We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“African Paradise”
Review of Casart Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casart Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2017

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights in October whilst we were on our honeymoon in SA. This is the place I miss the most from our honeymoon. Absolutely beautiful suite, beautiful property, amazing food, and the service is beyond words. They made us feel so special since the moment we arrived there by serving us welcome drinks along with refreshing towels, with a leaf with our names written on it!!!! How special!!! The staff: Goodness, Stanford, Jaine, a lovely young man called Bart (intern), and the others were all so great. Sonya, who is the owner of the lodge is a lovely lady, and quite inspirational in terms of what she has achieved with her hard work and management skills. They have thought about every little detail, and that is what impressed me the most.

Living in the african bush, hearing lions, and other animals at night, and yet being in the most beautiful suite with everything you could possibly need, is my idea of heaven.

Safari: We did go for a morning safari and a river boat safari with ranger Christopher, who was so great. The morning safari was within the Grietjie private reserve. It was pretty good for an introductory safari. But I highly recommend the river boat safari, since it gave a completely different view from being in a car. We booked these two safaris with the lodge.

Kruger Park: This place is located close to the Phalaborwa gate entrance. However, for the best safari experience, you do have to drive to the southern part of Kruger, which is doable if you don't mind long days. We did 3 days of self driving in Kruger from here. We left right at sunrise and got back to to the lodge right after sunset. Yes, exhausting long days, but totally worth it! Highly recommend going to the Skukuza gate.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Travelbuggie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casart, Manager at Casart Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear tavelbuggie8,

Thank you so much for writing this amazing review! We are really honored to read that you are missing Casart Game Lodge. We also miss you! The most important part of our lodge is wildlife, so it is amazing for us to hear that you have experienced this during the safari’s and also during the night. We truly hope to see you again in the future! With warm Bush regards, the Casart Game Lodge team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

It was a great getaway with an amazing and welcoming staff. Thank you for giving me the break from the city that I needed. I cannot wait to go back. The food was good as well, I would recommend Casart to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pfarelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casart, Manager at Casart Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Pharelo,
Thank you so much for your lovely review and rating. You was a marvelous guest, and you are more than welcome to book again. We looking forward to meet you again on your next trip to the bush :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

There is absolutely no bad thing I could say about Casart. The staff is incredibly kind, sweet and helpful. You truly feel special when staying at the lodge.
We stayed at for 3 nights at one of the Rondavels. Everything was there, including our own private Jacuzzi on the deck which we used every day! We did 2 game drives in Grietjie with Christoffer, which was great. We also drove through Kruger for a day as the Phalaborwa Gate was only a 20 min drive from the Grietjie Gate.
There is a waterhole in front of the lodge where even a big group of elephants came to drink. Just amazing!

We were sad to leave and would love to return some day!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisanne6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casart, Manager at Casart Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Lisanne, We are really flabbergasted about your lovely review. Thank you so much. It was nice to having you as guests and hopefully we will see you again on your next trip to the Bush.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Casart Game Lodge is a great accommodation in the Bush of South Africa!

The service was perfect and EVERYBODY did their best so that it was an unforgettable stay for us. They helped us when we had some trouble with our car, they were super friendly, funny and just wonderful and the food was great as well. The Lodge itself is a very nice place to stay. You can have your privacy but also go to the main house and chill in the pool and -if you're lucky- watch some wild animals drinking on the waterhole.

I would totally recommend the Lodge to everybody :)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lottek943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casart, Manager at Casart Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Lotte,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much despite the trouble with your car. We would like to welcome you again on your next trip to South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We loved our stay at Casart Game Lodge. It is a good place to explore Kruger and a great place within Greitje. We heard lions and other animals at night and we were very happy to see a lion next to the lodge. The loge is very clean and cozy. We stayed in the luxury roundadel and therefore could enjoy our private breakfast in our roundadel. The food was always fresh, innovative and tasty. Sonia and her staff did a great job and this lodge is definitely a recommendation!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vielgern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casart, Manager at Casart Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Vielgern,
Thank you for writing this review. It is a pleasure for us to read that you had a great experience at our lodge. When you visit South Africa again, we truly hope to welcome you for the second time. Thank you for the recommendation :). With warm regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

We stayed 3 nights in this amazing lodge sorrounded by nature and animals, very near to the Kruger Phalaborwa Gate and it was like a dream: everything perfectly organized, wonderful, wide and clean room with all comforts, very nice and helpful staff (so we would like to thank Sonia, Candice, Stanford, Moses and all other people who contribute to create the familiar and lovely atmpsphere we felt during our stay).
A particular comment about the restaurant: all dishes tasted very delicious, made of local products and it was an occasion to try typical African food, magnificently cooked by the staff.
We had also an afternoon game safari with our ranger Happy, and have the occasion to look and know many things about animals living in the wild (even a hyena!!).

We do recommend this experience and hope to come back very soon!!

Ramy and Paola

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Massimo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia D, Manager at Casart Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Ramy & Paola,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure for us to make your stay at Casart game Lodge as a unforgettabble one. You are always welcome to come back and we are looking forward to welcome you again on your next trip to South Africa, kind regards Sonia, Candice, Moses, Stanford, Happy, Jane and Thabisile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Thank you Sonia & Candice for making my husband's 70th Birthday weekend extra special. We loved your attention to detail and the inviting, elegant and lovely oasis you have created in the middle of the African bush. Your food is excellent and your special touches made our all too brief weekend unforgettable. Now all we have are the photos to remind us... but we will be back :)

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 343matildag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia D, Manager at Casart Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear Mathilda,
Thank you to make an effort and write an review. Is was a big pleasure for us, to having you as a guest and we hope, if you will come back, that we can suprice you again in the good way :), Kind regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grietjie Nature Reserve
10.7 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
294 reviews
35.5 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,869 reviews
40 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.9 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
424 reviews
2.3 km away
Muweti Bush Lodge
Muweti Bush Lodge
#1 of 5 in Grietjie Nature Reserve
242 reviews
16.1 km away
Masodini Private Game Lodge
Masodini Private Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balule Nature Reserve
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casart Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casart Game Lodge

Address: Grietjie Nature Reserve, 22 | Grietjie Nature Reserve, 22, Grietjie Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Grietjie Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grietjie Nature Reserve
Price Range: $262 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casart Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casart Game Lodge is situated in a private nature resrve, Grietjie, who has a open connection with National Kruger park. Grietjie is big 5 area. U can stay in a rondavel with own Jacuzzi. The African - European kitchen will spoil you and the " real African" experience will wait for you during the game drive or Bush walk. We like to show you a warm Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casart Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing