We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food!”

Caroline Cellars Winery
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Virgil
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Indulge in the country charm of one of NOTL's most popular family owned and operated wineries. We have a wide selection of VQA white wines, red wines and Icewines available. We also make a small selection of fruit wines, which include our popular Cranberry Winter Harvest and Plum wines. All of our wines are available for tastings on a daily basis and many of our tastings are no-charge. Our property is open to the public and reservations are not required. We also have a Special Events Loft available for special occasion rental, including weddings. We also have an on-site Cafe - The Farmhouse Cafe - open for lunch daily. Please visit our website for detailed information regarding our wines, special events loft and events at the winery.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Have been to Carolines for the Wine and Swine weekend and just had family Thanksgiving Dinner! The food is awesome, so delicious, Turkey dinner with all the fixings and spare rib dinner too! Warm friendly atmosphere, terrific service and a special thank you to Justine for fitting our family in at the last minute, we had a great Thanksgiving and can't wait to go back!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank chphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"poutine"
in 35 reviews
"plum wine"
in 31 reviews
"farmhouse cafe"
in 15 reviews
"frittata"
in 14 reviews
"perch"
in 12 reviews
"chicken sandwich"
in 8 reviews
"crab cakes"
in 7 reviews
"niagara on the lake"
in 44 reviews
"wine tour"
in 39 reviews
"free tasting"
in 11 reviews
"taste wines"
in 7 reviews
"great wine"
in 19 reviews
"tasting bar"
in 14 reviews
"different wines"
in 14 reviews
"take home"
in 10 reviews
"tasting room"
in 8 reviews
"winery"
in 186 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 527 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2018

Great destination off the main beat, easily accessible by bike. Beautiful vineyards, family owned, farm style atmosphere. Unpretentious, welcoming to all and GENUINE! It was harvest weekend, which is generally rainy, but it was beautiful & they were a bit overwhelmed with all the visitors. However, the staff that did work with us were so very kind and enthusiastic. Only a small fee for tastings and then applied to purchases that were very reasonably priced! Wonderful experience!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 167dianen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

We visited this Winery hoping to find some delicious wine to take home back to Manitoba.I have never been to a winery before. We were greeted with a friendly smile as soon as we walked in the door. We were given a background about the winery and were told it was a family business. They seemed very proud to tell their story and it was very interesting to hear the background. The restaurant was packed and we were sorry we didn't have time to eat there.( We will definitely be back to try the food). The wines were all delicious and we bought as much as we could fit into our suitcases. This was one of the highlights of my trip. I definitely recommend. You won't be disappointed.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Darcy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2018

My husband and I just happened to stumble upon this great, little family run winery on a recent visit to Niagara-on-the Lake. The staff were fun and friendly and the wine tastings were complimentary! (a relatively rare find nowadays). Wine was very good, we purchased several bottles. There is a restaurant on site, but since we were a little short on time did not get to sample. However, there were quite a few people in the restaurant even though it was after lunch hour so it seemed quite popular. Sometimes getting off the beaten track holds some delightful surprises. Try it.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank kdh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2018

Enjoyed our wine tastings. They have descriptions of the various wines you can try and so many choices on the menu. Free tastings - only place we went to in the area that had free tasting. We ate lunch before we arrived here but were impressed with the friendly staff and the wonderful looking food people were enjoying so we came back the next day for lunch. Glad we did.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank NetBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caroline Cellars Winery also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Caroline Cellars Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing