We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
69
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews northern lights ice bear tundra buggy polar bear once in a lifetime bucket list aurora borealis wonderful experience other guests top notch on foot arctic foxes african safari great fun two nights in a row great job their natural habitat
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We (myself, my husband, and 2 kids, ages 12 and 14) just returned from a 4 day stay at Dymond Lake where we did the Great Ice Bear Adventure. We had an amazing time. Food was delicious, the staff made everyone feel like part of the family, and you just can't beat waking up to polar bears! It is QUITE cold so be prepared for that - definitely bring hand and foot warmers. We had a great time on the walks, and then an even better time eating and watching the polar bears from the large lodge windows. We were also lucky enough to see the northern lights two nights in a row without having to wake up in the middle of the night! After the lodge, we were treated to a day trip in a Tundra Buggy which was also great fun (and much warmer). But I wouldn't have given up the lodge stay - there is nothing quite like it! We didn't see many other animals, so it isn't like a traditional African safari where the bush is teeming with animals, but we were delighted with all the polar bears!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan19712004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I don't think you can beat the Polar Bear experience at Dymond Lake Lodge. Each morning we woke to a bear digging for berries in the snow outside our window. Our treks around the lake and out on the shore of Hudson Bay were wonderful... close encounters with curious bears, the sculptures of wind makes of snow, the remote wilderness. The guides were nice and informative and kept us safe. The food was great, the beds comfortable and we got to see the Northern Lights on two nights from the deck above our room.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MollyM6445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I cannot say enough good things about Churchill Wild. Every aspect of the experience, accommodation, and service was phenomenal. If you want to get out in nature and walk with polar bears at an unbelievably close distance, then Churchill Wild's travel packages and lodges are for you. There is no way to see polar bears in the wild "on a budget," so you might as well spend a little bit more (relatively speaking) and have the world-class experience we had with Churchill Wild at the Dymond Lake Ecolodge.

There are so many variables that cannot be controlled and can impact this type of trip and experience; however, Churchill Wild excels in both logistical foresight and in response to external factors. To the extent that exigencies could be accounted for in the planning, they were; and when bad weather prevailed over good planning, Churchill Wild made the best of the situation. I was thoroughly impressed throughout the journey by the insight displayed in all preparatory material, thoughtfulness in attention to detail, and expertise in a niche industry. We spent a good deal of time researching our options for seeing polar bears in nature, and at every turn we witnessed evidence affirming the decision to book with Churchill Wild. Everything they do is designed to enhance the guests' experience, from the advice about clothing and gear (listen to them!) to the colored tags on your bags to meals and activities.

Without a doubt, I would recommend that anybody who is interested in seeing polar bears in the wild or in experiencing a truly unique trip of a lifetime should look into Churchill Wild and the Dymond Lake Ecolodge.

Notes on responses below: (1) There is internet, but it is limited, which is awesome. Embrace the opportunity to unplug, get away, and experience nature like never before. (2) "Free" is a relative term. Meals are included in the overall cost, as identified in the provided itinerary. (3) Transportation to/from the airport for flights to/from Churchill are included, and the hotel in Winnipeg was next door to the airport.

Room tip: Not applicable. Rooms are assinged.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AtoOzTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife & i just returned from 4 days at Dymond Lake Lodge & we can't say enough great things about the experience. All parts of our trip equaled or exceeded our expectations, which already were quite high based on what we already knew about the Lodge. The guides were experienced, knowledgeable & truly enjoyed their work, & the staff who worked in the dining area & maintained our rooms always seemed to be on duty, & were always happy to accommodate any special requests we might have.

MAKE SURE YOU RENT THE OUTDOOR GEAR THEY HAVE AVAILABLE-it is high quality gear & absolutely necessary to enable you to enjoy the experience of walking with the Polar Bears.

Room tip: Request the Wilson Cabin for access to raised deck to better see bears & the Northern Lights.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobRedwoodCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm not usually a fan of group tours and that hasn't changed, however if you want to walk with Polar Bears then this is the trip for you. Just be realistic about what you are getting and enjoy the polar bears up close.

The Polar Bear experience was amazing walking with these animals was so special. I do have a long lens so my pictures aren't as close as perhaps they look. Terry and Kevin our guides did a great job of finding us bears safely.
Don't underestimate the cold, it was freezing. We took our own gear it was cheaper to buy what we didn't have than renting and you have to carry it from Winnipeg regardless.

The rooms were fine, a bit basic, but had everything you need, our bed was amazing it was so comfortable.

The food was great, again fairly basic but extremely tasty and plenty of it.

Don't expect a great wifi network, there was wifi for basic use, e-mail etc, but that was good enough, we were too busy looking for wildlife.

We got lucky with the northern lights and got a couple of clear days which was a bonus.

Expect a lot of travelling to get there and back, but it's worth it, the small plane in is a great experience in itself.

Go for the Polar Bears, be realistic in terms of getting there and the basic away from it all living and you will be great.

If you want a luxury lodge with all mod cons forget polar bears and go to Africa.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CHR1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews