and book it.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank klckt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I have stayed in this area several times at the other surrounding hotels. This one is a gem among the standards.. Clean rooms friendly staff. Quiet! It is my go to from now on.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eljbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
0.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
1.2 km away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Address: 31700 Smith Rd., Romulus, MI 48174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Romulus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#2 Family Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover comfort and convenience for Detroit and beyond at Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus. Just off I-94 and I-275, our Romulus hotel is within a mile of Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW). Take our free hotel shuttle to and from the airport. This hotel in Romulus, MI lies at the heart of Metro Detroit, within 20 minutes of downtown Detroit and 30 minutes from Ann Arbor, Michigan, making an equally great base for the industrial corporations of Motown and the University of Michigan campus. Whether you’re in town for business, to cheer on the NFL’s Detroit Lions, touring the Great Lakes, or simply catching a flight, you’ll find a warm welcome at Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus. Relax in a comfortable guest room with a clean and fresh Hampton beds® and HD channels on the 37-inch LCD TV. Spacious suites feature sofa beds in the seating area, making this hotel in Romulus, MI a great family option. Accessible rooms and suites are designed for comfort. Get to work in the comfort of your room with free internet access throughout the hotel. Start the day right with Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Choose your favorite toppings for oatmeal and fresh waffles to accompany hot and cold selections. If you’re in a rush, just grab a free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday. Consult the friendly team members for local Romulus restaurant recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus Hotel Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing