We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
69
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews northern lights ice bear tundra buggy polar bear once in a lifetime bucket list aurora borealis wonderful experience other guests top notch on foot arctic foxes african safari great fun two nights in a row great job their natural habitat
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 70 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2018

10 out of 10 on every count: location; lodge; nature; quality of excursions; wildlife; expertise, professionalism and courtesy of the guides; service quality and care of all other personnel; breakfast, lunches and dinners of the highest standards; evening talks.
I have been in many places, but Dymond Lodge beats them all. I will certainly be back. A great experience for anybody. Not really suitable for children under 10 or so.

Room tip: All rooms are excellent: en-suite bathrooms, great common areas with amazing (often bear) views and cozy fire place.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomaso s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2017

I can't say enough good things about this place, the staff and Churchill Wild in general.After doing xmas in Lapland a few years ago and being penny pinched for absolutely everything it was refreshing to travel with a company where nothing was too much trouble. The cabins were cosy and warm and the fires were kept going through the night thanks to Nolan and his 3am visits (which didn't wake anybody i might add)
The food was sensational and there were always lots of it including 3 courses for lunch and dinner. Our guides Terry, Kevin and Steve were both informative and personable. Although we didn't see a huge amount of bears due to Hudson Bay freezing over earlier than usual it was amazing to walk so close to a female bear that was hanging around the camp. We also saw plenty of Arctic foxes, a few red foxes and moose (from a fair distance).
If you're planning on making the trek to Churchill i would highly recommend Churchill wild and Dymond Lake ecolodge!

Room tip: Hire the winter gear from Churchill Wild before leaving Winnipeg
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lochness06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2017

We were so amazed at the quality of the bedroom & bathroom. The Lodge experience of the fires keeping us cosy 24 hours a day was greatly appreciated. We loved the appetisers & the interaction with the staff & other guests which continued on to dinner & any post-dinner activities led by the fantastic guides, Terry, Steve & Kevin. All meals from breakfast, through lunch to dinner were delicious & we appreciated the variety of culinary treats! We enjoyed the wines (including that called Diabolica!), beer & the rum cocktail.
The walks were slightly more gruelling than we expected due to perhaps our unfamiliarity with our boots (our own not hired!) & the weight of the sallopettes & jackets & also walking over frozen ground. However the rewards of the views & the wildlife more than made up for any effort we expended. The guides were all interesting & so knowledgeable on all sorts of subjects related to our stay. We felt very safe at all times with them & they were so respectful of the bears who were not at all distressed by our presence. It was a luxurious, comfortable & safe way to see polar bears & other wildlife in their natural habitat. A wonderful experience from start to finish.

Room tip: We stayed in Wilson Lodge, the only advantage over Lakeside is that the former has an observation deck and viewing tower
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jane_Stephen_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2017

We had a perfect stay at Dymond Lake Lodge. The experience of seeing polar bears in their natural environment was amazing and one that we'll never forget. The guides Terry, Steve and Kevin were excellent, both in educating us on the life of polar bears and guiding us safely through their environment. We had many polar bear sightings and took nearly 1000 photos during our entire Churchill experience. The lodge was fantastic, offering a location off the beaten path. The food and service was exceptional at each and every meal and Pam made our aurora borealis viewing experience extra special by delivering some wine to our cabin during the evening. We enjoyed connecting with the other guests, sharing stories and pictures during our stay and would recommend renting the extra cold weather gear, as it came in useful during our morning and afternoon hikes. Fantastic trip, amazing bears and a perfect experience at Dymond Lake Lodge!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acg828892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2017

We have just returned from the most amazing trip to Dymond Lake where we saw multiple polar bears, northern lights and other wildlife. We stayed in Wilson Lodge which was very comfortable and which we shared with a fabulous group of other travellers.
Our guides Terry, Steve and Kevin ensured we saw as much wildlife as possible and they were patient, helpful and passionate to ensure we all saw as much as possible.
The kitchen team were amazing and we had fabulous meals and snacks every day.
Special mention to Vernon who kept our fire burning and to Nolan for his dinner table chats and his amazing knowlge of ice fishing which he happily shared with us.
This is a once in a lifetime trip and although expensive it is worth every cent. There are really no words to describe standing on a frozen lake and watching a wild polar bear walking towards you! We had the opportunity to see a number of polar bears in different areas and we enjoyed every one of our daily walks and all the wildlife we saw.
The weather was very cold and we appreciated the warm jackets, boots and pants we hired from Churchill Wild. These were definitely needed and without these it would have been very uncomfortable.
We cannot speak more highly of this trip and the Churchill Wild team - the trip and the team were amazing!!!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank BindH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews