We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
4
15
12
11
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
15
12
11
18
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 60 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2014

I've been going to Harbour Country for 26 years, and in a last minute pinch, decided to stay at the Gordon Beach Inn. What was I thinking? Timothy's,the in house restaurant, is not to be included here.
The staff- RUDE- awful-, the room needs just to be torn down and completely rebuilt, bathroom antiquated, a heavy person couldn't even walk around the bed, oh, the soggy bed, and the bathroom, needed lighting assistance and a fan--need I say more?? It is the year 2014, someone please give these people paint, manners, and decorating ideas! Shame on them for calling this inhabitable- or comfortable! Not even quaint!

Room tip: There is no good room.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy16Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Unfortunately, what could be a quaint and cozy country inn just isn't. And I usually love these kinds of places! The lobby and porch are nice enough, and they had one of the great beers from the local Tapistry Brewing Company (terrific place) on tap to enjoy while sitting on a rocking chair. But staying here just isn't an option. Really wish we hadn't. The rooms are dingy, character-less boxes that are poorly ventilated. The beds are very uncomfortable and the furniture is worn. The bathroom is badly dated - the finish from the wooden shelf and towel rack are worn to the bare wood (see pictures) and the old faucet is badly oxidized. The rooms get the food smell from the restaurant below (which apparently is nice). Perhaps the biggest joke of all is the tiny, 13-inch box TV that has to be 25-30 years old. I can't imagine why it's even there. Some things are not better than nothing. That statement also just about sums up the rooms at this place. If I owned this place, I'd feel embarrassed at the condition of the rooms. Definitely very 1950's, which is likely the last time it was updated.

Room tip: Don't bother to stay here...really!
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrewExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The Gordon Beach Inn staff is inhospitable and rude, the bedding is horrible and uncomfortable, The restaurant, Timothy's, takes the entire lobby so there is no where to go except the dingy room. Advertised as "historic", but the Gordon Beach Inn is just plain old and weary with not even the basic amenities. Nothing works including the hot water, the faucets or the air conditioning. The "private" beach is a mile walk because there is no parking. Union Pier is such a fine area...you can do much better for your money and time.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I should have known when this was the only available Inn within a 20 mile radius! This place needs a LOT of TLC. The room was small and musty with windows locked shut. The 13" TV - yes that's right, 13" - was probably manufactured in the 70's. There was exactly one bar of soap in the bathroom - no shampoo or conditioner or lotion. There's no one at the front desk after 11PM. OH - and at 4AM, someone tried to get into our room! The only nice thing about this stay was the great small collection of draft beers at the lobby bar. And the restaurant seemed to be crowded.

Room tip: Here's the tip: book early and stay somewhere else!
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truthbetold_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had a wonderful 2 night get away for our anniversary. Didnt plan on eating at Timothys resturant, but the smell was so intoxicating we did the first night and had such a devine meal, dined there the next evening. Rom 3 is great. Whirlpool and small deck. Can't wait to go back!

Room tip: Choose room 2 or 3
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews