We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So refreshingly vibrant.”
Review of Ocean Prime

Ocean Prime
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean Prime is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 320 Restaurants in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Big Beaver
Description: Ocean Prime is an award winning modern American restaurant and lounge from renowned restaurateur Cameron Mitchell. With stunning settings, a vibrant energy, an impressive menu of seafood and steaks and truly exceptional service, Ocean Prime is an ideal place to socialize, talk business, celebrate and indulge.
Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile

Our restaurant week visit to Ocean Prime could not have been better. Considering the volume of people coming and going for the special priced dinners, the staff, cooks, and all aspects of this visit were superb.

We hesitated patronizing this establishment because of the initial opening rumors of poor service. Our experience was far from poor. As a matter of fact, this establishment was exceptional, especially for a chain restaurant.

I had grouper which was perfectly cooked and having just recently visited Bermuda, would have to say it was above expectations. We started the meal with oysters from the east and west coast. I was very pleased with the preparation and pre-cleaning of the mollusks. Very fresh and no hint of poor quality on all aspects of the meal.

I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a modest upscale dining experience.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 114 of 368 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Went to ocean prime on a gift card. It was restaurant week in Troy Michigan so the prices looked good and I always wanted to try the restaurant. My wife had the filet and it was perfect. I ordered the NY strip, cooked medium. When it arrived it was tender but overcooked, more like well done. The waiter was very good and offered to replace it, when the replacement came it was medium on the inside but severely charred on the outside. I was pretty disappointed with the steak. Appetizer, dessert and wait staff were all very good, but they may need help in the broiler.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank 757markv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

We took my son for a celebration dinner since he is leaving for college. The meal was very good the service was exceptional and at the end our son was brought a dessert on the house congratulating him. It was a butter cake they was fantastic. We would definitely go back

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank luvmy3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

Make sure you have reservation place gets busy fast... Good spot tho. Nice wine list with half off on sundays. Food good and freshly made.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2016

This is a chain which I am usually not a fan of.. But the standards of service and decor were high. the food presentation was great and the taste of the shrimp cocktail and halibut were on point. The risotto was slop and poor. The wine selection nice. Overall a nice place but not sure if would be back. Truffle oil popcorn in bar area is a nice touch. The bar area is amazing and classy

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank T8951PSanthonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ocean Prime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing