We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silver Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Econo Lodge(Saint Joseph)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph(Saint Joseph)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$110
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Harbor Shores(Saint Joseph)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$165
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boulevard Inn(Saint Joseph)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$143
Boulevard Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Benton Harbor - St. Joseph(Benton Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$85
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveller rating
46
97
113
108
165
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
97
113
108
165
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 529 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband and I took my 86 year old father with us for an event in St Joe and so reserved a king suite at the hotel so he could swim and enjoy the hot tub. They told me the pool was accessable for handicapped elderly but it was not. There were verticle ladders into the pool and no other mode of entry. The door to the pool was too narrow for a wheelchair to fit through, and the hot tub was small and not easy to access either. It was a fiasco! On our arrival to the room we found that the toilet didn't flushand the heater in the living area was broken. We thought they had fixed the heater, but found out after we went to bed that it was not fixed.It was loud and cycled on and off all night and it was very cold in the room. The bed in the living area was so old ( I bet it was 15 years ol) and junky that I had to give my father pain medication to get through the night on it. He was up and down all night long and we got no sleep. In addition, there were trains going by and people yelling in the parking lot at night.
In the morning, we left my father in the room and went out the living room door of the suite only to find out that the key doesn't work in that door. Since the deadbolt was on the bedroom door we had no way back inot our room. My father was locked in the room and with his handicaps was not able to open the door The maintenence man had to awaken the people inthe next room and climb on their blacony and jump to ours to get us back in.
Every time we complained they made no comment. There were no apologies, no attempt for improvement for the future and no monetary adjustments to our bill. I do not recommend this hotel! It is in serious need of upgrades and not the palce for persons with disabilities..

Room Tip: Don't expect anyone to sleep on the bed in the living room no matter what the age.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotelSaintJoseph, Manager at Silver Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

We're so sorry if we gave the impression that our swimming pool was handicapped accessible. We're a 43 year old building and we're struggling to make our facility more handicapped friendly. We did apologize profusely, and we take great pride in our jobs, and in our hotel, and we look forward to being even more accessible than we are at the moment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice now. The rooms are large and super clean, updated beds although carpet and furniture can show wear. It is an old building but comfortable and inviting. The chirp of a caged bird announces your arrival. The entry foyer is modern and spacious. The pool is huge even though this hotel is close to the beach. There is a larger than usual workout room as well. Breakfast is adequate with hot offering of eggs and sausage and waffle maker along with the usual cold cereals. What stands out and puts this hotel a notch above in my estimation is the kindness, consideration, and friendliness of all staff. Tip: Hotel automatically charges a room safe fee. Ask to have it deducted from your bill on the way out if you didn't use it

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BethRose640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stay there over the weekend and we had the time of our life we were planning on leaving to go out for some dinner and dancing when we got to the lobby we saw the hotel bar was booming so we went in for a drink and as busy as the bar manager (amy) was she had no problem making us feel right at home they even had a mechanical bull (that i attempted to ride) had an excellent steak sandwich and a great time thanks to ashlee and amy and we can't leave out james at the front desk thanks again guys can't wait to see y'all this summer!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravelers20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We recently had the joy of having our wedding in St. Joseph and we could not be happier! With St. Joseph being centrally located between our families in MI and IL it provided a beautiful setting. We reserved our entire guest list at Silver Beach Hotel. The rooms were updated and very comfortable. They offered a wonderful atmosphere and it was perfectly located near our reception site – The Shadowland Ballroom. From our names in lights on the hotel sign out front, the bar inquiring drink preferences to be sure to have them in stock, to the staff going above and beyond our expectations. We even were able to book a Limo through Silver Beach Hotel last minute, which ended up being one of our favorite pictures. We would definitely recommend the Silver Beach Hotel for your stay in beautiful St. Joseph, MI.
Dave & Wendy

Room Tip: You can't go wrong, balcony off each room. Lake view is nicer.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

we really enjoyed our stay went for 2 days for our 8th ann. the hotel was great nice fireplace and two birds greet you in the lobby the room was nice the place was clean and the staff was friendly speical thanks to rebecca at the front desk and amy in the bar they made us feel welcome. we will go back as often as we can it was that nice .thanks again vikki and ed

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikkihGaryIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews