We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“gambling weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“gambling weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Went north to have a getaway gambling weekend in the U.P. Stayed here be cause of the rates, breakfest and cental location . Wasn't disappointed with the stay and service.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zrturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    77
    69
    36
    22
See reviews for
96
99
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
186 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We have stayed here three or four times and always get a balcony beachfront room, so we have a beautiful view of Mackinaw Island and the Straits. Fantastic sunrises! The rooms have all be clean and comfortable. The hotel gets quite crowded in the summer so the breakfast bar can be a challenge. The beach is not a swimming beach, there are chairs and tables to sit at but it is not really for swimming. The last two years we have seen a pair of swans with their cygnets. Lots of restaurants a short drive away. Staff always very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maurbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

We booked this hotel for a two night stay so that we could check out Mackinac Island. From the moment we walked in, there was a particular "smell". Can't describe it, but based on that alone, we should have known better. Dated decor and looked better from the outside. We had a lakefront room, but when we went out onto the balcony, we were attacked by a beehive. Many bugs and flies in the screens and stains on carpet. Beach area was very unkept. We ordered a rollaway bed and it was so bad that when you laid down in it, it basically was a hammock! My husband slept with all of his clothes on and woke up in the middle of the night to feel something on his neck. He slapped at it and set it on the table next to him to look at it better in the morning and it was a spider! A couple hairs were found in the shower and we determined right after check-in that we would only stay for one night. Go through the trouble and try to stay on the island, even for one night, as long as you are there. We wish now that we did. Oh, and I went down the elevator with my 11 year old and then a man in jeans and no shirt. Not cool. Eew!

Room Tip: Stay on the island!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmom1419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Ignace hotels

United States
Level Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Arrived at hotel; outside looks nice and updated. Inside is in need of some updating (ala 1990's). Checking in staff was nice.

Room was adequate, although found a used bandaid near bed on floor. There was also a musty/mildewy smell in room upon entering. Think it is the shower curtain. Opened patio door to air out the room.

Patio opens up to a grassy area that overlooks the lake. The main thing about the grassy area is the VAST amounts on BIRD DROPPINGS, and also the number of birds flying around or perched on the grass. I felt like I was in the Alfred Hitchcock movie "The Birds". (see pictures)

Breakfast was adequate, but there were too few tables to accomodate the crowds. Luckily I found a seat at the "raised bar" area that faced the check-in desk.

For one night it wasn't awful, but probably wouldn't stay here again (usually stay at the HIE in Mackinaw City but it was sold out).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1966_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
195 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Never before have I had such a hard time determining a hotel to stay at based on Tripadvisor reviews. This property is rated as a "fabulous destination" to a dump. My feeling is that it is somewhere in betweeen.

This is a decent property. The place is fairly clean, indoor pool decent size, our room was spacious, and did have a balcony facing the lake. The grassy area at the back of the hotel could use some clean up, and the beach is not suitable for swimming, but the lake does offer a nice view. With the amount of wildlife off the lake (sea gulls) I can't really see this becoming a nice place to spend the day.

Breakfast was decent, but stay away from the powdered scrambelled eggs; discusting.

So, if you come here expecting a beach front resort, you will be dissapointed; if you expect a decent place, with a nice lake view, you will probably end up satisfied. As a side note, the back of the hotel faces east, so don't expect to see a romantic sunset as another poster mentioned!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ToSquareBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth, mi
Level Contributor
120 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

This hotel is our standard stop between the Metro Detroit area and Marquette. It's a little over halfway, close to Jose's Cantina (dinner) and Java Joes (breakfast), and a great spot to watch the moon rise over Mackinac Island and listen to the Straits of Mackinac lapping up on the shore. The lake view rooms offer great views of the island and water and really can't be beat in the area.

We've stayed here several times - more than I can count - and haven't really experienced some of the problems I saw documented below. Our rooms have always been clean and spacious, the staff has always been friendly, and we haven't had any real issues. I never felt that the hotel was outdated. The beds aren't the most comfortable, but that's not uncommon with the HIExpress chain.

The breakfast bar is certainly above average - great selection! And it's free.... but you are really missing out if you choose some HIExpress breakfastbar over Java Joes - a great restaurant right next to the hotel. Grab your coffee and a banana to get you going, but head over to Joe's for an omelette or French Toast!

The one thing I don't like about this hotel is more an indication of the area then the hotel itself. It's the constant influx of tourists and families on their way on or off the island, or passing from the UP to the LP or vise-versa. There's a lot of kids, the pool area is often a bit loud and crowded with kids, and there's kids competing for space and cutting in at the breakfast bar. Hey, it's a tourist town, you gotta deal with these things, but for someone looking for a quiet, relaxing soak in the hot tub after a long drive you might want to be prepared for it.

So - I would recommend this hotel on location alone, but it has more to offer than most other places in the area.

Room Tip: Lake View Room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adavici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

The outside of this hotel looks so luxurious you think the inside would match-but nope. Don't think it's been updated since the early 90's. This location is amazing and the owners need to step it up. Also the back of the property could be amazing with some work. There was so much animal poop on the back lawn you couldn't even walk on it. Would not stay here again unless they did some major remodeling.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacieeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.8 km away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.5 km away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 km away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#12 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace

Property: Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace
Address: 965 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Saint Ignace
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier lodging destination in Beautiful St. Ignace, Michigan! 85 beautifully refreshed rooms, right on the shores of Lake Huron. Awesome views of Mackinac Island! Be Sure to ask for a Lakefront Balcony room! Enjoy our famous Express Start Breakfast made fresh for you each morning! Free WiFi throughout the building. Be sure to ask about our IHG Rewards Club, the World's #1 Guest Loyalty program! Earn points for Free nights and merchandise. Ask one of our guest service Representatives Today! Sign up is Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace Hotel Saint Ignace
Holiday Inn St Ignace
Holiday Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing