We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very romantic setting!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Cliff Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Joseph
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South Cliff Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
Crawfordsville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very romantic setting!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I took my wife to the South Cliff Inn for our 10 year anniversary. The room we stayed in, The Study, had a beautiful porch which overlooked Lake Michigan. There's an even more scenic look-out behind the B&B which, at night, is gorgeous! We sat there, under the stars, listening to the waves crash against the shoreline. For breakfast Bill, the ownder, cooked up a variety of delcious dishes. If you go, you MUST try to aprocot bread pudding. All and all we were highly impressed and do plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bking20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
68
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

This is the perfect place to escape to for a weekend away. We stayed with a few other couples while celebrating a friend's birthday. The hosts were magnificent! Their breakfast spread was to die for......pastries, egg casseroles, fresh fruit, coffee, orange juice. Absolutely delicious! Rooms all had private bathrooms and included extra touches such as chocolates. =) The views are spectacular.....Lake Michigan is gorgeous, even in the winter. On Saturday the girls and I escaped for a short drive to the nearby outlet mall in Michigan City, IN. Looking forward to returning in the summer!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hillkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

My husband and I stayed at the South Cliff Inn while in town for a wedding. The inn is beautifully situated overlooking Lake Michigan, with decks and a small but lovely garden in the back of the inn. Our room had a balcony, so we had a wonderful view of the lake. The room was clean and comfortable with a nice bathroom. Overall, the inn was very nice, but could use a bit of sprucing up and new carpeting. The staff we met (Bill and Jodie) were very gracious and provided an ample breakfast of coffee, juice, fruit, and freshly baked items. Breakfast is self serve in a pleasant room overlooking the lake and can also be enjoyed out on the deck. There is free parking at the inn and the location is ideal for visiting St Joseph. The South Cliff Inn is probably your best bet for accommodations in St Joseph...a good value and lovely setting.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sweezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

Truth be told: We chose the South Cliff Inn for the price and the location. We rarely get away alone together, so this trip was very important to us.
This B&B deliciously exceeded our expectations. We were greeted warmly and given the beautiful Harbour Room on the ground floor. There is a jacuzzi and and a wonderful view of Lake Michigan. The entire Inn is well-appointed with carefully chosen antique furniture. Each piece seems to perfectly fit the little nooks and crannies of this lovingly restored house. Everything is spotlessly clean and tidy.

Bill, the owner, is very pleasant and never intrusive. He made fabulous dinner recommendations and took care to accomodate our vegetarian diet. And the BREAKFAST! Wow! I am sure the Ritz cried bitter tears when he left their kitchens. The wine and cheese evenings were a wonderful chance to chat with other guests and take in the sunset.

I loved the garden with it's clever plantings and winding path. It's obvious that Bill takes great pride in his establishment and is constantly working to update and renovate. If you don't like floral, go to a modern hotel without the charm and character of the South Cliff Inn. We live in New Zealand where hospitality is both tradition and art form. On both of these counts, the South Cliff Inn passes with flying colours!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mumsthwrd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

I've always wanted to try a Bed and Breakfast, and now I fear I'm spoiled - this surely has to be one of the best ones out there. The room was spotless, and had an incredible view of Lake Michigan. The breakfasts were amazing, and the staff very friendly and helpful while not being intrusive at all. Already making mental plans for the next visit....

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottkruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

Great people, great rooms, greater food, great view, absolutely amazing stay!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidtarnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudsonville, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

What a treat staying at this B&B! As soon as you walk around to the back, you are hit instantly with a stunning, full-horizon view of Lake Michigan. I will never forget watching the sun set over the lake. Absolutely breathtaking.

The accomodations are beautiful; the rooms are comfy; and the food is top-notch. By far my favorite B&B that we have visited.

The owners are unbelievably nice and so easy to talk to. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonreibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
2.6 km away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
1.5 km away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
1.3 km away
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
7.5 km away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Cliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Cliff Inn

Property: South Cliff Inn
Address: 1900 Lakeshore Drive, Saint Joseph, MI 49085
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
South Cliff Hotel Saint Joseph

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing