We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Downtown Duluth Inn
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Although it is an older property, it is well maintained and a nice little hide-a-way. The staff treats you like you were at the Ritz. It's a couple blocks up from the lake, so it makes for a nice stroll down the hill. I didn't find much I didn't like about it, matter of fact I didn't find any thing wrong with it. Five star service at a two star price.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scottidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Thanks so much for your 5 star review and rating, we really appreciate the positive feedback. We take pride in making sure that every guest has an enjoyable stay here, and in Duluth. Please let us know when you will be back so we can thank you in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

This was my second time staying at this Best Western. First time was a fantastic unplanned trip. I knew I'd be in Duluth in advance for this trip, and having many options in the downtown area I chose the Best Western again purely because of how great my previous stay was.

The staff there are some of the most personable people I've met in their industry. The prices are extremely fair, and it is so close to everything that I was able to walk throughout my stay.

The place is on the older side, but it's obvious they are being proactive about keeping up with the 21st century. The manager pointed out to me some of the updates they've been working on in one of our conversations. They had just installed new heaters in the rooms which I appreciated.

A fantastic place to stay for the price. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for someone looking for a pool, spa, or mint on their pillow.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arcochad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Thanks for choosing us again, and for posting your candid comments. You are our ideal guest - someone who is looking for great value, great location and great service. We'll be happy to welcome you back the next time you are in Duluth. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This was a lovely little room to stay one night to visit some colleges in the area. If I had to stay here longer, I would have liked a bigger room, and bigger bathroom, with quieter fan and air conditioner/heater. But overall a great experience for what I paid, and may consider coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and I hope your college visits went well. It was nice of you to take the time to post your comments. Size does matter, depending on how much time you plan on spending in the room versus out and about in the city and surrounding area. We look forward to our next opportunity to serve you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I enjoyed this staying here. The room we got was spacious and quiet aside from the occasional child running up and down the stairs. The water for some reason didn't work when I woke up in the morning but did later on. The proximity to the rest of Duluth was very nice being that everything was within walking distance and meal options were close by too. The price was also great compared to other hotels in the area. If we are in the area again and looking for a place to stay we will definitely be looking at this Best Western as an option.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shischkabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Thanks for taking the time to make your recommendation - everyone here really appreciates it. I'm glad you were happy with the value and location of our motel and hope you will introduce yourself next time you are here so we can thank you in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This motel is very old and very tired. There is no elevator and the carpeted stairs leading up to the second floor is worn and thin. All rooms are around the parking lot and it is located in an old section of town. The people working the desk, especially Reno, are very friendly and helpful. The price of the room came with a "sort of" breakfast. The hard boiled eggs are already peeled so we did not want to eat them. There is cereal, sausage, muffins, bagels and toast, juice and coffee. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was a good size, but the grout needed attention. The walls were paper thin and we could hear people coming in and out of their rooms and talking inside. There was no body lotion-just shampoo and conditioner and a hair dryer. The heater worked well. The price we paid $78, was just right!! There is a Raddison, Holiday Inn and other nicer places down on Canal Park that we would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gypsies-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2011

I'm sorry you were disappointed with our hotel during your recent visit, please accept my apologies. Thank you for sharing your comments, which give us a better perspective on what our guests are experiencing. Reno is terrific and inspires us all to do our best every day with every guest. I hope you will consider staying with us again when you are looking for a good value the next time you visit Duluth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

While an old motel, it was clean, quiet and the staff was very helpful. It is within walking distance to Canal Park, where there are many restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sstarlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

I'm glad you were happy with your choice to stay with us - thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I will share your review with the rest of our team, as we all really appreciate the positive recognition of our work here. I hope we can serve you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

For the single traveller or backpacker hiking through the area, this is an ideal motel to stay at. It's right in the centre of downtown, and there is easy access to Duluth Transit, and about four blocks from the Skyline Shuttle (minibus to Mpls./St. Paul). The YMCA is 2 blocks away, as is Canal Park and lots of restaurants. The rooms are small, and again, for the single traveller, this is ideal. I typically stay at hostels during my travels, and this is the closest you'll find in Duluth at an affordable rate. Do check the rates during various times and see what they are, as they tend to change.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FortFrances807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

I'm so glad you found us and enjoyed your stay enough to write about it, thank you . I remember the security, simplicity and cameraderie of hostel stays and really like your comparison. Please let us know when you will be back so we can welcome you in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
0.5 km away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
3.5 km away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
5.3 km away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#3 of 31 in Duluth
425 reviews
5.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downtown Duluth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Inn

Address: 131 W 2nd St, Duluth, MN 55802-2193 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range: $96 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location is what draws many travelers to our Duluth hotel, but it's the hospitality and top quality that brings return guests to us. Duluth hotels are already known for great hospitality, but we go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. Our North Shore hotel has everything you need for a spectacular getaway, like luxury bedding, spacious rooms that are comfortable and cool, and a free daily breakfast. Canal Park and the Lakewalk along the shores of Lake Superior are minutes from our hotel located in downtown Duluth, making it easy for guests to enjoy the beauty of the region. At our Lake Superior hotel, the best of the city is right around the corner. Enjoy downtown shopping or head to Miller Hill Mall for a wide selection of favorite shops. The Blues Festival is a local favorite, but the Grandma's Marathon has runners of all ages coming to town. The Reggae Festival and NorthShore Inline Marathon(R) are also popular events near our Duluth hotel. Whether you're here for Bike MS(R)150 or to visit Bentleyville, a great location can make all the difference. We're also close to hospitals like Essentia Health, St. Luke's, St. Mary's and Miller Dwan, which is convenient for medical patients and healthcare workers in town for business. We cater to a wide range of business travelers at our Duluth hotel. Events at Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) and AMSOIL Arena draw in tradeshow attendees and presenters from around the country. Local schools, colleges and universities also bring those looking for an extended stay to the property. St. Scholastica, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Duluth Business University and the University of Wisconsin Superior are all close to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing