We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast ”

Grand Traverse Pie Co.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: The original Grand Traverse Pie Company location! Our first Pie Shop opened in July of 1996 by company founders, Mike and Denise Busley. The shop is conveniently located on West Front Street in Traverse City, Michigan, just a short walk from downtown and a block from West Grand Traverse Bay. Our open-air design has the kitchen in full view of our customers. There's comfortable seating for those who would like to sit and relax with a slice of pie and a cup of gourmet coffee. We also have great lunch selections, with quiches, soups, pot pie by the slice, salads, sandwiches, and wraps. We serve espresso, smoothies, and a variety of homemade baked goods.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My daughter and I stopped in for breakfast on a cold Monday morning. We were greeted and treated warmly and had an amazing meal. The quiche was delicious. The chai latte was awesome and the cherry pie was divine!! Will be back!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank kpostmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Traverse Pie Co., responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Kpostmus, thank you so much to you and your daughter for stopping in to enjoy breakfast with us. We are so pleased to hear that you both enjoyed your meals and your experience at our shop. We appreciate your review and kind words and we hope to see you both again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 985 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This establishment is great. Always cozy, great selection of food and great coffee! The biggest thing is their fabulous mouthwatering pies! I highly recommend this place to everyone.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ktsorenson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Traverse Pie Co., responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your high praise and recommendation, Ktsorenson! We absolutely love to hear that you enjoy our cozy shop, menu items, and of course our homemade pies. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Fresh sandwiches, quiche & pies galore! I never have had a bad meal. Their staff is very friendly & helpful!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank cindyrR4633WG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Traverse Pie Co., responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review, Cindy! It makes us smile from ear to ear to hear that you enjoy our menu items and our friendly staff too. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had not visited before and found this a good place for lunch. Or course, you cannot get lunch without getting a piece of pie. You order at a counter and then seat yourself to wait for your order to be called.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rimaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Traverse Pie Co., responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi RimaSC, thank you very much for deciding to stop in to give us a try and for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to GT Pie and enjoyed your lunch. We appreciate your review and we hope to see you again next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

The pie is what we came for, and since we had our first experience with Grand Traverse when they just had this one location, we had expectations. The pie is still good, the coffee selection is good, though the medium dark we picked tasted as if it has been sitting awhile, and the service friendly enough. But the atmosphere lacks the specialness of the original design. We've tried other locations across Michigan and Indiana, and the chain feel of those has crept in here. We'll go back for the pie, regardless.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Traverse Pie Co., responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Hi Lisa, thank you very much for visiting us and for your review. We truly appreciate your feedback. I'm sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. Our original location is still our baby and not much has changed over the years except we've expanded next door and some of the decor has been updated. We still create the same homemade pies the same way we did in 1996. :) We truly appreciate your feedback and I'll be sure to share it with our owners. We hope to see you again next time you're in Traverse City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Traverse Pie Co. also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Grand Traverse Pie Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing