We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Local Fare with Great Service”

PIckwick Restaurant & Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
PIckwick Restaurant & Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 285 Restaurants in Duluth
Price range: US$0 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Pickwick Restaurant & Pub is a historic restaurant located in Duluth, MN. An area landmark since 1914, the restaurant and full bar serves a variety of pub food and is known for its homemade soup and award-winning, chargrilled steaks. Hosting live music every Thursday and happy hour specials from our full bar from 3:00 - 6:00 PM Monday - Friday, Pickwick's is truly the place to be in Duluth, MN!
Reviewed August 19, 2018

The 5 of us were in Duluth at the same time as the Blues Festival so made our reservations for Saturday night as soon as we arrived. We requested a WINDOW at 7:30p and got it! Well worth asking b/c the view of the Lake was wonderful. Server (Reba) was superb - she didn't skip a cheerful efficient beat when we asked for separate checks! We started with their specialty gigantic onion rings and added totally to die for plump deep fried and delicious walleye fingers. None of us had ever had such fresh plump walleye ever! Main dishes came with veges and choice of salads and dressings. We added cocktails and wine and we two women took good portions of our generous dinner back to our hotels! Scallops, pork chops, swordfish, lake trout - all scrumptious! This was the favorite hang out for someone's father, and we all could see and taste why. Highly recommend. Get reservations. Ask for a window!!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CoolLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 417 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

Nice place, casual setting, decent stakes with comparable price value. Overall, good option for downtown dinning.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Flyby0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018

We ate at this restaurant as part of our first time visiting Duluth! We made a reservation 3 weeks before coming through Open Table. We had arrived 10 minutes early for our reservation and were told that our reservation was for 6:30 and our table would be ready at 6:30. I didn't have a problem with that since we were early. There weren't any people waiting in the waiting area so I was a little perplexed by this but still was fine with this since we were early until our 6:30 time came and went. No one at the reception's desk was acknowledging that we were standing there and as I approached the desk they asked what our name was...………..Long story short, they didn't have a table for us for whatever reason. The manager did offer to buy us a round of drinks, and seat us in the Pub area and did apologize for the inconvenience. We were a little disappointed because we do not live in Duluth and we would have liked to be seated in the dining room for the view of the water (there is no view at all in the Pub area).

With all of that said, we had a wonderful waiter, David, in the Pub area, we had fantastic food (yes, we ordered the onion rings) ranging from the Prime Rib, to the scallops, to the vegetable kabob! We found the food to be fantastic and the service outstanding.

We chose this restaurant because when we visit new places we like to eat in local establishments. This restaurant has been at this location since 1914 and has all of the hardwoods to prove it.

We would definitely eat here again! Maybe we will even get into the dining room next time!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank doitl8tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018

This is one of the oldest and most well known restaurants in Duluth. From the rear windows you can get a great view of the lake and the canal area.
The service is very professional, knowledgeable and attentive. The menu is legible and not to extensive. The servings are ample and the taste is great.
Onion rings with a tap beer is a great starter. The barrel steak and walleye are favorites and for good reason, although the filet is a bit pricey. IMO, avoid the outdoor "patio' area. It is a section of fenced in parking lot that picks up a lot of noise from traffic and ventilating fans.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank davidlind1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2018

I've eaten at the Pickwick Restaurant every time I visit Duluth, I can count on them to give outstanding service and their food is delicious. I've traveled the United States extensively and they definitely serve the best onion rings - their own recipe since about 1970... Parking is easy, they are located next to the Fitgers Inn, Brewery and shopping area so you can park and walk around if you desire.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to PIckwick Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing