We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveller rating
351
121
24
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
351
121
24
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caribou coffee cheesy hash browns canal park complimentary appetizers within walking distance waffles awesome hotel fire pit lake superior lake view free breakfast hot breakfast lift bridge rooms are spacious walking path duluth hotel other hotels
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 512 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2017 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay for two nights while attending a wedding. Three couples and all agreed it was one of the best stays we have had. Comfortable beds, quiet rooms, great breakfasts, and the views are amazing. The Canal Park Brewery next door makes this an awesome place to stay!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jim277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Thanks Jim for staying with us and bringing your friends with. Happy your had a good time at the Lodge and at the wedding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2017

If you think of how to make the perfect hotel - you would use this as the blueprint. It is perfect in every way, from the friendly staff to the temporary bar in the lobby in the evenings, (with light snacks), to the amazing free breakfast, to the extremely large rooms with amazing views, to the ability to check out late. Everything was perfect.

Room tip: Ask for a room with the view of the water.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iowaaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2017

Wow! Thanks! So happy everything was Amazing for you. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your return visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2017

In early October, 4 of us headed here for a weekend girls' getaway. We had a fantastic time and highly recommend this hotel. We reserved a room with a balcony overlooking Lake Superior---a Must! There were chairs and a nice little table for sitting outside, affording fresh air and an excellent view of ships coming in. The boardwalk is right outside the back door, and it is an easy walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, and activities in Canal Park. The hotel itself is easy to access, as it is right at the entrance to the park and allows you to avoid the traffic further in. Super friendly staff, comfortable beds, no surprises on the bill. We'll be back!

Room tip: Reserve a room on the Lake Superior side, with a balcony!
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank texlaw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Thanks for staying with us. Happy to hear that the "weekend girls' getaway" was a success. We look forward to your return getaways.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2017

While the busiest weekend of the year, we were told, check-in on Saturday of Thanksgiving weekend was a complete disappointment. We were told they were understaffed, and that's the part we don't understand. Good management would staff adequately for the busiest weekend, we thought, in the interest of satisfying the customers! We were not the only ones unable to check in on time and inconvenienced. We went onto our evening activity without the chance to change and refresh in our room, and our memory-making weekend w grandkids included a memory of stress and disappointment.

Here's hoping they fix the problem for the future. Thanks to the front desk staff for doing their very best, and after we asked for it, issuing a credit for a future stay.

Room tip: Lake facing is ideal
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Minnetrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the delay you experienced checking in. I'm happy the Front Desk compensated you for the inconvenience.
I know you had made your reservation through Expedia and had paid them directly so I apologize if the Front Desk didn't act quick enough on how to compensate you. Normally we would just credit the room directly, but we had Expedia's credit card as payment here at the Hotel, not yours.

As far as staffing adequately for the busiest weekend of the year: We have 116 guest rooms and most weekends we sell out. So every weekend is busy and Management fully staffs every weekend. Our schedules are only produced a week out so we can best assign staff to those busy days needed. There are times throughout the year that businesses find themselves in need of more employees. Duluth's unemployment rate is very low - 3.1% in October. So there's not a line of potential housekeepers beating down the doors at any hotel in this market. It's a tough job and I'm grateful to the ones I work with at the Lodge.
Restaurants can deal with an inadequate staffing situation by only opening as many table as they can accommodate for that day. That's because reservations at restaurants are typically only made the day of, but at hotels reservations happen months in advanced so we have to try and accommodate all our guests as best we can.
I again apologize for failing your check-in time expectations, but rest assured that we are continuously working to improve, and again appreciate your comments and concerns.
We look forward to your return visit and I truly hope at that time your memories will be of a stress free experience, and I hope you will again share that with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2017

We were in town for my son's hockey tournament. It was a great room that was clean and updated. The breakfast was good as well as the afternoon appetizers. The hotel is pricey but it's probably one of the best locations in Duluth. We will stay again.

Date of stay: November 2017
Thank geree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

Thanks for staying with us. Hopefully your team did well in the tournament. The great thing about coming to Duluth in December for a tournament is that you can bring the kids over to Bentleyville to see Santa, the lights, hot chocolate, and roast marshmallows at their fire pits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews