We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel, but clean & well-kept”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Older hotel, but clean & well-kept”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel is older, but well-kept and clean. The beds were comfy. Staff was very friendly. Very decent value for the price we paid through Hotwire. It is not necessarily located in Duluth, rather just on the western outskirts. It does however, have a very convenient location right off the interstate & is still very close to everything in Duluth. The parking lot is steep & there are signs indicating only 4 wheel drive vehicles should park in the lots during the winter. The continental breakfast was filling with plenty of the typical hotel options. The breakfast area was clean and they stocked the area well. This hotel would be great for skiers, as it is very close to Spirit Mountain. It even has a ski waxing room for skiers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upnorth_wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    116
    100
    71
    59
See reviews for
195
89
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stay here very frequently, and for various types of travel; work, play, visiting. The rooms are very nice for the rate. The ski hill is right there, right on the interstate just a couple minutes from the fun parts of duluth. 10 min from the mall. The rates are unbelievably affordable. The free breakfast buffet is HUGE. I see reviews about being outdated, ect. Here's the deal, its frustrating to read reviews from people paying 49 buck a night for a room, and disappointed that its not of 5 star quality. especially with a huge pool area, hot tub, sauna, and that breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommyj62983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I don't tend to write a bad review about a hotel that I was a little frustrated with, but this hotel went way beyond disappointment.
By the pictures on their website it looked like a comfortable and nice place to bring my family. Misleading! Some of the hotel is nicely decorated, but for the most part it needs renovating and smells like an old ashtray. The pool was nice, breakfast was typical. They are located right next to the highway on a very steep hill. The parking does not have enough parking spaces for the guests when they are full.
My error was that I did not take note that there is a 72 hr cancelation policy. Huge error on my part. I have to say, they at least were willing to move the date, but they made it clear there would be no cancelation exception after this. My husband injured his knee, thus we prefered to come at a later date. There was no sympothy so we went for a family weekend getaway and made the best of it.
The walls are paper thin. A good nights sleep is not in order here. You can hear the noice in the halls as if the door were open and the walls between the rooms are no better. I'm thankful we had pretty quiet neighbors.
We were quoted $79.99. We ended up being charged $99.99 and the receptionist said she couldn't do anything about it and ended our little weekend with saying that it was our mistake for changing the date so many time (may I mention 1 time). I was so frustrated and didn't prefer to have a blow up at someone and just have left it alone and decided I'd write a review to warn anyone else.
If you're looking to reduce your hotel cost, in the past we have stayed at a hotel just over the river in Superior, Wisconsin. We'll have to check into this again.

Room Tip: Saving $20 by staying here isn't worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Saliah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Willmar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Good place to stay. Excellent staff. Went out of their way to assist me when my car wouldn't start. Very friendly. Had to spend all day in hotel due to a blizzard. Kept me posted on road conditions. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: I had poolside. They were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer River, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We used this motel for just an overnight shopping trip. The price was very reasonable. The room was clean and the beds comfprtable. Getting a room with a veiw of the parking lot was a bit disappointing as on this week night, when there weren't many people staying there. Upon our arrival the was a very strong odor of pool chemicals in the lobby and hallway. OK once we were in our room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. In the morning the chemical odor was covered by the smell of waffles from the breckfast area. Breakfast was the usual choice of bagels, muffins, dry cereal, oatmeal, and waffles. All in all, this motel was a good value for the price.

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Spent the weekend at spirit mountain. We had a poolside balcony room at the Best Value Inn. It was great for us. Comfortable beds and convenient for skiing.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tykerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We arrived on a Friday about 12:30 pm and were able to get an early check in since we called ahead earlier that morning and requested one, but others in our group (we had over 40 rooms at the hotel) who did not call were not able to get in early. Our room was clean, had a fridge, microwave, desk, small table with 2 chairs, small bathroom with the sink separate from the tub and toilet. Not all the rooms had a microwave and fridge. Our room overlooked the interstate and Spirit Mountain. There are basically 3 parking lots for the property, the two lower ones have signs indicating you NEED 4-wheel drive during the winter months when it snows/gets icy. There is no elevator, but if you are able to get a room on the 1st floor, you can enter on that parking level and not encounter stairs other than to get up to the front desk and breakfast area. The stairs weren't a huge deal for us, but this hotel is definitely not handicap friendly.

Breakfast was your run-of-the-mill continental breakfast with cereal, bagels, toast, muffins, waffles, juice, milk, etc.

I think my rating of this property as average is generous. This hotel is fine if you are just looking for a place to rest your head for a night, but I certainly wouldn't pay over $100.00/night like we had to as part of a group. The walls and ceilings are thin, we could hear every foot step in the room above us - and it was not because of rambunctious kids, we knew the adult above us and we could hear every time he got up, walked across the room and used the bathroom.

The bath amenities included a little packet of 1-use shampoo and conditioner, not a big deal for me either since I always bring my own and only use the hotel products if they are good. The towels were tiny and rough. Another person in our group closed the curtains on the first evening and a pair of dirty underwear fell out of the curtains.

Like I said, the close proximity to Spirit Mountain would make it perfect for a night or even two if you are looking at spending the majority of your time on the slopes. There is not much in the area - gas station next door, liquor store, McDonalds across the interstate, up the hill a few miles is the city proper of Proctor which does have a Blackwoods Bar and Grill and some other restaurants and bars.

That being said, I would NOT recommend this hotel for large groups, especially youth groups. Some of the staff were less than friendly (not all, just some - some were great). We had a meeting room reserved for our potluck and socializing, they allowed us to stay in there until 11:30 pm (an hour past their posted 10:30 pm end time) and we received numerous warnings about the noise even though we had all the rooms above and around the meeting room and we couldn't hear anything outside of the room.

The first morning, housekeeping wanted in our room at 9:20 am while were trying to get ready, we asked if they could come back in about half an hour (which would be the case with several people in our group since we were all leaving at roughly the same time), we were told they would try, but most of their housekeeping staff would be gone by then. Just a tip for the housekeeping staff, you may want to keep your language in check even while in your laundry room with the door open, I overheard much of your profanity-filled conversation while waiting for my husband by the door.

Check out was smooth and quick. Check out time is 10:30 am and they only allow 5 late check-out requests per day.

Overall, the stay was o.k., although I won't be returning. There is a Country Inn and Suites across the interstate that I would try before staying at this hotel again, it is just my personal preference, I am not fond of Motel 6 - like properties and that is what this hotel is.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the Interstate and Spirit Mountain for a decent view....the other rooms offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shenanigans21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duluth
10.0 km away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
11.1 km away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#23 of 33 in Duluth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#11 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.4 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center
14.6 km away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Property: Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810-2127 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing