We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great B&B Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Solglimt Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
South St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great B&B Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

My sister and I spent the weekend at Solglimt on a weekend trip to Duluth. We stayed in the Kandinsky suite which was delightful. The breakfasts were delicious and Brian and Mary were helpful with restaurant suggestions. I would definitely stay here again. Much more interesting than the hotels close by.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
71
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, MS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

I joined my husband on a business trip to Duluth, and we stayed at the Solglimt on August 22-24, 2010. I researched our trip via the internet and found the Solglimt. I was fascinated by this B&B. It is a totally different feel from any other B&B that we have stayed in - very laid back and casual.

We stayed in Kadinsky's Loft and loved it! The Loft is decorated in vibrant colors and has loads of natural light. You have a view of the Aerial Lift Bridge through the skylight. There is a view of the Lake through another skylight and a view of the harbor through the front window. All of the windows and skylights have blackout shades. The couch was so comfortable, and I loved to sit there and read. The bath has a large shower and a lot of space with a full dresser and large sink. There are so many fun and funky details in this room!

The common rooms of the house are beautiful with panoramic views from virtually every window. The inn sits on the beach of Park Point exactly 12 houses from the Bridge. We enjoyed being able to walk to Canal Park and avoid the hassles and expense of parking. The rooms are on different levels throughout the house. There is a computer for guests' use in the dining room. We enjoyed seeing the other suites, and they were all beautiful! The grounds of the inn are gorgeous with water features and fountains.

The breakfasts were wonderful! The apricot scones would melt in your mouth! Breakfasts are served in the dining room or on the deck overlooking the Lake (weather permitting). The kitchen is open, and it is fun to watch Mary and Brian at work! Mary is an incredible cook and Brian makes everything look fabulous! There are complimentary sodas, water, hot tea, and coffee available. Fresh baked chocolate chip cookies, along with salty snacks, were available each day.

Mary and Brian were extremely gracious hosts taking time to visit and answer any questions. We enjoyed visiting with them immensely!

You cannot beat this inn's location and uniqueness!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmdathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
282 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

If you think that, for even a second, this place might not be worth the money, you're wrong.

The location is ideal: 12 houses over the bridge on Park Point, so you can walk to Canal Park and downtown without living in the tourist center. And, it's directly on the beach! You get your own private bit of land-- with beach chairs and towels, even a shower to rinse off in outside.

The hosts are intelligent, friendly and so much fun to talk with. And their breakfasts are stupendous. We had a smoked salmon wild rice hash with a poached egg on top, strawberry bread, and melon marinated in lime juice. Amazing.

The house itself is beautiful, as are the gardens. The bed may have been the most comfortable I've slept in...

I'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mollyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

From the moment we arrived and Brain was outside weeding the "to die for gardens" until we left the next morning, everything was just brilliant, beautiful, calming, peaceful and so enjoyable.
We were outside for most of our stay and didn't want it to end...just exploring the grounds, playing cards and backgammon, sipping coffee and walking on the beach...not enuf time ..Great in every aspect..Thanks for a wonderful experience..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

We stayed here for one night but wish we could have stayed longer! It is right on the beach of Lake Superior and 1/2 block from the arial lift bridge. It is an easy walk to Canal Park to avoid paying for parking.

We stayed in the Harbor View room which is gorgeous! The decorating is beautiful and not too frilly like some B&Bs. The hosts are so nice and are always willing to give advice on where to eat and what to do. The breakfast in the morning was so good! I thought it would be weird to eat with a bunch of strangers but everyone was really nice and we exchanged ideas on what was fun to do in the area. After breakfast we were able to leave our car at the inn and we walked about 4 miles on the Lake Walk (we could've gone farther!) which is a trail that goes along the edge of the lake. The views were stunning!

I highly recommend this inn if you are staying in Duluth!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucky1524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

I booked 2 rooms here at the last minute and I really lucked out! Solglimt is amazing -- the BEST breakfast of any B&B I've ever stayed in, it was truly gourmet. I brought my husband and parents here for a short vacation. This was my parent's first time at a B&B and they now have unrealistic expectations for future B&B stays. My husband and I stayed in the Aerial Lift Bridge room -- which had a fantastic jetted tub and fire place. My parents stayed in the Harbor View Suite -- which had a double steam shower and four-poster bed. Both rooms had incredible views of Lake Superior -- we watched multiple ships come and go from the harbor. Mary and Brian, the innkeepers, are locals who are just the sweetest, most down-to-earth people. They were happy to assist us whenever we needed help. If you are looking for a B&B in our near Duluth this should be your first choice. It really has a central location that can't be beat -- literally on the beach!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank optic747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

My husband and I spent two nights at Solglimt as a mini-moon and it was so relaxing and worth every penny! We loved our room, the Park Point Suite. The view was so beautiful. Brian and Mary were great and so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was by far the best we ever had, we have stayed at other B&Bs. We loved that it was modern! We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.4 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.8 km away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.6 km away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.9 km away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#13 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solglimt Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

Property: Solglimt Bed & Breakfast
Address: 828 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2404
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Duluth MN bed breakfasts offer a more intimate experience with Lake Superior's shores. Right here in Canal Park, Solglimt brings you as close to the Lake as you can get! Solglimt, is on a seven-mile strip of sand reaching out into Lake Superior’s clear blue. Relax in your perfectly appointed room and head down for a delicately prepared gourmet meal, then head out to explore our gardens, the shore, the ships and the city beyond. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing