We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Other Reviews are Very Wide Ranging” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Toronto
Level Contributor
215 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
“Other Reviews are Very Wide Ranging”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Never before have I had such a hard time determining a hotel to stay at based on Tripadvisor reviews. This property is rated as a "fabulous destination" to a dump. My feeling is that it is somewhere in betweeen.

This is a decent property. The place is fairly clean, indoor pool decent size, our room was spacious, and did have a balcony facing the lake. The grassy area at the back of the hotel could use some clean up, and the beach is not suitable for swimming, but the lake does offer a nice view. With the amount of wildlife off the lake (sea gulls) I can't really see this becoming a nice place to spend the day.

Breakfast was decent, but stay away from the powdered scrambelled eggs; discusting.

So, if you come here expecting a beach front resort, you will be dissapointed; if you expect a decent place, with a nice lake view, you will probably end up satisfied. As a side note, the back of the hotel faces east, so don't expect to see a romantic sunset as another poster mentioned!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ToSquareBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    78
    69
    36
    22
See reviews for
97
99
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
plymouth, mi
Level Contributor
121 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

This hotel is our standard stop between the Metro Detroit area and Marquette. It's a little over halfway, close to Jose's Cantina (dinner) and Java Joes (breakfast), and a great spot to watch the moon rise over Mackinac Island and listen to the Straits of Mackinac lapping up on the shore. The lake view rooms offer great views of the island and water and really can't be beat in the area.

We've stayed here several times - more than I can count - and haven't really experienced some of the problems I saw documented below. Our rooms have always been clean and spacious, the staff has always been friendly, and we haven't had any real issues. I never felt that the hotel was outdated. The beds aren't the most comfortable, but that's not uncommon with the HIExpress chain.

The breakfast bar is certainly above average - great selection! And it's free.... but you are really missing out if you choose some HIExpress breakfastbar over Java Joes - a great restaurant right next to the hotel. Grab your coffee and a banana to get you going, but head over to Joe's for an omelette or French Toast!

The one thing I don't like about this hotel is more an indication of the area then the hotel itself. It's the constant influx of tourists and families on their way on or off the island, or passing from the UP to the LP or vise-versa. There's a lot of kids, the pool area is often a bit loud and crowded with kids, and there's kids competing for space and cutting in at the breakfast bar. Hey, it's a tourist town, you gotta deal with these things, but for someone looking for a quiet, relaxing soak in the hot tub after a long drive you might want to be prepared for it.

So - I would recommend this hotel on location alone, but it has more to offer than most other places in the area.

Room Tip: Lake View Room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adavici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

The outside of this hotel looks so luxurious you think the inside would match-but nope. Don't think it's been updated since the early 90's. This location is amazing and the owners need to step it up. Also the back of the property could be amazing with some work. There was so much animal poop on the back lawn you couldn't even walk on it. Would not stay here again unless they did some major remodeling.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacieeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Ignace hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

This hotel is nice and seems updated within the past couple of years. It was clean and quiet. The views out back are wonderful the beach is man made. The staff was helpful when asking about area restaurants, etc. 2 things: do yourself a favor and skip the free breakfast and eat at Java Joes located in front of the hotel, stay here for less than Mackinaw City and avoid that madness. St. Ignace is quiet and less expensive. If you are there to see Mackinaw Island do it while saving money. The fudge and t-shirt shops are just across the bridge if you must.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kry465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

I had read the previous reviews and was really worried about staying here. Fortunately the room was just fine. It is a bit confusing as the outside looks really new & modern but once inside it is very dated & worn. The room was spacious but there was some peeling wall paper and missing chair rail...I am thinking that they are going to update. The room was clean, quiet & beds were comfy. For the price and size it was a good value for our family of 6. The breakfast had nice variety and staff were nearby ready to replenish. I would stay there again,,,but not really sure what there is to do in St. Ignace other than catch the ferry to Mackinac Island. We did not venture to the beach as it dd not look appealing. As a side note there is a restaurant down the street, name escapes me, that advertises breakfast until 3 they have a nice patio to sit on and a variety to please everyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scootgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Very comforable beds, great common spaces, with good breakfast. Elevator. We had a room that walked out to "beach" area. While not good for swimming, was beautiful for watching sunset and birds. (yes lots of bird droppings around).

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Speedycat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We are currently at this hotel with 9 people. None of us has a bad room. The people working here could not be nicer they have helped us with several problems, given us excellent advice for resturants and where to go and just are nice in general.
I think either the reviews on here are from very anal people ("I asked to be picked up at 3:30, and they did not show up until 3:32!!"- give me a break).
As for the outside by the lake, it is not a park it is the shoreline of a great lake, there are geese and seagulls and they poop that is how it is in nature. If you wanted to swim it is only mucky for one foot from the shore then it is clear and clean.
I would stay here again anytime, the rooms are nice, the people are incredibly friendly and the views are fantastic of the lake and the island.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guminik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
1.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
0.5 km away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#12 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
3.0 km away
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.8 km away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace

Property: Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace
Address: 965 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Saint Ignace
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier lodging destination in Beautiful St. Ignace, Michigan! 85 beautifully refreshed rooms, right on the shores of Lake Huron. Awesome views of Mackinac Island! Be Sure to ask for a Lakefront Balcony room! Enjoy our famous Express Start Breakfast made fresh for you each morning! Free WiFi throughout the building. Be sure to ask about our IHG Rewards Club, the World's #1 Guest Loyalty program! Earn points for Free nights and merchandise. Ask one of our guest service Representatives Today! Sign up is Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace Hotel Saint Ignace
Holiday Inn St Ignace
Holiday Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing