We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
michigantraveler05
michigan

Hotel is nice - but Bay view rooms are too loud with traffic noise.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 26, 2024
Just say no to the Bay view rooms. The rooms themselves, the staff, the property was all very nice. Very friendly staff everywhere we went. Hotel is nicely located downtown and makes walking the old part of the city very easy. But the rooms that look out at the Bay are right on the main road and will wake you up well before you're ready. Very frustrating.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$503
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Hotel Indigo Traverse City, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$468
  • Priceline
    C$489
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$410
  • Expedia.com
    C$438
1.8 km from Hotel Indigo Traverse City, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$281
  • Hotels.com
    C$281
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$227
  • Priceline
    C$281
6.7 km from Hotel Indigo Traverse City, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$312
Fully refundable
Stay 2X, Get a $50 Gift Card
  • Hotels.com
    C$294
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$264
  • Expedia.com
    C$294
3.6 km from Hotel Indigo Traverse City, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$221
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$215
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$188
  • Hotels.com
    C$202
6.8 km from Hotel Indigo Traverse City, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$335
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$335
  • Agoda.com
    C$307
  • Expedia.com
    C$323
7.1 km from Hotel Indigo Traverse City, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$300
  • Vio.com
    C$241
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$263
6.9 km from Hotel Indigo Traverse City, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$339
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$276
  • Hotels.com
    C$289
8.0 km from Hotel Indigo Traverse City, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$346
  • Agoda.com
    C$317
  • Priceline
    C$346
7.0 km from Hotel Indigo Traverse City, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
hotel bayside
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$405
  • Vio.com
    C$371
  • Hotels.com
    C$405
6.5 km from Hotel Indigo Traverse City, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Traverse City
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveller rating
161
121
70
48
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
161
121
70
48
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar valet parking road noise bay view valet staff rain shower water view location is excellent west bay king room third floor winter properties fireplace michigan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 446 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2024

Went to TC over the weekeend with my family for a ski trip. After driving 4 hours to get there we pulled in and were met by the valet. He told me that it is valet only, with a room charge of 18 dollars per night. (plus tip everytime you need your vehicle) The other option was to pay for parking on the street, which would have been about the same price so really no choice. Check in was fine and we had a bayview room. We were asked if we would like housekeeping since we were staying 2 nights and I said of course! Who doesn't want fresh towels!! Well, we didn't receive housekeeping when we returned Saturday night. Next, the walls/ceiling are paper thin. We got to listen to kids running and screaming all night. If you want any sleep, do not get a bayview room. You will be awoken to the autobahn of cars at 6am right outside your room. We spent $230/nt and does not include breakfast... Hotel is nice, but for that amount of money we will never stay there again. Need to invest in soundproofing windows and walls.

Room tip: Do not get Bayview room. Do not use water bottles unless you want to pay $4 ea
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHG Service, Owner at Hotel Indigo Traverse City, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2024

Hi michael G,

We appreciate you choosing the Hotel Indigo Traverse City for your leisure stay.

We aim that our guests are comfortable and would have a lasting impression of the brand, and I'm sorry for the issues you encountered with us. It is not what we strive for at IHG Hotels and Resorts. Your comments will not go unnoticed, as I have shared them with our management teams. I know they appreciate your sharing your experience, and I am confident they will take steps to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place to stop this from occurring again.

I hope we'll remain your dependable choice, as we promise to make your stay more memorable and exciting.

Yours in hospitality,

Melissa P
Case Manager
IHG Hotels & Resorts
Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2024

Our dinner was the best! However, the best part of the experience is Steven our waiter/bartender/banquet manager. We have been coming here for a couple years and they don't disappoint. Steven is the best server in Northern Michigan.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karenma2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 1, 2023 via mobile

Craig Harner was working the front desk and I have to say that he was absolutely amazing. His professionalism was outstanding and the actual humble concern for his customers is unmatched. He is a true example of how a hotel should base their standards across the board. Thank you so very much for making our stay with you as enjoyable as you possibly could.

Steven working at the restaurant/bar was outstanding as well. Make sure to go and visit him and enjoy an amazing dinner and drink.

Happy Holidays to your amazing team at the Hotel Indigo in Traverse City.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank skip b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 18, 2023 via mobile

Nice enough hotel with trendy design, but the raging highway noise is absurd. I’ve stayed here maybe six or seven times and have learned to book “city side” rather than “bay view” because the highway is on the bay side, but the past couple stays (including last night), my assigned room was on the side of the building, right next to the road. If you stay here, be certain you are placed in the center of the back, city side. For me, I’m done with this place!

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank 990bryanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHG Service, Owner at Hotel Indigo Traverse City, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2023

Hi 990bryanb,

Thank you for your continued patronage of IHG Hotels & Resorts and for choosing to stay at Hotel Indigo Traverse City. Our properties feature unique designs at every turn without compromising guest comfort.

I saw your review and am sorry for the experience you had. You have options when reserving and choosing us because this is not what you expected, and with this in mind, I distributed your comments to our managers for evaluation. We rectified our errors so they won't happen again.

I hope you allow us to be part of your next trip.

Cordially,

Oscar C.
Case Manager
IHG Hotels & Resorts Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2023

We were not very impressed with staying at this hotel. We felt the hotel was very over priced. In order to get a bottle of water it cost $3.00 from a machine. No complimentary water. Also a mandatory $15 per night valet parking fee. This on top of an over $250 per night room rate. Definitely not returning to this hotel.

Room tip: Go somewhere else
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vineyard11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHG Service, Owner at Hotel Indigo Traverse City, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2023

Dear Vineyard11,

Thank you for selecting our Hotel Indigo Traverse City while visiting Traverse City and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. It's a pleasure having you as our guest.

I am truly sorry you did not experience an exemplary stay due to the service received. This is certainly below our usual high standard of service. Please be certain that I have noted and forwarded your feedback for the management to improve. In the middle of your experience, I am glad to know that the location of our hotel was still appreciated.

I very much hope you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again.

Best Regards,

Ben W.
Case Manager
IHG Hotels and Resorts Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews