We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hospitable”
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very hospitable”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This is not only a beautiful but very clean hotel. Although the outside looks shabby and outdated the inner decor was quite elegant. But we were really impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Here's just one example: We had to be on a fishing charter at 6:30 am. The clerk opened breakfast for us fifteen minutes early. The rates were very reasonable. The town and lakefront are lovely. We will definitely go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    91
    104
    89
    153
See reviews for
166
154
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband and I took my 86 year old father with us for an event in St Joe and so reserved a king suite at the hotel so he could swim and enjoy the hot tub. They told me the pool was accessable for handicapped elderly but it was not. There were verticle ladders into the pool and no other mode of entry. The door to the pool was too narrow for a wheelchair to fit through, and the hot tub was small and not easy to access either. It was a fiasco! On our arrival to the room we found that the toilet didn't flushand the heater in the living area was broken. We thought they had fixed the heater, but found out after we went to bed that it was not fixed.It was loud and cycled on and off all night and it was very cold in the room. The bed in the living area was so old ( I bet it was 15 years ol) and junky that I had to give my father pain medication to get through the night on it. He was up and down all night long and we got no sleep. In addition, there were trains going by and people yelling in the parking lot at night.
In the morning, we left my father in the room and went out the living room door of the suite only to find out that the key doesn't work in that door. Since the deadbolt was on the bedroom door we had no way back inot our room. My father was locked in the room and with his handicaps was not able to open the door The maintenence man had to awaken the people inthe next room and climb on their blacony and jump to ours to get us back in.
Every time we complained they made no comment. There were no apologies, no attempt for improvement for the future and no monetary adjustments to our bill. I do not recommend this hotel! It is in serious need of upgrades and not the palce for persons with disabilities..

Room Tip: Don't expect anyone to sleep on the bed in the living room no matter what the age.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotelSaintJoseph, Manager at Silver Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
We're so sorry if we gave the impression that our swimming pool was handicapped accessible. We're a 43 year old building and we're struggling to make our facility more handicapped friendly. We did apologize profusely, and we take great pride in our jobs, and in our hotel, and we look forward to being even more accessible than we are at the moment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice now. The rooms are large and super clean, updated beds although carpet and furniture can show wear. It is an old building but comfortable and inviting. The chirp of a caged bird announces your arrival. The entry foyer is modern and spacious. The pool is huge even though this hotel is close to the beach. There is a larger than usual workout room as well. Breakfast is adequate with hot offering of eggs and sausage and waffle maker along with the usual cold cereals. What stands out and puts this hotel a notch above in my estimation is the kindness, consideration, and friendliness of all staff. Tip: Hotel automatically charges a room safe fee. Ask to have it deducted from your bill on the way out if you didn't use it

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BethRose640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stay there over the weekend and we had the time of our life we were planning on leaving to go out for some dinner and dancing when we got to the lobby we saw the hotel bar was booming so we went in for a drink and as busy as the bar manager (amy) was she had no problem making us feel right at home they even had a mechanical bull (that i attempted to ride) had an excellent steak sandwich and a great time thanks to ashlee and amy and we can't leave out james at the front desk thanks again guys can't wait to see y'all this summer!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelers20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We recently had the joy of having our wedding in St. Joseph and we could not be happier! With St. Joseph being centrally located between our families in MI and IL it provided a beautiful setting. We reserved our entire guest list at Silver Beach Hotel. The rooms were updated and very comfortable. They offered a wonderful atmosphere and it was perfectly located near our reception site – The Shadowland Ballroom. From our names in lights on the hotel sign out front, the bar inquiring drink preferences to be sure to have them in stock, to the staff going above and beyond our expectations. We even were able to book a Limo through Silver Beach Hotel last minute, which ended up being one of our favorite pictures. We would definitely recommend the Silver Beach Hotel for your stay in beautiful St. Joseph, MI.
Dave & Wendy

Room Tip: You can't go wrong, balcony off each room. Lake view is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gary in
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2012

we really enjoyed our stay went for 2 days for our 8th ann. the hotel was great nice fireplace and two birds greet you in the lobby the room was nice the place was clean and the staff was friendly speical thanks to rebecca at the front desk and amy in the bar they made us feel welcome. we will go back as often as we can it was that nice .thanks again vikki and ed

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikkihGaryIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

recently had to stay a night due to horrible experience at the holiday inn express. Horrible room, old dingy dirty hotel. At night there were homeless people trying to have drunken sex in front of the building. Gross. Came from the "bar" in the lobby. Scary and gross. Pool was even nastier. Never going to St. Joseph Mi again. yuk.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nana503415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotelSaintJoseph, Manager at Silver Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay in Saint Joseph for Ice Carving Festival Weekend! We made sure everything was ready for you to check in before 10 AM, so you were able to stay all day with us. We didn't receive any complaints from guests during that day and night, so we wish we would have heard from you to fix any problems. And we reviewed our security camera footage from that night without seeing any untoward behavior, so we also wish you would have brought the alleged incident to our attention because our guest safety is a top, top concern for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
0.7 km away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
0.4 km away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
6.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
5.9 km away
Springhill Suites Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Beach Hotel

Property: Silver Beach Hotel
Address: 100 Main St, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-1108
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Hotel.de so you can book your Silver Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Beach Saint Joseph
Hotel Silver Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing