We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time...but feel like we missed out...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Deerwood
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Time...but feel like we missed out...”
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Happened upon a last -minute deal on their website while we were in Minneapolis so decided to stop for three nights on our way home. Got a nice one BR condo "overlooking the golf course". We were in a lower level condo and actually could not see the golf course because of a landscaping berm that blocked our view. But the condo was spacious, clean and quiet so the lack of a view was not a big deal. While I was golfing Friday morning, my wife decided to make coffee. Coffee maker did not work so she phoned the front desk around 10 a.m. and was told housekeeping would bring a new one right away. When I returned from golf at 11:30 they still had not replaced it. We walked to the main lodge for lunch and mentioned the coffee maker at the front desk. A new one was waiting for us when we returned from lunch.

The resort has lovely grounds with a lot of different accommodations. The Bay Lake Villas look particularly nice. The two pools (indoor and out) were clean and comfortable and the food and beverage service at the outdoor pool was exceptionally prompt and friendly. Actually, service everywhere was very good.

While having lunch on the deck one day we heard a woman asking the bartenders for a first aid kit because a girl had cut her foot on some glass at the beach. The bar did not have a kit but called the front desk and gave the woman some napkins. We later saw the little girl with her bandaged foot but found it curious that the resort left the swimming area open without ensuring there was no more glass on the beach or in the water...

The resort offers a number of services (too numerous to mention all here-see their website for more) but of particular note are free use of canoes, kayaks, water bikes and pedal boats for guests. You can also rent speedboats, fishing boats and pontoon boats.

The food at the resort was good but not spectacular. We had lunch on the deck twice, burgers one day that were good and chicken salad sandwiches and soup the next day that were better. The dinner buffet, in my opinion, is not one of their strong points, despite the $30 price. On the night we had the buffet it offered the usual salads and desserts (quite good) and roasted chicken (dry and overpowered by spices), salmon (good), barbecue ribs (just ok-tasted like the sauce was an afterthought) and prime rib (quite good).

Another sore point for us was missing out on some of the activities while we were guests. Apparently, the resort has different activities each day (things like bingo, karaoke, bonfires, even a wine and cheese reception with the Ruttger's themselves) but appears to post the weekly schedule only in a couple of locations. We did not see the schedule until the night before we left. It seems to me it would make sense to either give each guest a copy of the schedule upon check-in or have housekeeping place a schedule in each property once a week.

All these minor quibbles aside, we enjoyed our stay at Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge and would recommend it to others, especially if you can score one of their last-minute deals!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PowerPlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    38
    0
    5
    3
See reviews for
71
22
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

I am sure this site is inundated with excellent reviews for Ruttger's, but I just wanted to say something to anyone NOT from Minnesota looking to come enjoy our beautiful summertime weather. Ruttger's offers the quintessential Minnesota summer vacation. This is a PERFECT place to go with a family, or alone with your sweetheart. The food is excellent, the service is unbelievable, the accomodations are super clean, and the amenities will keep you relaxed and having fun. I absolutely LOVE Ruttger's and it is my favorite place to go with my kids every summer. I cannot think of one bad thing about it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnesotaGirl2009038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, MN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We stayed at Ruttger's for one night and had beautiful accomodations. This is our second trip in a month. I'm glad we returned. Our living room had a fireplace, the kitchen was nice, and it was ABSOLUTELY SPOTLESS. This is a lovely family resort. We will return with our children and grandchildren.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseGrowsWoodbury_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Great amenities... beautiful lake setting, water play for the teens, golf for the adults, shopping, nice dining room.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lbsch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baylaker65, Owner at Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 12 April 2010
Thank you for being our guest and leaving such a nice review on TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon.

Chris Ruttger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2009

This was our first time to Ruttger's, and we were NOT disappointed. Went to the Brainerd Lakes area for a wedding, and found the later summer rate for a Battle Creek Condo to be more reasonable than getting a decent hotel in Brainerd. My wife and I traveled with a 5yr old and a 5 month old, and were very pleased with the spaciousness of the condo we stayed in. Our condo had a king bed, pull out sofa, screened in porch, a fireplace, and a full kitchen. We could see and walk to part of the lake/shore, had a pool (outdoor), hottub, sauna (indoor), and a small kids play area nearby, and were just 2 minutes from the main lodge, where we went to use the indoor pool and the large kids playground equipment. Explored with our 5 yr old and wished we had more time to stay to see more smiles on his face. The staff was friendly and courteous, the facilities were kept up nicely, and although we didn't have the opportunity to eat at Ruby's, I got the impression it would be worth the trip back to do so. When we checked out, I left with the feeling that I wanted to come back next summer with the kids, and possibly on a separate trip with dad to just go fishing. Enjoyed my stay, and I am looking forward to our next family stay at Ruttger's.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We recently celebrated my husband's 60th birthday at Ruttgers with 3 other couples. We stayed in "Janes Cottage" and it couldn't have been nicer. We were so thrilled with the size of the cabin and how clean it all was. We each had our own suite with bathroom. Several bedrooms have fireplaces, and jacuzzi tub. We had a dock on the lake to ourselves and a wonderful firepit. We got the golf package and that included unlimited golf and meals. It was the best two days, if only the weather would have cooperated, but hey this is Minnesota !!!! The food was very, very good. Breakfast was huge and we got to order off the menu. The main dining room was not open for dinner so we ate at Zig's which was also very good. The resort is lovely and the grounds very well kept. We will go back...

Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lanzie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpls, MN
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

My wife and toddler daughter and I visited Ruttgers for July 4 weekend. We have relatives nearby and so only spent part of our time at the resort. It was our first time at Ruttgers, and we had a great stay. We are happy to recommend this resort - which is a classic 'up north' family resort.

The resort is on Bay Lake, which is about 2 hours from Maple Grove (northwestern Minneapolis suburbs), so the distance is really great for a weekend trip. We knew Thursday evening, July 3, would be really bad traffic, so we left early on Friday, July 4, and that was just fine. Traffic is definitely an issue to Brainerd-area resorts on the summer weekends, especially holiday weekends.

We stayed in the West Lodge. Our room was nothing fancy, but it was large. We had plenty of room to set out the Pak-n-Play, even with 2 king beds. It was a quiet room, which we always appreciate. The building is completely non-smoking. We used the indoor pool, which was nice. The resort was at full capacity so service was a bit slow at the bar restaurant, but still friendly and efficient. The staff throughout the resort is excellent. We did not eat at Ruby's, but both breakfast and dinner looked awesome.

The place has everything a family could want. We didn't get to use as much of the resort as we would have liked as we spent a lot of time at our relatives' cabin; but it really is a nice resort and worth all the accolades and praise.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lazy_curmudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerwood
38.7 km away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
275 reviews
38.4 km away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
430 reviews
7.6 km away
Country Inn Deerwood
Country Inn Deerwood
#3 of 3 in Deerwood
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.6 km away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
34.3 km away
Whitefish Lodge and Suites
38.8 km away
Kavanaugh's Sylvan Lake Resort
Kavanaugh's Sylvan Lake Resort
#3 of 3 in East Gull Lake
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge

Property: Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge
Address: 25039 Tame Fish Lake Rd, Deerwood, MN 56444-8544
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Deerwood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Deerwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run resort on Bay Lake is over 100 years old and offers programs for children. The property is open between April and November. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruttger`s Bay Lake Hotel Deerwood
Ruttgers Bay Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing