We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First B&B Experience, and it was Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Cliff Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Joseph
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South Cliff Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First B&B Experience, and it was Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

I've always wanted to try a Bed and Breakfast, and now I fear I'm spoiled - this surely has to be one of the best ones out there. The room was spotless, and had an incredible view of Lake Michigan. The breakfasts were amazing, and the staff very friendly and helpful while not being intrusive at all. Already making mental plans for the next visit....

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottkruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
68
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

Great people, great rooms, greater food, great view, absolutely amazing stay!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidtarnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudsonville, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

What a treat staying at this B&B! As soon as you walk around to the back, you are hit instantly with a stunning, full-horizon view of Lake Michigan. I will never forget watching the sun set over the lake. Absolutely breathtaking.

The accomodations are beautiful; the rooms are comfy; and the food is top-notch. By far my favorite B&B that we have visited.

The owners are unbelievably nice and so easy to talk to. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonreibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

The inn owners are spectacular guys -- the food is second to none and the views of Lake Michigan from high above the water are phenomenal. Doesn't get better than a nice summertime sunset over the big lake from the Inn's deck!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natehoekstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

My wife and I went down to St. Joseph to stay at South Cliff Inn for our anniversary. When we got there we were greeted with the most warm welcome I have ever had. The stay was AMAZING! We had a room in the lower area of the home, which included our own private entrance and a giant jacuzzi tub. The views of Lake Michigan from the bluffs on the back lawn presented the most beautiful sunset I think I have ever seen.

Thank you so much South Cliff Inn!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewolting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, NH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

I travel through the Saint Joseph area on business from time to time. I found this bed and breakfast and I just keep coming back. The Inn keeper is extremely pleasant and the breakfast he cooks is out of this world. The views of Lake Michigan are beautiful and the price is comparable to many of the local hotels. I'm a happy customer and will continue to come back. I would reccommend South Cliff Inn to anyone staying in the ST. Joseph area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billyates1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Their website does not do them justice. What a view of the lake! Breakfast was outstanding, and the owners and staff are very personable and professional. This was my first B&B style stay and I am hooked. Did not feel like "staying at someone's house" as I've heard other people complain about B&B's. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMIphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
2.6 km away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.5 km away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
1.3 km away
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
6.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Benton Harbor-St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Cliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Cliff Inn

Property: South Cliff Inn
Address: 1900 Lakeshore Drive, Saint Joseph, MI 49085
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
South Cliff Hotel Saint Joseph

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing