We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I guess its the best in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carlton
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“I guess its the best in the area”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

There aren't many hotels in the area to choose from. I have to come here again soon and I would possibly stay again but it is definitely more of a motel than a hotel. It is clean but very outdated. I was disappointed that the internet was down the whole time and I was there on business so it was unfortunate that I couldn't do work while I was in the room. You get what you pay for, so as long as your expectations are based on the price you should be fine.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hickory_Hicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnGuy, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton, responded to this review, 12 November 2011
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate you taking your time to help us find what we need to work on to make your next stay more enjoyable. We are in the process of renovating all of our rooms and have several done at this time. Give us a call if you decide to stay again and ask for one of the newly renovated rooms. I'd love for you to be one of the first to see our progression in room quality. I'm sorry for the problems you experienced with your internet. Right now we are talking with other available internet providers in the area to switch over to. I hope all is well and hope to hear from you again.

AmericInn Carlton Assistant Manager
Matt Grusznis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    28
    31
    19
    13
See reviews for
46
40
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, MN
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed for 1 night and ended up with the handicapped-equipped room. The room was very dated (especially the bathroom with the trickling shower). Bed was comfortable.

Our room was right next to the front desk and soda machine. We had to turn the window A/C fan on to mitigate the noise.

The front desk staff were all very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nogophers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnGuy, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton, responded to this review, 12 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate our customers opinion and have responded by starting a renovation project on our rooms. We have a few done now and hope you get the chance to come back and see how we have improved.

On a side note, kudos to your tripadvisor avatar. It's good to see people doing thier part to stop manbearpig!

Sincerly,
Matt Grusznis, AmericInn Carlton Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here overnight while visiting near Duluth. It was about $50-100.00 cheaper than any hotel in Duluth, MN and it was very close to Duluth. It's right off the highway-very easy to find. The hotel staff is kind and friendly. Breakfast was convienent and delicious and we were able to get on our way in no time.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JonEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnGuy, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton, responded to this review, 12 November 2011
We appreciate your review! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you get the chance to come back and see us soon. Our staff will be delitghted to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Matt Grusznis, AmericInn Carlton Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monticello, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Desk staff is very helpful. Pool is clean fun hot tub is just the right temp. Breakfast has waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy plus cereal and toast. Rooms are clean and very quite. Beds are great sleep very well when staying there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottyTravels1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnGuy, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton, responded to this review, 12 November 2011
Thank you so much for your review! It makes us all here at AmericInn happy to hear our customers enjoying their stay. We wanted you to know that we are also renovating our rooms right now to make all our customers that much happier. We hope to see you soon and hope all is going well.

Sincerely,
Matt Grusznis, AmericInn Carlton Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st paul minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We stayed here for a one night get away. The building was clean. The room we had was large. The breakfast waffles you make yourself are a great addition for the small room price for the night. The front desk staff were very helpful. We had a good stay.

Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kt3471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnGuy, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton, responded to this review, 12 November 2011
Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try our best to make every night enjoyable for our guests while keeping it reasonably priced. Right now we have started a renovation project on our rooms. We think the updated look will give our guests something extra to smile about. Let us know if you every plan on taking another one night getaway. If you'd like to give me a call I can give you some recommendations of great places to visit in the area.

Sincerely,
Matt Grusznis, AmericInn Carlton Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

I come up to this part of the country from time to time for business. I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past 4 years. While it is no Ritz Carlton - it certainly is a nice and clean place to stay and rest. I have not had any bad experiences here since coming for the past few years so I am puzzled by some of the bad reviews. Mary and most of the staff I have met are very accommodating and always seem to help me out. They have a really nice indoor pool and hot tub. I was in the jacuzzi suites a couple of times and they are nice too. Breakfast in the morning is pretty good although I am more of an omlette guy. See you next time!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcinoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

I came to get away and to rest and relax. I stayed 3 nights. The first night was good (Thursday), Friday and Saturday night were horrible. There were screaming kids and parents and kids were running everywhere unsupervised. The first night the front desk person talked to the parents the entire time and never asked them to be quiet. I complained the second night (I'm not a complainer) and the man at the front desk asked the parents and kids to be quiet afterwards. There was still lots of screaming, stomping, running, even kids pushing eachother into my door. DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT STAYING DURING HOCKEY SEASON if you want rest and relaxation!!!

Besides the loudness the other thing I would say was there were lots of stains on the comforter and one of them is a blood stain. There are cob webs on the ceiling and the refridgerator does not work.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
20.4 km away
Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
28.8 km away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
28.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 km away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#7 of 33 in Duluth
376 reviews
31.6 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
491 reviews
20.5 km away
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton
Address: 1716 Highway 210, Carlton, MN 55718-8161
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Carlton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton is located off I-35 and opposite the Black Bear Casino. We are , approximately, 5.5 Miles from the Jay Cooke state park and 20 miles south of Duluth. The area has a lot of bike trails, walking trails, skiing and snowmobiling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing