We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Whitefish Lodge and Suites(Crosslake)(Great Value!)
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Brainerd)
US$80
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$127
US$118
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
93
39
0
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
93
39
0
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids campoutdoor poolyoung grandkidsup northlabor daynorthern minnesotafamily vacationa huge hitrecommend this resortrocking chairswhole weekbeautiful landscapingfull kitchentennis courtsround of golfwalleyefamily bingo
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Went to Octoberfest at Ruttgers and it was great!
I was impressed with everything they had to offer.
Great resort!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnesotaEmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

First time staying at Ruttgers. We stayed three nights this fall with our two smaller dogs in the pet friendly room in the West Lodge. Weather was not too cooperative but we were using Rutgers a base for some day drives to see fall colors in the state parks and area so we actually were able to drive out of the rain during the day. The room was super clean and comfortable with nice amenities such as small refrigerator, sofa and a screened porch. The property is large with many activities on the lake, golf etc. and lodging options ranging from the hotel type lodge rooms and condo/townhouses to individual cabins. Dining options on site are good. As it was the end of the season the main dining room had a limited menu but there are numerous options nearby.

Room Tip: Pet friendly options are limited to a couple of lodge rooms, three smaller cabins or some condos managed by the property about 3 miles from the main lodge. Call well in advance during peak season
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We first found Ruttger's last year. The entire resort is great. The greatness starts at the front desk with your check in. They were helpful numerous times when we called down for directions to neighboring towns & to get additional items or maintenance requests.
We had a door knob not working and a maintenance worker was at our room in about 5-10 minutes to fix it. The response time was more than wonderful.
The rates are good for the amount of space that you get. We stayed in the golf course condos & had both the downstairs & upstairs rooms. There is an adjoining staircase between the 2 rooms. we felt safe enough to have our young teenagers stay upstairs "on their own", with the doors open between the 2 rooms.
I told my son that I was going to write this review & what could I put for "bad or needs improvement". He said about the only thing he could think of was that there were too many Asian beetles in the stairway (it was getting cold out & the little bugs were starting to migrate inside). We were very hard pressed to find anything majorly wrong with this resort.
The owners are genuine & humble. They can be seen working the grounds right along with the employees.
Housekeeping was extremely accommodating when we asked them to come back since the teenagers were still sleeping.
We were there for Oktoberfest & they had many fun things for families to do.

Room Tip: We loved the golf course condo suite (upstairs & downstairs together)
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happycampers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We took our 2nd trip to Ruttgers in late June - my parents, my siblings and all our kids. Our group of 23 ranged in age from 5 to 73, and Ruttgers didn't disappoint! There is so much to keep everyone busy. There are daily activities that will please all members of your group. We stayed in the newer buildings closer to the road, and we were very pleased with the modern and spacious accommodations. The ladies all got pedicures at the spa - highly recommended. The sand castle contest was a huge hit, even though the kids came in second again this year. We'll get them next time. The food is great - if you have time, order off the menu. We found the freshly prepared food to be higher quality, especially at breakfast. Ruttgers is not inexpensive, but we love it and will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aws1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Fun spot, with both old and new accommodations. We stayed in an old lake side cabin, very fun....feels like something out of a movie.
Definite shows it's age, but I think that's part of it's beauty.
Room was very rustic, but had AC, and it's own deck.
Restaurant lounge were nice, outdoor pool area is kinda small, but has a large beach area on the lake.
Has pontoon and ski boat rentals but I'd reserve in advance, cause nothing was available the weekend we were up there.
Golf course was fun, nice club house there, with great outdoor dining off the back deck.
Would like to go back and bring the kids!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimstooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews