We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Ranked #4 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed with Hidden Garden the weekend before Valentine's Day, and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect weekend. We stayed in the San Juan suite, which had an abundance of great features, like the fireplace, full kitchen, huge jacuzzi, and a ton of little touches. Hidden Garden is right in the center of things to do in Saugatuck, which means you can park and then just walk everywhere! The management was very helpful with suggestions for food and drink, and were able to call ahead to dinner for us! I loved waking up to the smell of fresh muffins baking on Sunday morning too! Since it was the middle of winter while we were there, we are already talking about the need to go back when the weather is nicer, and can't wait to stay with Hidden Garden again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmgodfrey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    24
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
229
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dewitt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The suites are very nice and private. There also in a great location, we walked every where that weekend. Definately coming back

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jls8389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhart, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We make a yearly trip to saugatuck and have never been disappointed by the Hidden Garden Cottages. Our favorite room is the San Juan. Each time we stay, our expectations are surpassed. The rooms are clean and the owners are accommodating. Saugatuck is our favorite place to visit. There is no shortage of shopping, restaurants and attractions. There is an appeal for visitors if all ages. But my favorite part of our stay is definitely is going back to soak in the tub at Hidden Gardens with a nice glass of wine!

Room Tip: San Juan suite is our favorite but the other suites are appealing in decor and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I stayed in the San Juan room for 2 nights as part of a weekend getaway for a special birthday. It was perfect in every way- quiet, incredibly romantic, secluded and yet in the middle of town, walking distance from lots of restaurants. Everything was beautiful, from the hot tub to the fireplace. The breakfast was delicious, and we absolutely loved the fact that we could truly have a weekend for just the two of us, while enjoying the charm of a B&B. We would return in a second- the perfect place for a special occasion or a spontaneous trip!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed in the San Juan room for three nights on the first weekend in February. Saugatuck is quiet at this time of year, which was nice. The room is great, with a kitchen, fireplace, and hottub. We took advantage of all of those, and had a fire every night. The breakfast was great, and we can see why everyone raves about the muffins in the guest book. We are definitely planning on going back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellyn,Il
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We have been to Saugatuck so many times I've lost count; it's a great weekend trip get away from the Chicago area. I can not say enough about the downtown area with all the shop, restaurants, bed & breakfasts and galleries. Hidden Gardens is in the center of downtown with everything being just a short walk. Owners Jonathan and Gary were very accommodating
and the continental breakfast every morning with fresh fruit, yogurt and fresh muffins hit the spot. We stayed in the Tusary cottage and the place was spotless with a full kitchen, jetted bathbub, fireplace and tastefully decorated. The property has beautiful gardens and we had a patio where I had my morning coffee and my wife had her tea before the start of our day. The place rates 5 stars in my eyes.

Room Tip: I do not think you can go wrong with whatever room or cottage you choose although we did like to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FiveStarTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, MI
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Our first stay in the Tuscany cottage was the first weekend in November. We loved the cottage so much that we booked it again for New Years eve weekend. I must say, if one is looking for an escape from the "rat race" this is it. Quiet, secluded, very romantic. Shopping and great food are right out the front door. Hidden Gardens has become our in-state vacation get away. We are looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Tuscany Cottage is perfect for a romantic get away. Kilimanjaro suite is cozy and also perfect for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saugatuck hotels
0.2 km away
Wickwood Inn
Wickwood Inn
#5 of 24 in Saugatuck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 km away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
4.6 km away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 11 in Saugatuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.2 km away
Maplewood Hotel
Maplewood Hotel
#11 of 24 in Saugatuck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
5.3 km away
The Saugatuck Resort Motel
The Saugatuck Resort Motel
#3 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites

Property: Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Address: 247 Butler St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9493
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for guests seeking a more private Bed & Breakfast experience, these romantic getaways feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs for two, mini-kitchens, in-room continental breakfast and off-street parking. Located in the heart of downtown Saugatuck, steps away from everything. We wouldn't think of telling you how long your visit should be so there's never a minimum stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Garden Cottages And Suites
Hidden Garden Cottages Hotel Saugatuck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing