We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent food and service !”
Review of The Local 218

The Local 218
Ranked #5 of 80 Restaurants in Brainerd
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 29, 2018

Have been here several times and have never been disappointed . Always a nice prompt greeting with menus and drinks arriving quickly . Food has always been good with VERY large portions . Meal sharing or take home box most times . Has been a nice lunch spot or early dinner spot when leaving car at the car wash across the street . Good spot for families also . Supporters of the Brainerd High School Program fundraiser coupon book !

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MNexplorers49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 58 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

Very nice place, friendly service and good food. Agree with other reviews in that it is a bit loud with the high ceilings and hard surfaces but I can get past that with everything else it has going for it. Service is a bit spread / slow but again I can look past that since help is tough to find. My husband and I would go back.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank kkajob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

I really enjoyed the seafood po’boy. The sauce was really tasty, I could probably have asked for a little more. Even the calamari for appetizers was done right. Not chewy at all. We’ll be back again!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Resortgal7685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

We have been observing the comments for this restaurant for a long time and decided to try it. The menu was not the standard and there were items that obviously had thought/variation behind them - which is great. We had sandwiches and pasta for lunch and it was really very good. The service was prompt. Only issue we had was the noise level. The restaurant was not very crowded but the noise was distracting. There are primarily hard surfaces everywhere and the sound seemed to magnify in the large open room, particularly if kids were around. It would really help the ambience if there was a way to muffle some of the sound. The open concept and décor was very attractive.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NotyetRetired2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

A good little stop on our way ay back to the Twin Cities. The walleye sandwich was very good just enough food. The veggie burger was also a hit with the table. Had the the curry lentil soup of the day had a good kick. A nice find.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Jrstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Local 218? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing