We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, a minor issue”
Review of Somerset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somerset Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Troy
1 review
“Good stay, a minor issue”
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for a weekend. Anything one can expect from a mid range hotel. Clean and specious room, good bed and shower. Good restaurant - had two breakfasts and one dinner, good food and excellent service at a very reasonable price. Two minor issues: in the morning every door save for our room had a newspaper in front of it. Asked reception for one and was charged $2.50. Would have accepted it, but printed price on the paper was $1.00. Guess business is good if margins are so high. Second, beware of room 201. The cooling and heating unit is not good at taking instructions. It either full blast cold or hot, nothing in between.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SanchoPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    79
    58
    20
    5
See reviews for
32
31
13
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Doing business in North Detroit......the Somerset is a good hotel to choose. I had meetings nearby and had stayed here before. Nice lean rooms, moderate prices make this a good business hotel. They also cater to guests needs....I was in big hurry in the morning to eat then head to a meeting hoping the restaurant had a buffet, they didn't but brought me a cooked breakfast in five minutes so I could get out quickly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjb4971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

It’s hard to decide where to start. I was traveling on business and staid on the first floor in the “court yard” section of the hotel. My college staid on high floor in the tower sections and had a similar experience.


• I was never able to regulate the temperature. It was either full blown cold or hot (even on low)
• Wind was blowing through my outside door (my co-worker had a similar experience with old caulking on his window that actually rattled)
• When checking in we asked if the business we were visiting had a negotiated rate, and were told once you make a reservation it’s "written in stone and can’t be changed". The way the message was delivered seemed to start things off on the wrong foot.
• Pillows were lumpy and hard - Don't know where they hid the comfy beds that some of the recent reviewers mention.
• Unlike most hotels today, they still had bedspreads and open cover which left me with a less than clean feeling.
• I’m about 90% sure they had bed bugs. I had bites the next morning. Luckily my suite case stayed on the stand by the wall or on the desk, and I threw away my bed clothes so I didn’t bring the little fellows home.
• At breakfast my glass had brown sludge (can’t think of any other way to describe it) in it and when someone noticed me looking at it, without saying a word they grabbed it out of my hand – no apologies, And they charged me for it.
• I left a somewhat pricy item in my room, and when I stopped back by the hotel to have them look in their lost and found I was told by the front desk clerk that if they were really nice I’d probably never see them again – and I haven’t. I did call back and spoke to the head of housekeeping who was Very courteous and professional. I think the other staff could take lessons from her.


The location was about the only good thing. You can escape to an upscale mall with fabulous stores and restaurants. I highly recommend the Capital Grill for dinner.

It's worth a little drive to stay somewhere else. There plenty of options a short distance away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizTraveler_scr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear BizTraveler_scr,
Thank you for selecting the Somerset Inn during your recent visit to Troy, Mi. Based on the information that you supplied, it was obvious that you had researched our hotel before making your reservation. Noteworthy in your review was the mention of the many wonderful comments that we’ve received from numerous satisfied guests; especially those pertaining to our comfortable beds (which are essentially brand new). It’s disconcerting that your stay wasn’t as enjoyable as we would’ve liked, and without knowing the exact room that you were in, it’s difficult for us to investigate the issue. As a result, we kindly ask that you contact our General Manager with more relevant information, such as a specific room number. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestwood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

It is an older hotel, but has been updsted nicely. No pool or hot tub. Next to a huge mall with alot of high end stores. Many restaurants nearby. Staff very polite & professional. Very welcoming!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of our American shopping experience. The location was perfect, as the hotel was directly across the street from the mall. The reception staff was friendly and professional. Our room appeared to be updated and the double beds were most comfortable with an assortment of wonderful pillows to choose from. We decided to have breakfast at the hotel and felt it was worth the extra we paid. The attentive nature of the staff was amazing. As soon as you walked into Crumpets, you were seated , poured iced water and offered coffee. There is nothing like sitting down to breakfast served on a linen table cloth and napkins. I definitely did not miss the buffet breakfast offered on plastic plates and cutlery at other name brand hotels. Sometimes, we just need that special attention to make us feel so good.
We will definitely consider this hotel on our next shopping trip to Michigan.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The hotel was very nice, but one thing that bugged me was the old power plug covers. All the rest is modern, but the light switch covers and power plug covers are from the 70's, and kind of stick out like a sore thumb. Also I wish that the shower head was nicer, and that there wasnt a fan directly in front of my face when I shower :D those things aside, it was very nice!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoganator63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, AZ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The Somerset Inn is one of the best hotels we have experienced. The entire staff was most helpful to us during the entirety of our two week stay.
You can't beat the location. Situated across the street from the fashionable Somerset Mall and across the street from the Somerset Apartments which has an excellent walking circle.
The room was very clean and maintained well.
We will definitely stay here again when we visit Michigan from Arizona.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willieSunCityWestAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
1.7 km away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
1.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
1.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
1.7 km away
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
4.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Inn

Property: Somerset Inn
Address: 2601 W Big Beaver Rd, Troy, MI 48084-3390
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of the fresh and stylish guest rooms equipped with high speed and wireless internet, flat screen TVs, voice mail, coffee and tea makers, hairdryers, iron and boards, large work desks, dressing and make-up mirrors, marble countertops, and modern decor. Some guest rooms over-look the picturesque garden patio or the Somerset Collection mall, and others have a panoramic view of the small, but scenic, executive golf course. The Somerset Inn's own Crumpets Restaurants is a popular local eatery where local business leaders can be seen frequently. In-room dining is also available. On-site cardio room, lobby computer and a quaint but comfy lobby Bar and Grille. Located adjacent to the magnificent Somerset Collection shopping mall. Complimentary parking. 3/4 mile west of I-75 on Big Beaver in Troy, Michigan. There is no longer the pool that TripAdvisor lists incorrectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Somerset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Troy
Somerset Inn Troy, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing