We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveller rating
278
169
56
15
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
278
169
56
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waffles pirates cove room was clean mini golf red mesa grill public beach hot tub pool area hard boiled eggs cookies would stay here again fridge and microwave nice place to stay the breakfast area a great stay other hotels short drive
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 535 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018

This hotel was reasonably priced in a great town. The staff we encountered were all exceptionally nice. The continental breakfast was good and very well stocked with typical breakfast foods. The eggs had a weird texture, but the Cherry Coffee was a very nice surprise. The room was clean, and isn’t that everybody’s top concern? The decor was a little worn and could use an update (stucco ceilings, bedspreads, carpet and rust spots on shower ceiling). They supplied us with Stress Relief products from Bath and Body Works for the bathroom, which did not go unnoticed. The bathroom fan did not work, we were told that none of them work, and they have a rooftop system that is supposed to work throughout the hotel. Overall, the pluses and minuses equaled out.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank VacationGirl510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. The exhaust fans in the bathroom work, they are just the rooftop units. They honestly don't work like a typical fan would in your home - each unit powers 8 rooms so the system doesn't work like a typical bathroom exhaust fan. They were designed as an energy savings model. I'm sorry that they did not perform the way expected and it was not properly explained when you inquired. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2018

Reasonably priced, comfortable and clean. Breakfast met expectations--which admittedly are not very high. Quiet location and easy to find. Handy to many of the local attractions. Would stay here again next time we are in Traverse City.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay. I am glad that we were what you were looking for. We strive to give our guests the comfort and amenities they want with the value they expect. There are a lot of choices when it comes to hotels in the Traverse City area and i'm thrilled that you have chosen the GrandStay and will stay here next time you are in town. We love starting each of our days with the Grand Start Breakfast - with both hot and cold items (eggs, sausage, waffles, cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, etc). Thank you for choosing us and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2018

We stayed in one of the suites earlier this week. No complaints. We found the room, clean, comfortable and spacious, and quiet. The A/C, wireless, and fridge all worked as expected. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were small which limited their comfort. Courteous staff. The pool and hot tub were decent. Yes, we would stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank philbert_2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay with us. I'm so happy that you enjoyed the hotel and the area during your stay. It means a lot to hear you will stay here again - the best compliment any hotel can get! I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018

My Wife and I were pleasantly greeted with a very clean room and welcoming staff. The room was clean, the staff were great, and the complimentary breakfast was good. Just be careful of the scrambled eggs, they might be powdered eggs, not properly prepared that day.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. I'm so happy that you were happy. The scrambled eggs are actually a real egg (not powdered) and prepared each morning (multiple times) as they are replenished. Food safety is very important to us and they are properly prepared each day for the safety of our guests and the enjoyment of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

The GrandStay met our expectations. The rooms were clean and spacious.We had a microwave and fridge, two of my top amenities. Our interactions with the staff were pleasant. My daughter had a good time at the kid-friendly indoor pool. The one missing element was a fitness room. However, the hotel is on a lengthy bike path that was great for a run. Breakfast was a fairly standard continental breakfast. To the delight of our daughter, the Pirates Cove amusement/mini-golf park is adjacent to the hotel. Beaches are within walking distance, and downtown/wineries are a ten minute drive.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rjc260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate our hotel and I'm thrilled to hear how planet your stay was. We strive to provide our guests a comfortable, memorable stay at a fair price. It sounds like you had a great time and I'm so happy that we were able to be part of your vacation memories. see you again on your next trip to Traverse City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews