We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Premier The Lodge on Lake Detroit
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Host Inn(Detroit Lakes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fair Hills Resort(Detroit Lakes)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Maplelag(Callaway)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveller rating
449
54
10
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
449
54
10
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelspa servicessmall barboat slipscomplimentary breakfastsmall beachbeautiful viewget awayrooms are greatfamily reunionbeach areapaddle boardsoff seasonhot tubdetroitbalconylake
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 523 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2017

I stay in Detroit Lakes regularly for business. This is THE place to stay. Every room overlooks the lake. Friendly, yet quiet atmosphere. Not typical of a chain hotel, this one is detail focused, from the fruit water in the lobby and s'mores at night, to the Cottonelle toilet paper.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2017

The Lodge never disappoints. The beds are comfortable, the decor is very "Minnesota Lake" - but elegant, not cheesy. We enjoy having the balcony view of the lake. The breakfast is substantail with many choices. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank G347JWdavidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017

We stayed here for a quick overnight while on vacation. Check in was fast and friendly. There was a minor issue with our first room and we were immediately switched to a second room. They indicated that they also would give us a 10% discount for the trouble (we didn't ask for the discount). The room was clean and very nice. The hot tub in the room was outstanding! The balcony overlooking the lake was nice. The Smore' bar was cute and out of the ordinary. Breakfast was significantly better than the typical hotel breakfast. Upon checkout we didn't get the 10% discount that was indicated at check in. That was disappointing, but I didn't complain because we hadn't asked for a discount for a minor problem. Overall it was a great night!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikertrash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017

Everything was excellent at this motel. Very friendly people at the check in. The motel is beautiful and located right on the lake. The breakfast was excellent and you can tell that extra efforts have been made to make the breakfast stand out. There is also a small bar open in the evenings and that was also a nice touch. Overall, the staff was excellent, the rooms were clean and nicely decorated, the entire stay was way above average. We also had a business meeting and staff came in and helped with the technology.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 278deanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

Loved this place for a little family getaway.

We had the king room with kitchen, great to have a fully stocked kitchen (stovetop but not oven) to make kids lunch, wash baby bottles, etc. The family 2 room suite was booked but we will definitely request that next time just to have another room and a balcony.

Make sure to ask if your room has balcony.

All rooms have gorgeous lake views and sunsets.

Train goes by but is not loud, and my 2 year old boy loved watching them.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank travelingfamlily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews