We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for business travelers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Not for business travelers!”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This hotel was definitely sub-standard for the regular business traveler. I'm sure this property gets by with plenty of tourists but it is not up to par with most Holiday Inn Express locations. I was placed in a room that had the sliding door wide open and bathroom unclean and was further disappointed when the guests next to my room started smoking cigarettes (I was on a non smoking floor) until the late hours of the night. I knew this because I could hear clearly though the thin walls and their smoke that crept steadily into my room through an ajoining, locked door. Decor and rooms were outdated and the towels felt like brillow pads. Not recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    85
    70
    36
    24
See reviews for
106
104
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

During our weekend getaway, a housekeeper for the hotel stole multiple items from our young children instead of cleaning our room. We were very upset about what happened and addressed the matter with hotel. Rather than being treated like victims we were labeled unrulely guests. In our opinion the General Manager of the hotel did not have the proper training or skills to deal with the incident. Based upon our experience I would highly advise anyone not to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Ignace hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
illinois
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

This hotel was clean and located right on the beach in St. Ignace. The breakfast was good, staff was very friendly and the lakeview room was nice. This was a girlfriend trip and we all needed to check in for our flights and print boarding passes and were shocked to discover that the hotel did NOT provide this service. We had to find a hotel in the area that would allow us to do this (Best Western Harbor Pointe). As long as you don't need to use a hotel computer and printer, your stay should be satisfactory..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BitsyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Stayed here befor the big bridge walk. Lobby and breakfast area clean as was our room. However the hallway smelled and the public restroom was a mess.
The room was dated and just average. The free breakfast was just average at best. The staff kept area clean and food filled even at the busy times of the morning.
Not sure i would use the beach area, to many bird droppings.
Sorry not more postive, just a so-so stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cekstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Went north to have a getaway gambling weekend in the U.P. Stayed here be cause of the rates, breakfest and cental location . Wasn't disappointed with the stay and service.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zrturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We have stayed here three or four times and always get a balcony beachfront room, so we have a beautiful view of Mackinaw Island and the Straits. Fantastic sunrises! The rooms have all be clean and comfortable. The hotel gets quite crowded in the summer so the breakfast bar can be a challenge. The beach is not a swimming beach, there are chairs and tables to sit at but it is not really for swimming. The last two years we have seen a pair of swans with their cygnets. Lots of restaurants a short drive away. Staff always very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maurbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We booked this hotel for a two night stay so that we could check out Mackinac Island. From the moment we walked in, there was a particular "smell". Can't describe it, but based on that alone, we should have known better. Dated decor and looked better from the outside. We had a lakefront room, but when we went out onto the balcony, we were attacked by a beehive. Many bugs and flies in the screens and stains on carpet. Beach area was very unkept. We ordered a rollaway bed and it was so bad that when you laid down in it, it basically was a hammock! My husband slept with all of his clothes on and woke up in the middle of the night to feel something on his neck. He slapped at it and set it on the table next to him to look at it better in the morning and it was a spider! A couple hairs were found in the shower and we determined right after check-in that we would only stay for one night. Go through the trouble and try to stay on the island, even for one night, as long as you are there. We wish now that we did. Oh, and I went down the elevator with my 11 year old and then a man in jeans and no shirt. Not cool. Eew!

Room Tip: Stay on the island!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmom1419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.5 km away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.2 km away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#20 of 29 in Saint Ignace
195 reviews
0.1 km away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#12 of 29 in Saint Ignace
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
0.5 km away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
377 reviews
0.8 km away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace

Property: Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace
Address: 965 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
#4 Casino Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier lodging destination in Beautiful St. Ignace, Michigan! 85 beautifully refreshed rooms, right on the shores of Lake Huron. Awesome views of Mackinac Island! Be Sure to ask for a Lakefront Balcony room! Enjoy our famous Express Start Breakfast made fresh for you each morning! Free WiFi throughout the building. Be sure to ask about our IHG Rewards Club, the World's #1 Guest Loyalty program! Earn points for Free nights and merchandise. Ask one of our guest service Representatives Today! Sign up is Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace Hotel Saint Ignace
Holiday Inn St Ignace
Holiday Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing