We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
123
24
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
123
24
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tower room second floor keepers quarters continental breakfast light house my wife and i sound of the waves out of the way stayed one night last night prince edward island watch the sunset manager scott bagels get away sea glass great experience
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 150 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

Room was clean and beds were so comfortable. Great to be able to open the windows and fall asleep to the sounds and f the ocean. Great place to watch a sunset. Great access to the provincial park. The self tour of the lighthouse museum was very interesting. The climb to the top provided great views.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BigBird57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2018

We liked the situation of the accommodation i.e. it's right on the beach. The beach itself was fairly nice and expansive enough for walking. It's not as inviting as the Caribbean. We did not swim but enjoyed seeing others swimming and building sand castles. The hotel is basically a motel. We had a room on the second floor and furthest away from the lighthouse so it is the most private unit. The room is large with two queen sized beds and the unit has a nice balcony facing the ocean. The bathroom is a bit of a dark hole and needs to be updated. The place felt clean, but, tired looking. The breakfast is the area that needs the most improvements. First, the space is very small so it always felt crowded no matter when we showed up. A couple of times we went and took what we needed and had the breakfast on our balcony. Second, the selection of food was below average (considering we paid more than $200 per night). The only protein was boiled eggs which had to be warmed up in a pot with hot water. There were some cereals, bagels, breads, pastries, and some fruits, such as, apples, oranges and blueberries, but, no bananas. It would have been nice to have 2-3 kinds of cold cuts and maybe some delicious island biscuits. Within walking distance, there is a restaurant called "The Catch". This is the only restaurant around. They do not even have a grocery store. If you plan to visit this part of Prince Edward Island, a couple of nights would be more than enough. Sure, you can drive everywhere from there, but, the dining options are not great and there are not a lot to do in the immediate area.

The people at West Point Lighthouse Inn was very friendly. I like the fact that we could make tea for ourselves before bed and there were always someone at the desk. If you want internet connection, you need to stay in a room near the front desk. As our room was the furthest from the Lighthouse, the internet connection was nil. The Lighthouse museum is worth a visit especially if you are staying there, it is free and you can go anytime you want so after closing is nicer because you probably get the place all to yourselves.

Room tip: The room furthest from the lighthouse on the second floor would be the most private room, but, there is no internet connection there.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FelineOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018

We stayed in the lighthouse in the Keepers Quarters. Wonderful and memorable experience. It is super clean and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. We wanted the experience of staying in the lighthouse but they also have rooms attached with views of the ocean which are breathtaking. The location is remote, quiet, peaceful and beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gord O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2018

If visiting PEI is in your future, please put this location on your list of places to stay. It is an extremely pretty, clean inn, with all rooms facing the ocean. The second floor has balconies, and look out over the dunes to an unspoiled view of the ocean. The manager, Scott, was very accommodating (even rushing to help when my suitcase flipped open when trying to get it out of our vehicle - thanks Scott). This inn offers a continental breakfast in a very pretty breakfast room. The beach is very nice for walking, plus it adjoins the provincial park so you can literally walk for miles. I can't say enough about this place...absolutely beautiful. Leave the A/C off at night and listen to the waves as they lull you to sleep. Awake and look directly out onto the ocean. Sublime.

Room tip: Any second floor room. First floor rooms have direct beach access.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

It doesn’t get any better...
Located right on the beach, the inn is a one of a kind experience. You can visit the lighthouse and its museum and the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. We chose a room on the 2nd floor which had great view of the ocean and a balcony. There’s no restaurant nearby so we decided to eat on our balcony, watching the sunset. The bed is very comfortable and room was well-appointed and spotless. The only minor drawback is the wifi which basically doesn’t work.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Canadian_Frenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews