We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“strange to say the least!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn-Saginaw South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Americas Best Value Inn-Saginaw South
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Saginaw
Brooklyn Center, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“strange to say the least!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

I booked this place on line,not knowing any thing about it! it is an abandoned old creepy dark scary dirty hotel.most of the tenants are homeless.do not leave your room unattended. we gained access to our room using an old best buy card.from the photos on line the place looks reasonable.ha,ha way to good to be true.breakfast,was horrible,old donuts,juice&coffee watery.pool & game area ,yuck!!!!stench in rooms of old carpet mildew is unbearable.hair all over the sheets,pillow cases not washed. it is located close to the run down part of town.be afraid.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdanej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    4
    9
    10
    33
See reviews for
25
10
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lambertville, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Opted for a one night stay to cut our trip to the upper peninsula of mi in half. The price was very reasonable at this hotel, but once we got there, we were reluctant to stay. We ended up staying as it was a holiday weekend and we were afraid of not finding another open room.
The bathroom was not clean. Yuk. Location was questionable and hotel staff suggested parking near the door under the lights in the parking lot. Will never return. The hotel staff seemed nice, we did not eat breakfast there although it was included.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2heartlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saginaw hotels

Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We ended up here because everything else was full or more money than we wanted to spend for the 4 hours we had. The young man at the front desk was very nice and got us our room quickly. Then we got on the elevator. Weren't sure it was going to make it all the way to the 4th floor! The doors opened, we stepped out into the hallway...which was about 90 degrees! We hoped the room would be a welcome air conditioned blast, but alas, it was as hot as the hall. The air was not on. It took 4 hours for the room to cool down - which was when we were leaving, as I mentioned before. Beds were spongy, pillows were lumpy and basically non-supporting. Bathtub/shower was worn but ok. Only needed to turn on the hot water for the shower - it wasn't very hot. Toilet worked fine. Didn't use the pool and left long before breakfast started. Bottom line - there are a lot better places out there for a few more dollars a night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zedramaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We booked a standard two bed room. When we arrived the hotel seems to look nice but when walking in the front doors to check in it smelled like cigarettes even though it was non smoking. I believe this was because the Bar attached with it. The rooms dont smell at all like cigarettes just the front desk room. The staff is very friendly! When we checked in they upgraded us to poolside room for free just because there was a few available! The room was very clean. I immediatly checked the bed for any kind of pest and the beds are extremely clean. The only complaint is the pillows are kinda lumpy. But that is no biggy. Also the pool area is very nice. The have adult only swim times at night and in the morning which is awesome!!! And last but not least the breakfast was very good. Good variety including waffles for being contenential. :) I would reccomend it to anyone who is looking for an acceptional cheap place to stay!

Room Tip: Get Poolside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amberjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

First, let me say that the staff is very friendly and helpful. Sure, my keys stopped working, and the front desk lady was handing me new keys without asking me who I was (just wanting a room number), but they were friendly.

The non-smoking hotel smells of cigarette smoke (I assume from years of smoking pre-ban) and mold. The walls and carpet are dingy and dirty. In the room, the tv worked, but had clearly been dropped once or twice, the lid to the toilet tank was broken, the fixtures were coming out of the walls, the air conditioning unit was missing its knobs and the tub was mildewy. The pillows... were bad.

Did I mention that my keys stopped working the second day? There is a continental breakfast in the surprisingly clean lounge room which looked okay, but considering the overall dingyness of the hotel, I chose to pass.

The pool area was worn, but clean. Most of the arcade machines worked. Lot's of vending machines that were out of order.

Also, though I'd joined their "value club" and made my reservation in advance at a confirmed rate, they still charged my card at an extra $10 a night.

Considering the other reviews, it was a very disappointing experience. I won't be coming back. Friendly but very dirty.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank News_Guy_Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a nearly two weeks while working at Fountainview Mall in Saginaw, the location is conveient directly off 75 close to Birch Run, management and staff were excellent with recommendations etc, the sauna, spa, pool, basketball court, game room, etc, were great to have for the long stay, wireless inside hotel. I would recommend to business and families, a nice canadadian couple with children stayed here instead of frankenmuth because it is affordable and took the kids to the waterpark the following day, plenty to do inside hotel.

Room Tip: social - ask for a pool side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chachbag22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed first in this hotel when it was a Best Western; loved it..swesome indoor pool and whirlpool, rooms overlooking spacious pool and entertainment area; this last time we had a poolside room..really neat as I love to swim and my spouse does not (so much) No weather worries..can swim any time. As it was just after 4th of July holiday and extremely ht and humid, I assume the place had been packed. Indeed the hallways were hot and the carpets curled up; you could smell the humidity. However the room was awesome; not so fine in terms of decor, but all we needed; high speed internet (we don't use) king size bed; lovely a/c. A short walk to Subway for quick bite, in driving distance to Birch Run, etc. Needs a spruce up inside and out but we hope it never closes!!! Oh I forgot the free brekkie..Belgian waffles too!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mapjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIsaginaw, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Saginaw South, responded to this review, 4 February 2011
Thank you for your positive comments, we are happy you were pleased with your stay. We look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saginaw hotels
8.0 km away
Ramada Saginaw Hotel & Suites
9.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saginaw
9.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saginaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Fairfield Inn Saginaw
Fairfield Inn Saginaw
#4 of 23 in Saginaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
9.7 km away
Comfort Suites Saginaw
Comfort Suites Saginaw
#8 of 23 in Saginaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
9.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saginaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Saginaw South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Saginaw South

Property: Americas Best Value Inn-Saginaw South
Address: 1408 S Outer Dr, Saginaw, MI 48601-6633
Region: United States > Michigan > Saginaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Saginaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Saginaw South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Saginaw South Hotel Saginaw
Best Western Saginaw
Saginaw Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing