We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic Room, Right Price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Downtown Duluth Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Downtown Duluth Inn
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Ontario
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Basic Room, Right Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

I stayed at this hotel because I was attending events at the waterfront (Incline Bowling, Vista Fleet) and wanted to be able to walk there without paying the waterfront hotel prices.
This hotel provided what I was looking for, no more, no less. The room was very small, but the bed was comfortable and the coffee maker worked. Continental breakfast was just fine. I didn't spend a lot of time in the room anyway. Walking to the waterfront was quick (less than 15 minutes) when taking the skywalks across the highway. Beautiful area and safe hotel. Thanks BW.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freezing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
I'm so glad you liked your stay here, thank you for writing and sharing your comments. Duluth does have a lot to offer, and you are right, we are a good choice for people who want to spend a lot of time in and around town, as opposed to in a hotel room. Please let us know when you will be back so we can thank you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    108
    85
    41
    33
See reviews for
83
120
33
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bucyrus, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

the room felt cramped, it was however clean. at first sight i thought - what sis i just drive into,, but it was clean and the staff was great

Room Tip: I didn't use the "business center" in the lobby but it sure was busy. The exterior did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldnj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thanks for not letting your first impression be your last, and for taking the time to share your experience here. I'm glad you were happy with your choice and hope you will choose us again the next time you are looking for a great location and value in Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Very pleased with this hotel. The room was clean and the service was very friendly. I forgot my toothbrush and they gave me a new one. There was even a great continental breakfast included. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laxw09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
There are usually so many things to remember when traveling that it is easy to miss a thing or two. I am glad we were able to help & serve you, and that you were happy with your choice to stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to write and post your review and rating, and please let us know when you will be back so we can welcome you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Although it is an older property, it is well maintained and a nice little hide-a-way. The staff treats you like you were at the Ritz. It's a couple blocks up from the lake, so it makes for a nice stroll down the hill. I didn't find much I didn't like about it, matter of fact I didn't find any thing wrong with it. Five star service at a two star price.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scottidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Thanks so much for your 5 star review and rating, we really appreciate the positive feedback. We take pride in making sure that every guest has an enjoyable stay here, and in Duluth. Please let us know when you will be back so we can thank you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

This was my second time staying at this Best Western. First time was a fantastic unplanned trip. I knew I'd be in Duluth in advance for this trip, and having many options in the downtown area I chose the Best Western again purely because of how great my previous stay was.

The staff there are some of the most personable people I've met in their industry. The prices are extremely fair, and it is so close to everything that I was able to walk throughout my stay.

The place is on the older side, but it's obvious they are being proactive about keeping up with the 21st century. The manager pointed out to me some of the updates they've been working on in one of our conversations. They had just installed new heaters in the rooms which I appreciated.

A fantastic place to stay for the price. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for someone looking for a pool, spa, or mint on their pillow.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arcochad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thanks for choosing us again, and for posting your candid comments. You are our ideal guest - someone who is looking for great value, great location and great service. We'll be happy to welcome you back the next time you are in Duluth. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

This was a lovely little room to stay one night to visit some colleges in the area. If I had to stay here longer, I would have liked a bigger room, and bigger bathroom, with quieter fan and air conditioner/heater. But overall a great experience for what I paid, and may consider coming back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and I hope your college visits went well. It was nice of you to take the time to post your comments. Size does matter, depending on how much time you plan on spending in the room versus out and about in the city and surrounding area. We look forward to our next opportunity to serve you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

I enjoyed this staying here. The room we got was spacious and quiet aside from the occasional child running up and down the stairs. The water for some reason didn't work when I woke up in the morning but did later on. The proximity to the rest of Duluth was very nice being that everything was within walking distance and meal options were close by too. The price was also great compared to other hotels in the area. If we are in the area again and looking for a place to stay we will definitely be looking at this Best Western as an option.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shischkabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thanks for taking the time to make your recommendation - everyone here really appreciates it. I'm glad you were happy with the value and location of our motel and hope you will introduce yourself next time you are here so we can thank you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
4.7 km away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
0.6 km away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#20 of 33 in Duluth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
3.5 km away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
5.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downtown Duluth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Inn

Property: The Downtown Duluth Inn
Address: 131 W 2nd St, Duluth, MN 55802-2193 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location is what draws many travelers to our Duluth hotel, but it's the hospitality and top quality that brings return guests to us. Duluth hotels are already known for great hospitality, but we go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. Our North Shore hotel has everything you need for a spectacular getaway, like luxury bedding, spacious rooms that are comfortable and cool, and a free daily breakfast. Canal Park and the Lakewalk along the shores of Lake Superior are minutes from our hotel located in downtown Duluth, making it easy for guests to enjoy the beauty of the region. At our Lake Superior hotel, the best of the city is right around the corner. Enjoy downtown shopping or head to Miller Hill Mall for a wide selection of favorite shops. The Blues Festival is a local favorite, but the Grandma's Marathon has runners of all ages coming to town. The Reggae Festival and NorthShore Inline Marathon(R) are also popular events near our Duluth hotel. Whether you're here for Bike MS(R)150 or to visit Bentleyville, a great location can make all the difference. We're also close to hospitals like Essentia Health, St. Luke's, St. Mary's and Miller Dwan, which is convenient for medical patients and healthcare workers in town for business. We cater to a wide range of business travelers at our Duluth hotel. Events at Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) and AMSOIL Arena draw in tradeshow attendees and presenters from around the country. Local schools, colleges and universities also bring those looking for an extended stay to the property. St. Scholastica, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Duluth Business University and the University of Wisconsin Superior are all close to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing