We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Montague Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$84
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep-ees Inn(Saginaw)
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
22
12
6
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
12
6
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold mansioncarriage houserust roombagelschristmas treegas fireplacepotatoescontinental breakfastricardo
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We loved our stay at the Montague Inn. It was everything we expect from a high quality, boutique B&B or even hotel. When we arrived, we were greeted by James, who showed us all the available rooms in detail, providing an informative and interesting tour of the wonderful house and grounds. We were allowed time and space in the house while we chose our room. The room itself was very well catered for and finished to a high quality. There were many lovely touches to personalise our stay, from the room guest book to the individual house tour, to the breakfast for our own needs. I would recommend the Montague to anybody passing through the area, I know we'd definitely try to stay there again should we ever be in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebalch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My husband and I were looking for a nice bed and breakfast around the Frankenmuth area and stumbled upon this one. The pictures looked nice and the reviews were pretty good, so we decided to go for it. When I called to reserve a room, we were informed that Saginaw's Christmas celebration would be going on that weekend, but that visitors would be kept on the main floor and not allowed upstairs (where our room was). This was fine with us, as we wanted to check out the celebration as well and didn't mind some people and noise as long as it was kept downstairs.

When we arrived, the host was very pleasant and informative. I took the time to look around the other rooms and James showed me the hidden room in the study and we chatted about the history of the family. The inn is truly gorgeous and it was a neat experience to stay at it. The Christmas decorations added to the charm.

We left around 5:30 to walk around Saginaw and enjoy the festivities. It was very nice being able to walk across the river to old town Saginaw and enjoy the lights and carriage rides around town. It was a bit chilly, so we made our way back around 7:30 to relax and heat up around the fireplace in our room. We had to wait in a line for about 10 minutes to get back inside, which was a little frustrating but understandable since so many people were trying to get in. Once we got inside, we quickly realized that everyone was allowed to wander upstairs despite promises from multiple people that they would be kept downstairs. When we finally got to our room, it was anything but relaxing for the next few hours. We had people talking loudly and trying to get into our room. When you're trying to enjoy a relaxing, romantic evening, multiple people trying to walk into your room almost ruins the evening.

The next morning, we came downstairs for breakfast. Perhaps we are naive, but every other time we've stayed at a bed and breakfast, it included a hot breakfast. This breakfast was worse than the one we got the night before at a chain hotel. There were no dishes set out, so we took some mugs off of a china cabinet to use. The meal consisted of small boxes of cereal, stale bagels, store bought yogurt, and three apples.

Also, around 9am when we came down for breakfast, there were still leaves and bits of cookies strewn about everywhere still from the night before. It was quite a mess.

We complained to the hostess when we left, and she did give us a 10% discount off of our room after explaining that she knew someone would complain. Apparently they were short staffed the night before. She told us that next time we should simply not stay there the night of the Christmas festivities if this bothered us and that the maid wouldn't be in until later to clean up the mess.

To us, a bed and breakfast is as much an experience of staying at the inn as it is enjoying good customer service. The inn was beautiful and we greatly enjoyed that part of it. The service was not so special. Although the hostess did apologize, we also felt we were being reprimanded for complaining since we knew the Christmas celebration was going on. We were very disappointed by the lack of a quiet, romantic evening, no breakfast, and how dirty the place was the next morning. Surely if they knew hundreds of people were coming by, they could have found employees to help out for 3 hours.

My recommendation would be to stop by to look at the inn and ask to see the rooms, but don't bother staying here. It's not worth the price.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors get less noise filtered from the lower level.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justme339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Where do I began. We had made reservations to take my 79 year old mother to dinner at the Montague. We had a party of 12 and we were all looking forward to a special evening. the waitress could not have been mire rude and unprofessional. She seemed to be mad or upset as she was slamming drinks in front of people, yelling 'listen up here' and then announcing what the were out of. One of our guests never got his dinner even after she cane out and said she missed someone and reconfirmed the entire order. We had to ask for bread and when we asked for more she said 'it's a no go on the bread'. This person gas absolutely no business whatsoever serving anyone.

Now the food. Gross! My tenderloin tasted Like liver! Not one dish passed as half way decent. We all agreed the only edible item was the bread. Bottom line. Stay away from this place. Do not waste your time and money.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sluggolito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My husband and I were given a gift certificate to the Inn for our anniversary so we went online and read the reviews. We were surprised by the wide variety of views, some really good and some not so good so we were looking forward to our stay and knew we would be writing a review. The gal who checked us in couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. She saw the gift certificate was for more than the cost of our room so she offered us a bottle of wine which was a nice touch. We asked for recommendations for restaurants in the area for dinner and she not only made a few, but printed out the menus for us. Naomi showed us to our room and around the Inn and explained the times for breakfast, 8am-10am and we felt right at home. Our room was beautiful, the Mary Sage, which she said was the original owners daughters room. The bed was very comfortable to us (very firm mattress which we loved). For those who complain about the paint peeling off the walls in places, sure, it could be a little more polished in places but it was built in 1926... they told us at breakfast... and if it was in pristine shape, the rooms would be a lot more expensive! We found the experience delightful and the staff very friendly and we would go there again if we were in the area. I guess the one drawback is that Saginaw has seen better days and there didn't seem to be that much to do in the area besides go out for a great meal. Thanks for a very nice time Montague staff.

Room Tip: Mary Sage had firm king mattress, beautiful view of grounds, huge room!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We've stayed at the Montague Inn many times. It's our favorite place to stay in Saginaw. I love to stay in the carriage house. For us it offered the comforts of the b&b with the additional privacy we like to have. Everyone here is very friendly. I can't say a single negative thing about the Montague Inn. The food, the property, the rooms, the staff... everything is wonderful!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bluepig112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews