We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Inn, but lacking hospitality”
Review of Montague Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montague Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Saginaw B&B and Inns
Three Oaks, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn, but lacking hospitality”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We booked a room at the Montague for our 5th wedding anniversary weekend. The price was a bit much, but being a bed and breakfast, we expected nothing short of red-carpet treatment. The front desk staff was very pleasant, but only dressed in shorts and t-shirts. Our room was on the third floor in the main building. It was very spacious, with a comfortable bed and period accents and furniture. We had a gas fireplace, which was very convenient for the cooler evenings in early May. The bed seemed very clean and well dressed, but the rest of the room needed work. For example, I don't think the walls or ceiling in the bathroom have been cleaned since the Inn opened in 1989. There was all sorts of spots and drips on the walls, probably from years of hairspray and who knows what else. The floors didn't look like they had been swept in a while. The rug under the bed was all crooked and folded over against the wall. Considering the price, I had expected the rooms to be spotless. Breakfast the following morning was serve-yourself, from a choice of mini boxed cereals, mini cans of juice, mini yogurts, fresh fruit, and cold (refrigerated) bagels and pastries. There wasn't even any milk set out for the cereals. There were no dishes or utensils in an obvious location, other than the ones on the china cabinet, therefore that was what we used. After spending two nights, upon checking out, we were given no receipt, no confirmation, nothing more than a "Thanks, and Have a Good Day". When I asked about a receipt, the woman at the desk said she couldn't give me one. I only hoped the charge to my card would be correct. The amount she quoted me sounded about right, but considering she gave us a 10% discount for our troubles, the final price still seemed to high.

Room Tip: Robert's room is very beautiful, if you can look past the stains on the walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msuHerbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    10
    6
    15
    6
See reviews for
8
37
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We loved our stay at the Montague Inn. It was everything we expect from a high quality, boutique B&B or even hotel. When we arrived, we were greeted by James, who showed us all the available rooms in detail, providing an informative and interesting tour of the wonderful house and grounds. We were allowed time and space in the house while we chose our room. The room itself was very well catered for and finished to a high quality. There were many lovely touches to personalise our stay, from the room guest book to the individual house tour, to the breakfast for our own needs. I would recommend the Montague to anybody passing through the area, I know we'd definitely try to stay there again should we ever be in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebalch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My husband and I were looking for a nice bed and breakfast around the Frankenmuth area and stumbled upon this one. The pictures looked nice and the reviews were pretty good, so we decided to go for it. When I called to reserve a room, we were informed that Saginaw's Christmas celebration would be going on that weekend, but that visitors would be kept on the main floor and not allowed upstairs (where our room was). This was fine with us, as we wanted to check out the celebration as well and didn't mind some people and noise as long as it was kept downstairs.

When we arrived, the host was very pleasant and informative. I took the time to look around the other rooms and James showed me the hidden room in the study and we chatted about the history of the family. The inn is truly gorgeous and it was a neat experience to stay at it. The Christmas decorations added to the charm.

We left around 5:30 to walk around Saginaw and enjoy the festivities. It was very nice being able to walk across the river to old town Saginaw and enjoy the lights and carriage rides around town. It was a bit chilly, so we made our way back around 7:30 to relax and heat up around the fireplace in our room. We had to wait in a line for about 10 minutes to get back inside, which was a little frustrating but understandable since so many people were trying to get in. Once we got inside, we quickly realized that everyone was allowed to wander upstairs despite promises from multiple people that they would be kept downstairs. When we finally got to our room, it was anything but relaxing for the next few hours. We had people talking loudly and trying to get into our room. When you're trying to enjoy a relaxing, romantic evening, multiple people trying to walk into your room almost ruins the evening.

The next morning, we came downstairs for breakfast. Perhaps we are naive, but every other time we've stayed at a bed and breakfast, it included a hot breakfast. This breakfast was worse than the one we got the night before at a chain hotel. There were no dishes set out, so we took some mugs off of a china cabinet to use. The meal consisted of small boxes of cereal, stale bagels, store bought yogurt, and three apples.

Also, around 9am when we came down for breakfast, there were still leaves and bits of cookies strewn about everywhere still from the night before. It was quite a mess.

We complained to the hostess when we left, and she did give us a 10% discount off of our room after explaining that she knew someone would complain. Apparently they were short staffed the night before. She told us that next time we should simply not stay there the night of the Christmas festivities if this bothered us and that the maid wouldn't be in until later to clean up the mess.

To us, a bed and breakfast is as much an experience of staying at the inn as it is enjoying good customer service. The inn was beautiful and we greatly enjoyed that part of it. The service was not so special. Although the hostess did apologize, we also felt we were being reprimanded for complaining since we knew the Christmas celebration was going on. We were very disappointed by the lack of a quiet, romantic evening, no breakfast, and how dirty the place was the next morning. Surely if they knew hundreds of people were coming by, they could have found employees to help out for 3 hours.

My recommendation would be to stop by to look at the inn and ask to see the rooms, but don't bother staying here. It's not worth the price.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors get less noise filtered from the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justme339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saginaw hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Where do I began. We had made reservations to take my 79 year old mother to dinner at the Montague. We had a party of 12 and we were all looking forward to a special evening. the waitress could not have been mire rude and unprofessional. She seemed to be mad or upset as she was slamming drinks in front of people, yelling 'listen up here' and then announcing what the were out of. One of our guests never got his dinner even after she cane out and said she missed someone and reconfirmed the entire order. We had to ask for bread and when we asked for more she said 'it's a no go on the bread'. This person gas absolutely no business whatsoever serving anyone.

Now the food. Gross! My tenderloin tasted Like liver! Not one dish passed as half way decent. We all agreed the only edible item was the bread. Bottom line. Stay away from this place. Do not waste your time and money.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sluggolito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
259 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My husband and I were given a gift certificate to the Inn for our anniversary so we went online and read the reviews. We were surprised by the wide variety of views, some really good and some not so good so we were looking forward to our stay and knew we would be writing a review. The gal who checked us in couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. She saw the gift certificate was for more than the cost of our room so she offered us a bottle of wine which was a nice touch. We asked for recommendations for restaurants in the area for dinner and she not only made a few, but printed out the menus for us. Naomi showed us to our room and around the Inn and explained the times for breakfast, 8am-10am and we felt right at home. Our room was beautiful, the Mary Sage, which she said was the original owners daughters room. The bed was very comfortable to us (very firm mattress which we loved). For those who complain about the paint peeling off the walls in places, sure, it could be a little more polished in places but it was built in 1926... they told us at breakfast... and if it was in pristine shape, the rooms would be a lot more expensive! We found the experience delightful and the staff very friendly and we would go there again if we were in the area. I guess the one drawback is that Saginaw has seen better days and there didn't seem to be that much to do in the area besides go out for a great meal. Thanks for a very nice time Montague staff.

Room Tip: Mary Sage had firm king mattress, beautiful view of grounds, huge room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We've stayed at the Montague Inn many times. It's our favorite place to stay in Saginaw. I love to stay in the carriage house. For us it offered the comforts of the b&b with the additional privacy we like to have. Everyone here is very friendly. I can't say a single negative thing about the Montague Inn. The food, the property, the rooms, the staff... everything is wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluepig112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The house is gorgeous and it was fun to look around it. But that was the high point of our 2-night stay. Don't stay on the third floor in the summer--the AC is insufficient. Our bed was very creaky and the mattress badly needed to be replaced. Both of us had back aches and slept very poorly. To be a top-notch place to stay, some updates are really needed. This is not a B&B, so don't expect breakfast. There was no dinner available at all while we were there. There were, however, loud groups of people on the patio until 1 in the morning. The neighborhood didn't worry us--it's not exactly a residential area, but it's not that bad.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeneric717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saginaw
3.8 km away
Ramada Saginaw Hotel & Suites
19.7 km away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
23.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
7.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saginaw
7.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saginaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montague Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montague Inn

Property: Montague Inn
Address: 1581 S Washington Ave, Saginaw, MI 48601-2877
Region: United States > Michigan > Saginaw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saginaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montague Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Montague Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing