We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly positive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 14 October 2017

The outside of the hotel is unimpressive however the lobby and rooms were great. The prices were the most reasonable in the area. The staff person checking us in was very helpful. The rooms were large enough and very clean. The beds were comfortable, though a little more form than I'm used. Our room was very quiet. The lobby was very comfortable for the continental breakfast. They offered the typical coffee, bagels, toast, juices, yogurt, and dry cereals. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank advsmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 871 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

Not impressed at all, the room smelled musty and 2 light bulbs were out. Shower floor was dirty, good thing I brought my flip flops. So many hotels to choose from in Traverse City and we ended up choosing one of the worst, never again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank 507larysab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Great Location for a wine tour on Old Mission. Staff was moderately friendly overall. Intially we asked to reserve the lounge for our group to come back and watch the football game. But the check in girl was put off by our request. Later after we returned from our wine tour we decided to "tailgate" and watch the game from in one of our rooms. I did appreciate them placing our entire group together. When we went to bed the first bed was so concave we had to switch beds and the second one was ok. Breakfast was disappointing - not hot food but cereal donuts etc were available. We would stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here one night, got a king size bed for 75 per night. It was not a luxury hotel but in this case you get exactly what you pay for. Overall was worth the money. Continental breakfast was adequate. All rooms are outside access from either the first or second floor.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank laurencL9389TH
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This is my second visit to this Howard Johnson while visiting my daughter. Only had minor problem with the room chair. It was clean.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

If you want a. Comfortable, quiet and restful night, this is where you want to go. Bed was good and pillows were great. Room was very clean and large. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.5 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.1 km away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#30 of 40 in Traverse City
325 reviews
2.2 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#26 of 40 in Traverse City
306 reviews
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Traverse City, MI
6.7 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson of Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson of Traverse City

Address: 417 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#12 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: C$59 - C$290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson of Traverse City 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Traverse City Michigan. Our property has been completely remodeled and offers value with comfort that will exceed your expectations. We offer King Rooms with Jacuzzi Tubs, Complimentary Expanded Continental Breakfast, Free local & long distance calling and free Wi-Fi internet access. Sink into our new Simmons Beauty Rest Mattresses and enjoy a relaxing show on our large LCD flat screen televisions. Our award winning property is non-smoking and sparkling clean, as evidenced in our International Housekeeping Award for 2012. We are located one mile from Downtown Traverse City with all its attractions and shopping districts. Our stunning beaches are within walking distance so this property has everything on your checklist. Enjoy restaurant discounts and explore the nearby Wineries and Peninsula. Call us direct for your reservations today! Traverse City is a beautiful area to visit anytime of year, so we look forward to welcoming you as our guest. Our team strives to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us and we sincerely look forward to the opportunity of accomplishing this with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson of Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Howard Johnson Of Traverse City Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing