We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Somerset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somerset Inn
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Sun City West, AZ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The Somerset Inn is one of the best hotels we have experienced. The entire staff was most helpful to us during the entirety of our two week stay.
You can't beat the location. Situated across the street from the fashionable Somerset Mall and across the street from the Somerset Apartments which has an excellent walking circle.
The room was very clean and maintained well.
We will definitely stay here again when we visit Michigan from Arizona.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willieSunCityWestAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    79
    55
    20
    5
See reviews for
31
31
13
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I stayed at the Somerset Inn from January 8, 2012 through January 12, 2012 while moving my son from North Carolina to Michigan. The place is nice and in a great location. I thought it was a lot of money for the room. I paid $119 the first night and $144 the other nights. I think, but I'm not sure, the cost went up because of the International Auto Show (which i didn't know was there when I booked). The room was clean but can use some updates. The bed was hard and, while looking at the mattress and box spring, you could see they were old. It has a restaurant on site and I highly recommend the Chicken Parmesian for $19.99. For what I was paying I would have liked to have had complimentary breakfast. The restaurant does open for breakfast, but I did not try it. Oh yeah, and it is directly across from a huge (pricey) mall. But it was fun walking around even if I couldn't afford anything in it. All in all, I would stay here again. It was a nice place, just a little on the costly side.

Room Tip: I was in room 100 on the bottom floor. It was very quiet. The only concern I had about the first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldenhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This hotel is just steps away from the nicest mall in Michigan & minutes away from downtown Birmingham. The staff was very friendly, and very knowledgeable about the surrounding area. They helped me choose a restaurant (for my somewhat picky group)! They also have a free business & printing station in the lobby and free wi-fi in rooms! Rooms are very clean and quiet. I enjoyed a nice breakfast in the restaurant. We will stay here for all future shopping trips in Troy!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ttravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

So when my wife and kids go shopping over in the states. We always stay at Summerset Inn. It is right across the street from The Summerset Collection. The rooms have always been clean, the staff is great. If you are Canadian they offer a Canadian Deal which includes Full Breakfast and 20% off dinner, Plus discount coupon to the mall and other services in the area.
The Tower room are cheaper than the garden rooms but we have found the beds to more comfortable in the tower. Lots of business travellers during the week.

In the evening they have fresh bake cookies waiting for you. I always tell people if they are coming to the Troy area to give this hotel a chance.

Room Tip: Tower Rooms seem to have better beds and cheaper rates too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I have stayed at this hotel twice on shopping excursions to Troy. The first time our duvet cover had white crust on it (ew) and seemed to have not been cleaned in some time. They stay was further ruined by a large cockroach in the lobby bathroom.

On my most recent trip the stay was slightly better. The sheets were clean, but the carpet had red stains (looked like blood) on it.

The hotel is very close to the mall, which is convenient. You can literally walk 10 steps to neiman marcus. However, the Marriott has even better rates and, I find, is much cleaner and nicer. My friends and I agreed that we will not be returning to Somerset Inn.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Dear mfost,
Unfortunately, Trip Advisor does not provide an outlet for the business establishments to post reviews and testimonials made directly with the Hotel. Please note we can make available review after positive testimonial about the cleanliness of our hotel; along with review after positive review regarding our customer service. Certainly our goal is to provide a positive guest experience with both our product and our guest satisfaction. However, we must be informed of the dissatisfaction in order to resolve the issue. We will always resolve the issue – it’s the top priority at this hotel! Please keep that in mind before choosing instead, to write a slanderous online review.

First let me address the comment the “stay was further ruined by a large cockroach in the lobby bathroom.” The hotel maintains an expensive, aggressive and rigid pest control maintenance program. We have for many years! We do not nor have we ever had an infestation issue with this bug or any other bug in the last two decades that I have worked at this hotel. We strongly resent the inference to this matter.

With regard to your “dirty” comment ~ our standards are such that our duvet covers are washed and sterilized routinely and our sheets are washed and sterilized everyday – much to the chagrin of environmental/green programs. The red stain on the carpet?? Blood doesn’t stain red – perhaps it was a spec of lip-stick from a girl’s weekend shopping excursion. The real question is… if there was a problem, did you address it with the front desk while onsite? The answer is clearly NO. If we’re unaware that a problem exists until it hits Trip Advisor, we can’t fix it for you. We kindly ask that you keep that in mind in the future. Thank you.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Somerset Inn is very mediocre. It needs some serious updating and redecorating. The lighting in the room was fluorescent only. The security lock on our door didn't work. The bed was hard and the pillows were not comfortable. The location, right across from Somerset Mall, is ideal, but the hotel is nowhere near as nice as the mall. The breakfast at Crumpets was delicious, however.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eilefour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Dear Eilefour,
Thank you for taking time to provide some feedback regarding your recent stay at the Somerset Inn. We couldn’t agree more, that our location next the fabulous Somerset Collection is definitely ideal. Many guests also like our par 30 executive golf course, and our picturesque walking and jogging trails. The 20+ restaurants that are situated on the Somerset Complex, as well as our own Crumpets Restaurant, are amongst the BEST in Metro Detroit. (We appreciate the kind remarks regarding your breakfast experience in our own Crumpets Restaurant.) Finally, I am happy to report that plans to change the décor plus switch out the in-room televisions, as well as the purchase of luxury bedding and linens are in the works. Your opinion is of value to us, thank you for sharing. Our future plans include some changes. Please keep that in mind when visiting our area; and please visit us again, soon! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I said here for one night before a shopping trip and I have nothing negative to say. There were a plate of cookies in the lobby upon check-in. The room was very spacious with a walk-out into a garden. I used the cardio room in the morning and it was sufficient. The breakfast service and food were fine. And best of all, you can walk across a street to the mall.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraFeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Dear SaraFeld,
We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree, our chocolate chip cookies are scrumptious....and certainly you can't beat our proximity to fabulous shopping!!! Please visit again soon! Kind regards, The Somerset Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
1.7 km away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
1.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
2.1 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Detroit Marriott Troy
1.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
4.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Inn

Property: Somerset Inn
Address: 2601 W Big Beaver Rd, Troy, MI 48084-3390
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of the fresh and stylish guest rooms equipped with high speed and wireless internet, flat screen TVs, voice mail, coffee and tea makers, hairdryers, iron and boards, large work desks, dressing and make-up mirrors, marble countertops, and modern decor. Some guest rooms over-look the picturesque garden patio or the Somerset Collection mall, and others have a panoramic view of the small, but scenic, executive golf course. The Somerset Inn's own Crumpets Restaurants is a popular local eatery where local business leaders can be seen frequently. In-room dining is also available. On-site cardio room, lobby computer and a quaint but comfy lobby Bar and Grille. Located adjacent to the magnificent Somerset Collection shopping mall. Complimentary parking. 3/4 mile west of I-75 on Big Beaver in Troy, Michigan. There is no longer the pool that TripAdvisor lists incorrectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Troy
Somerset Inn Troy, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing