We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saginaw
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Saginaw
lansing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Management”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I booked Country Inn and Suites for my wedding party and guests 6 months before my wedding. The manager I talked to was Matt, he was very nice and sold me when he said he would shuttle my guests back from the reception to the hotel. After sending out invites to my guests they began calling the hotel and were told there was no reservation under our name. I then called and was treated very poorly by Shalon who said Matt no longer works for them. She told me she is the new manager and nothing was entered into the computer for our bridal party and made me feel as if it was my fault. I asked her about the shuttle and she told me they don't do shuttle, and after arguing with me she agreed she would work something out. She never got back to me and never once tried to make this run smoothly for the bride to be. Therefor a large amount of my guests stayed elsewhere, because of the hassle. My husband and I did stay overnight. After leaving the hotel I realized I had left a keepsake handkerchief in the room. My mom called the hotel and the clerk told her they found it and she could come and pick it up. My mom and Aunt arrived and were met by the RUDE manager Shalon who argued about the keepsake and told them she didn't know anything about a handkerchief and she is the manager so she would know. One of the clerks then handed it to my mom and they left. Shalon is horrible in a work environment where customer service is important. I would be embarassed to have her a part of my hotel staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda4633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CISSaginaw, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saginaw, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
amanda4633,

I would like to apologize for the communication mix up with your group, I belive there was a mis-understanding with the stipulations about you recieveing a complimentary shuttle. If you would like to further discuss this matter or any other issue please do not hesitate to contact me at 989-792-7666.

Craig- Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    75
    56
    46
    30
See reviews for
132
54
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
National City, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Had a lot of trouble finding our way into the place. We had a suite on the second floor. The only reason we did is because we booked on line . It was the cheapest room, Very nice place!! Bed was comfy, Slept very good! We didn't hear any noise in the hallway like other places. The pool was outside , We did not use it. It looked nice, Breakfast was good. I have no other complaints.Again, Very nice place!!! Would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickyll55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CISSaginaw, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saginaw, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Vickyll55,

Thank You so much for the review, we love to have our guests post reviews after staying with us here at the Country Inn & Suites Saginaw, MI. However I would like to apologize about the confusion with the entrance. Booking online as you did can be good for getting Suites or even Standard rooms at resonable prices, I am gald you had a good experience.

Craig - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Hotel completely made over. Pleasing decor. Staff friendly and accommodating. Continental breakfast is adequate.Bonus feature warm cookies and good coffee available.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveandjoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CISSaginaw, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saginaw, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Dave and Joann,

Thanks so much for helping spread the word about our new renovations. Just to let you know we have made so additional improvments to our breakfast since your stay, not just with more food options but we know serve our breakfast on real chinaware. And ofcourse we always have our freshly baked cookies.

Craig - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsville, New York
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The hotel is easy to find right off the interstate and you're instantly greeted with very friendly staff. Complimentary HOT breakfast is a plus!! They do allow pets however I did pay $25 a night extra for our doggie but I was happy they allowed her. The bed was comfortable - the room was very clean - we had the king suite. It was safe and located next to shops and restaurants!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloNYGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CISSaginaw, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saginaw, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
BuffaloNYgirls,

On the behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inn & Suites of Saginaw, MI we would like to thank you for your friendly review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed stay, and that you found a place to stay with your pet.

Craig- Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I was booked into this hotel on a business trip by my company's travel agency. I hate to give this hotel a poor rating - it was exceptionally clean, in a convenient location, the staff was very helpful, but they cannot control rowdy guests. Out of a 12 day stay. beginning July 23, I didn't get to sleep until 2 in the morning due to partying guests on at least 3 occasions. The first instance happened when 1 women checked in with 2 kids, then proceeded to open the door on her room for 2 more women and 4 more kids, a total of 9 people, who partied until 1:30 am. Then a group of Grand Blanc little league football parents partied until 2 in the morning, totally ignoring the hotel staff's directions to quiet down, in consideration of other guests. I asked to be moved away from them--I had to get up at 6 the next morning--but was told they couldn't move me. I should have just called the police. They have no hotel security and since the guests were paying no attention to hotel management, they seemed helpless to control the situation. Other guests in surrounding rooms were complaining and very irate--needless to say this situation could have taken an ugly turn very easily. A few days later, a traveling teenage baseball team checked in! I complained to the corporate office upon my return home and got an offer of $25 off on my next stay. It's safe to say I won't be using this. I doubt very seriously that the Marriott or any hotel top-notch hotel chains allow such behavior by their guests.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SalvoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CISSaginaw, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saginaw, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
SalvoGal,

I am so sorry to hear that you occured a noise inconvience during your stay with us. Sometimes large groups can get a little out of hand, I assure you we do not aspire to have only rowdy or partying guest stay with us. If you would like to dicuss this issue further please feel free to contact me at 989-792-7666. I do hope you will give us a 2nd chance we rarley have such large groups and are rather a quite hotel normaly.

Craig - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saginaw hotels

Norwalk, CT
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I was pleasantly surprised at how nice this stay was. I was there very briefly (checked in after midnight & left at dawn), but I thought it was a real nice spot.

Saginaw is a annual stop for me - I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, Comfrot Inn Fairfield Inn and Motel 8. This is now my favorite and I willl be back!

The highway (675?) is very close and convenient, but not heard.

My reservation & check-in went smoothly. My room was on the second floor. I didn't find the elevator, but I was traveling light anyway.

The room was clean and very nicely appointed. TV was good (watched a couple minutes.

I did not get to see much else, like a pool etc. I left before the breakfast strarted.

The prking lot wraps around the building - so be sure to ask where to park and what entry door to use.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Try for 1st floor, elevator was hard to find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTRedSox2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CISSaginaw, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saginaw, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
CTRedSox2004,

So glad to hear that we here at the Country Inn and Suites Saginaw, MI are your top pick when visiting the Saginaw Area. Hopefully they will be finishing up with I-675 sometime in the near future. I would like to let you know that we have now installed an elevator for our patrons booked on the seconed floor. Please next time you stay with us stick around for our complimentary " Be Our Guest" Breakfast. You will not be dissapointed.

Craig - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saginaw hotels
5.4 km away
Ramada Saginaw Hotel & Suites
0.7 km away
Comfort Suites Saginaw
Comfort Suites Saginaw
#9 of 23 in Saginaw
107 reviews
0.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Saginaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Saginaw
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saginaw
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saginaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saginaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saginaw

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saginaw
Address: 2222 Tittabawassee Rd, Saginaw, MI 48604-9427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Saginaw
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Saginaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saginaw 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites Saginaw Hotel Offers Superb Comfort. Welcome to the newly remodeled Country Inn & Suites hotel in Saginaw, MI. We are proud to offer all the amenities and services necessary to provide business and leisure travelers with an exceptional stay experience. Free Wi-Fi access is available throughout the property, and we also offer a Business Center, Fitness Center, heated pool, lending library, dry cleaning/laundry services and express check-out. Start your morning off right with our award-winning, complimentary “Be Our Guest" breakfast, and eliminate the hassle of rental cars with our Saginaw hotel's free airport shuttle and local-area shuttle service. Book online today and see what makes Country Inn & Suites stand apart from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saginaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing