We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the business traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
249 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Great for the business traveler”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

After a year away, back again to this hotel for another detroit area visit. Still offering good service, large room with king size bed -- no noise from nearby airport -- and a desk for computer, flat screen tv, small fridge, and small microwave. Decent, usual Hampton Inn breakfast. During the week, homestyle cookies in the evening. Rates drop over the weekend should you need an extended stay. An added plus -- just discovered this trip: indoor pool and hot tub.

Would recommend for conveninence and close proximity to airport and easy access to I94.

Room Tip: choose a room looking over side road or back as opposed to main drag; top floor the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdvicePro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    198
    35
    12
    3
See reviews for
257
166
60
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We were first hesitant to book the hotel because there were closer hotels near Dearborn and downtown Detroit where we went, but it was well worth the 15-20 minute drives.

We stayed there for one night with my kids and they thoroughly enjoyed everything -- from the free breakfast, to the amazing homemade cookies while their daddies grabbed coffee, to the nice indoor pool.

During our stay, during spring break in the Chicago suburbs, we barely saw any other guests. We must have picked a nice, light time to come.

Everything was nice and clean, our room was nice and spacious, and the staff were very friendly.

The only thing I didn't enjoy was that the two queen beds were not at all comfortable. I don't think I ever recall waking up as many times as I did because of how uncomfortable I was.

Overall, however, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This hotel was fantastic. When we arrived, there was hot chocolate, coffee, tea, and warm cookies set out in the lobby for us while we waited for them to check us in. Our room was spacious, very clean and beautifully decorated. The only complaint I have, is that the area the hotel was in wasn't very nice and the only place to get food nearby was a Big Boy. The upside, though, was that it was close to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinenicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroy, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We only stayed one night, but my family and I were extremely happy with this property. First of all it is inexpensive for a night. 89$ was our cost. The entire hotel is clean, modern, (I believe it's actually new), and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel (on a Friday night) was not full. We had the pool and hot tub to ourselves for well over 2 hours. Pool is warm and good size. Hot tub is actually hot and well maintained. There is a nice little workout center next door to the pool. All of the equipment is new and high grade. Loved that they had the little Tv's attached to the treadmills, headphones are on the wall to your left when you walk in the fitness room. It was very quiet (meaning the airplanes fly overhead), great noise control. Nice big breakfast. Everything from waffles to sausage and eggs, juices, milk, etc. The rooms are obviously modern and good size. Beds are very comfy. Nice flat screen tv and free wifi. Free parking as well. I will definitely stay here again. Free shuttle service to the airport every 20 min, but you do need to book your time with the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwestgirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here using the park-sleep-fly option and it was adequate for our needs. We had booked a suite with two queen beds and a pull-out couch thinking we were going to get some separation between the beds and the couch but no such luck. It is all in one large room. It worked fine for our family but I probably would have saved the extra money and just booked a room with two queen beds instead. The breakfast in the morning was ok. Nothing spectacular but it filled us up before our flight. There are a lot of other hotels in the area that I would probably try before booking this hotel again. The price for the park-sleep-fly is pretty steep compared to the other hotels in the area and, given the layout of the rooms and the "just ok" breakfast, I think I'd rather save a few bucks and stay at some other hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seekingsun4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

After a cancelled flight in Detroit, needed to find a hotel close to airport and within budget. Called from the airport hotel kiosk and was connected directly to the reservations agent. They booked me into a double queen sized suite for 88.99/night.

This is a fairly new hotel, and it was fabulous. The room was huge, with a working space, great amenities, free wi-fi in room and a complimentary, delicious breakfast. Also ordered room service (delivered from the Hilton Suites next door) in 20 minutes. Total price was under $130 with two meals, and double room. The furniture and decor was very modern and beautiful, and the bathroom was very large. The staff were super friendly and the shuttle to the airport was 5-10 minutes to departures, running every 20 minutes.

Excellent value and experience at this hotel. Would definitely recommend it for those who need a place to stay at the Detroit airport who dont want to break the bank for a room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maratimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Based on reviews here, we chose the Hampton Inn at Detroit Metro Airport. Although the hotel is slightly confusing to get to, it's worth it, and after the first time you venture out, it's easy to find again. Very convient to the airport. Our room was HUGE. I stay at Hampton's all the time and have never had a room this large. Very nicely appointed. I would stay here again and highly reccomend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nashoba0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
0.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
0.1 km away
Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport
1.2 km away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Address: 31700 Smith Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1976
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Romulus
#2 Business Hotel in Romulus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover comfort and convenience for Detroit and beyond at Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus. Just off I-94 and I-275, our Romulus hotel is within a mile of Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW). Take our free hotel shuttle to and from the airport. This hotel in Romulus, MI lies at the heart of Metro Detroit, within 20 minutes of downtown Detroit and 30 minutes from Ann Arbor, Michigan, making an equally great base for the industrial corporations of Motown and the University of Michigan campus. Whether you’re in town for business, to cheer on the NFL’s Detroit Lions, touring the Great Lakes, or simply catching a flight, you’ll find a warm welcome at Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus. Relax in a comfortable guest room with a clean and fresh Hampton beds® and HD channels on the 37-inch LCD TV. Spacious suites feature sofa beds in the seating area, making this hotel in Romulus, MI a great family option. Accessible rooms and suites are designed for comfort. Get to work in the comfort of your room with free internet access throughout the hotel. Start the day right with Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Choose your favorite toppings for oatmeal and fresh waffles to accompany hot and cold selections. If you’re in a rush, just grab a free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday. Consult the friendly team members for local Romulus restaurant recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus Hotel Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing