We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Solglimt Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed 11 August 2010

From the moment we arrived and Brain was outside weeding the "to die for gardens" until we left the next morning, everything was just brilliant, beautiful, calming, peaceful and so enjoyable.
We were outside for most of our stay and didn't want it to end...just exploring the grounds, playing cards and backgammon, sipping coffee and walking on the beach...not enuf time ..Great in every aspect..Thanks for a wonderful experience..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
72
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We stayed here for one night but wish we could have stayed longer! It is right on the beach of Lake Superior and 1/2 block from the arial lift bridge. It is an easy walk to Canal Park to avoid paying for parking.

We stayed in the Harbor View room which is gorgeous! The decorating is beautiful and not too frilly like some B&Bs. The hosts are so nice and are always willing to give advice on where to eat and what to do. The breakfast in the morning was so good! I thought it would be weird to eat with a bunch of strangers but everyone was really nice and we exchanged ideas on what was fun to do in the area. After breakfast we were able to leave our car at the inn and we walked about 4 miles on the Lake Walk (we could've gone farther!) which is a trail that goes along the edge of the lake. The views were stunning!

I highly recommend this inn if you are staying in Duluth!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucky1524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

I booked 2 rooms here at the last minute and I really lucked out! Solglimt is amazing -- the BEST breakfast of any B&B I've ever stayed in, it was truly gourmet. I brought my husband and parents here for a short vacation. This was my parent's first time at a B&B and they now have unrealistic expectations for future B&B stays. My husband and I stayed in the Aerial Lift Bridge room -- which had a fantastic jetted tub and fire place. My parents stayed in the Harbor View Suite -- which had a double steam shower and four-poster bed. Both rooms had incredible views of Lake Superior -- we watched multiple ships come and go from the harbor. Mary and Brian, the innkeepers, are locals who are just the sweetest, most down-to-earth people. They were happy to assist us whenever we needed help. If you are looking for a B&B in our near Duluth this should be your first choice. It really has a central location that can't be beat -- literally on the beach!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank optic747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2009

My husband and I spent two nights at Solglimt as a mini-moon and it was so relaxing and worth every penny! We loved our room, the Park Point Suite. The view was so beautiful. Brian and Mary were great and so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was by far the best we ever had, we have stayed at other B&Bs. We loved that it was modern! We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Mn
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Our stay at Solglimt was our first bed & breakfast experience. Brian and Mary are great hosts -- friendly, helpful and attentive to details, but also not intrusive. Their home has several public areas to relax and enjoy the view, and 5 rooms (all nicely appointed). We stayed in Kandinsky's Loft. It is a modern space that we found nice and cozy. My only caution for this room is that the bathroom and bedroom are one area, so there is limited privacy (all other rooms have a separate and private bathroom).

The B&B is located just over the lift bridge and is right on the Lake. Breathtaking views! The food is also very nice (3 courses of delicious food each morning), and they have snacks and soda/teas available all day and night. This is a wonderful place to go with a spouse/partner or for some quiet time alone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMinTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We traveled to Duluth for a romantic get-a-way. Solglimt is PERFECTLY located and the view of the lake and the ships passing could not be better. Our room was nice and large with bright fun decor, with an excellent view. The breakfasts can only be described as amazing (and very creative). The property sits right on the water and your own beach could not be closer. We were lucky, the weather was beyond exceptonial so we did get to spend some rejuvinating time with our feet in the sand. The retaurants and night life are just a short walk away if you so choose or parking is readily available even during the busy times of the day. We stayed in the recently finished Aerial Bridge Suite. . . Ahhhhhh . . . . The Thermomasseur tub was a welcome oasis after an unusally hectic week for us. The seperate walk in shower was incredible and it was tempting to spend our entire time in there! :-) The gracious hospitality and service of owners Mary & Brian assueres we will return. We look forward to exerience ALL the seasons in our new home away from home. We have stayed at numerous Bed & Breakfast properties . . . Solglimt stand in a class of it's own!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B-Ktogetherforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Ripley, MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Those lines are on the front of their brochure describe Solglimt perfectly. We stayed at Solglimt June 13-15 to celebrate our 36th anniversary and to return to the Duluth/Lake Superior experience. Mary and Brian have transformed their home into an amazing B and B...we stayed in the Park Point Suite, one of two brand new additions. It was so comfortable..chairs by the window looking out on their gardens and the lake, a SUPER comfy bed with beautiful soft linens, a massage tub and seperate shower room. The colors are earthy, warm and relaxing. This is an all green (environmentally concious) suite that had every need met down to soft robes and wine glasses. The food was 5 stars both days..delicious, beautifully prepared and presented. I could go on about the gardens, the decks, the seating by the lake, the beach.This B and B is within walking distance to shopping, great restaurants, the beach, the ships coming through the lift bridge, night activities, a marina..so many things. It is so convenient! I encourage you to book a reservation for yourself. We can't wait to return...come spring?
Thank you, Mary and Brian, for a lovely stay~it was a 10 out of a 10!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.4 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.6 km away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.2 km away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.8 km away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.9 km away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solglimt Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

Property: Solglimt Bed & Breakfast
Address: 828 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2404
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Duluth MN bed breakfasts offer a more intimate experience with Lake Superior's shores. Right here in Canal Park, Solglimt brings you as close to the Lake as you can get! Solglimt, is on a seven-mile strip of sand reaching out into Lake Superior’s clear blue. Relax in your perfectly appointed room and head down for a delicately prepared gourmet meal, then head out to explore our gardens, the shore, the ships and the city beyond. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing